We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A bit overpriced”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This hotel...it's quaint, and in a great, wealthy area. However, the fitness room is not air conditioned, and it doesn't have a jacuzzi. It smells like my grandma's house, but the grounds are beautiful. Very California. I was underwhelmed by the room. It had an enclosed patio (I want to say we were in Violet-?) and was decent, but for the price I expected more luxury. Seems like it was great in it's day but has gone down a bit, but the price doesn't reflect that.

Room Tip: Some have jacuzzis in the room. I'd say splurge for the nicer rooms, or spend $$$ elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buffling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    28
    20
    16
    6
See reviews for
63
287
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

It had been some 15 years since I last visited this well established estate ranch, but I was pleasantly surprised to find it better than before. Although the location is unique, away from the actual village of Montecito, it's more wooded and natural setting adds a charm that probably hasn't changed much since JFK came here on his honeymoon in 1953.

It's really a combination of eucalyptus scented air and secluded nature with 5-star Four Seasons like unabashed powerful luxury.

Simply the best money can buy - but it does take a bucketful of money at that. However, it remains one of the best boutique hotels in the United States, and perfectly matches the local Montecito atmosphere of understated uber-wealthy titans of Hollywood, Wall Street, or Europe quietly living their lives of style, discretion, and happiness.

It's just not a hotel, it's an experience.

Room Tip: Ask for JFK's suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregorySeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This place is Spectacular! My most favorite place I ever stayed. Can't wait to go back. You wont be disappointed. Worth every dollar, and by far the most romantic resort. Privacy cottages, five star food, and unbelievable service. I am on my third visit. Will continually go back. Experience the jewel off Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoriaangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here to attend a small wedding in Montecito. It is a very nice resort - private and charming. My only "bad" comment is that it is so private that at time the hotel staff did not know us and I felt like an intruder rather than a guest. Once they knew we were guests they were very accommodating. I really enjoyed it. I love Rosewood Resorts because they are always the finest. I did not care about cost but rather, the excellent accommodations. I would definitely stay here again. I can't believe I have stayed in several pricey bad hotels in Santa Barbara when this resort was here all along. Explore the beautifully kept grounds and come prepared to hike - the mountain trails are plentiful and the area is remote and beautiful. (Plenty of other hikers so I was not afraid of the wilderness!) The food here is the best! I do not mean "good", I mean the BEST! The drinks are also very tasty. Our room was small, but very cozy and great for romance! I am making up reasons to come back soon.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a living room or jacuzzi and outdoor shower. Well worth it! Very special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over our anniversary and all I can say is that it was absolutely perfect. Probably the best place we have ever stayed in my opinion and I would go back in a heartbeat.

We stayed in Tulip which is a Junior Suite - from the service, to the amenities to the little notes and water bottles left on our nightstands after the evening turn down, everything was perfect. The four poster bed was as beautiful as it was comfortable and the electric fireplace was perfect on a chilly evening. The tea light candles left by the tub were perfect for winding down before dinner and the outdoor shower was such a treat after a dip in our personal hot tub.

I noticed the other reviews that mention the construction going on next door and while we saw it going on, we could not hear it from our room. I did comment to my husband that if I was paying so much to stay there I would be upset by that noise...Tulip was not impacted by the noise people mention in other rooms.

We dined in the Stonehouse restaurant on site both nights as well. I would rate the restaurant 4 stars out of 5 just due to some slightly overcooked meat and slightly spotty service, but overall it was great.

I noticed the other reviews that mention the construction going on next door and while we saw it going on, we could not hear it from our room. I did comment to my husband that if I was paying so much to stay there I would be upset by that noise...

Room Tip: Tulip was away from the recent construction and was not impacted by the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cd717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

There are other reviews that have covered the scam that is going on here. The hotel does not disclose that house construction is going on next door. This has been going on for 8 months now (we spoke with the contractor). The party line at the desk is that work is off and on so they don't need to disclose it. They will not refund your money, or even offer a discount, for the night of discovery, but they will let you off the hook for the duration of the reservation should you choose to leave.

the latest news from the site: they need to drill a well!...Enjoy, work begins at 7am.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
17 Thank bostonjoy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Fantastic service, comfortable/cozy/immaculate room, wonderful food at the Stonehouse, gorgeous grounds, amazing hiking immediately off the property.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LessFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
7.5 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
7.9 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
8.1 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
7.4 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
3.4 km away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Property: San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Address: 900 San Ysidro Ln, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-1325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Montecito foothills of Southern California’s wine country, San Ysidro Ranch has provided a tranquil vacation destination for discriminating travelers for over a century. Guests are drawn to the Santa Barbara hideaway for its blend of natural beauty, romantic heritage and classic luxury. Myth and history mingle in the lush garden where Vivien Leigh and Sir Laurence Olivier exchanged vows; in the setting of John and Jackie Kennedy’s honeymoon retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property Hotel Santa Barbara
San Ysidro Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing