We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for State Street and beach”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for State Street and beach”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This property is located right across the street from the beach and Stearns Wharf. It is well-maintained and the hotel staff is very friendly. I loved the bathtub! Very deep, with pretty tile work on the tub surround and the same beautiful tile in the entry. The first-floor room we stayed in was a spacious King and had a patio with lounge chairs for watching the action on the street and the ocean beach beyond. The street was a little noisy, but it didn't bother me because it was all part of the scene. The room was well insulated from the outside noise when the sliding door was shut. The wireless internet is free (it should be free everywhere but too many hotels still charge for it) and I had no trouble picking up the network on my laptop, however, my iPad could not find it. No problem, because all of the fun is outside anyway. State Street Coffee, right around the corner, has great coffee and even better muffins. We will come back to stay again.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    443
    111
    45
    40
See reviews for
297
640
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and it was not long enough!! The room was very modern and clean and it was very luxurious! The bathroom was gorgeous! The hotel has a restaurant next door which we ate at as well which was brilliant! Just across the road was a bus stop which takes you into town for just a quarter which is definitely worth while as the main shopping street is quite far inland. The hotel is also near to the tour bus stops and a cycle hire shop which we used. We used the hotel swimming pool and hot tub which was absolutely lovely- nice and warm! Towells were provided at the poolside. Overall I throughly enjoyed my stay here and would like to return in the future. (We had first heard about it when we read an article written by Lorraine Kelly who has stayed here-A british tv presenter!!)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JelliGirlSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we thought we'd return to the West Beach Inn where we'd been before, and liked, but couldn't get the room we wanted. So we came here. Got an oceanview room that is very spacious with a nice balcony. Discount on food at the nearby restaurant. It's a bit of a rip off to pay an extra $13 night for parking since we know other places on this block don't charge. But we'd come back here.

Room Tip: most rooms face the pool and courtyard but there are only a few that face the ocean. Farther from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiotraveler120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in a resort view suite and had a great stay.

Pros:
- large room
- great location
- friendly, helpful staff
- good restaurant recommendations
- huge, great breakfast next door at Eladio's
- nice pool & lawn area

Cons:
- street noise
- chintzy with the toiletries (1 bar of soap for sink, shower and tub!)
- chintzy with bath towels (3 provided)
- hot tub is kind of small - get there early!

The towels and bath stuff isn't really a big deal and easy to ask for more, but when you're paying this much for a room they should loosen up a little. Even the Holiday Inn gives you one bar of soap for the sink and one for the shower!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aw511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The location is perfect and the hotel is charming. The rooms are very nice and spacious and the staff is lovely. I was able to enjoy the spa - it's a tad small, but has all the amenities and is very peaceful. The treatment was heavenly!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiledg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Terrific location, friendly staff, nice rooms. Very reasonable for being right across the street from the wharf and very near all the action on State St. The room service breakfast was top notch and very reasonable as well.

HOWEVER--some sites, like Expedia, state that this hotel doesn't allow guests under 18. This is not true. The place was crawling with kids and since they were Californian kids, they were poorly behaved.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleKing67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night. The weather cleared up the second day so the kids were able to swim in the heated pool. The rooms were spacious and clean. I enjoyed our balcony with a full ocean view. It is close to the pier and shops.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jgarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.7 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.5 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
2.0 km away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing