We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, great location and value”
Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agave Inn
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean, great location and value”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the Agave for one night as we were traveling from San Francisco to San Diego with two adults and a toddler.. It was great. The room is just spotless and feels so cozy (I find it hard to really relax in rooms that feel a little dirty). Great location near a shopping center with a grocery store and some great restaurants. Bonus is that a playground is within walking distance. I would highly recommend this.

The only down side is that the room we stayed in was a little small, but it fit two adults and a child for one night fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    182
    50
    13
    8
See reviews for
80
228
53
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed here for one night and found the property and staff very good. It is located at the top end of State Street. You will still need a car to get to the beaches and the shopping district, but it is a ten minute drive only.

Within one block is a supermarket and many restaurants, including a Coffee Bean.

The accommodation was a good size and very clean. There was a microwave and a small fridge. The TV had a good choice of channels. There was a shower but no bath. The heating kept me very warm at night so that was impressive to me as usually the heating is very poor in hotels.

My only reservation was that outside my door (room 24) was a lounge area for all guests. There were people sitting there until late at night drinking which kept me up.

I would still recommend the hotel just get a different room. One night in Santa Barbara is sufficient.

Room Tip: bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panixxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have stayed at the Agave Inn on two occasions, once during their grand opening weekend and again a year later. Both times I really enjoyed my stay. Now I rated this as a 4 not because it is a 4-star hotel but because it was very good and in line with my expectations. While it is on State and a little noisy the rooms are clean, the rooms are nicely styled (exactly like the pictures online) and the beds are comfortable. I like that it is a family run business and it is clear they take pride in their hotel. I recommend this to anyone who wants to enjoy SB without dropping a ton of cash on a resort. Oh by the way it is close enough to town that a taxi will just run you a few bucks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Saw the positive reviews and though I was still reluctant when we drove up to the Agave Inn, I'm glad we checked it out and stayed here three nights! Clean and affordable and quick two mile drive to the happenings on State St. Staff here is helpful, friendly and we will definitely be back. Stayed in room #2 and there is some noise from traffic but we had the fan on so slept well. Small but fine for us since really, all we need a room for is sleep and a clean shower and not some big fancy room to waste money on!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Bragg, California
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

When I called for reservations room 22 (upstairs, in the back) was the ONLY room available.....And it was the perfect room for us.....It was more like a small apartment, quite large with mini kitchen......Two double beds, yes, they squeaked a bit......We had lots of windows and our east window had a view of the mountains and tropical trees and plants....Looking at the tiny downstairs rooms I sure am glad we took room 22.....It also was quieter being in the back of the motel as State Street is very busy.....Great location, and friendly staff...We sure liked the area and Renaud's French Bakery & Bistro a short walk away!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoTeaTotalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My husband and two small children and I have stayed here twice in January for one-stays on the way up the coast. Both times we were given an "upgrade" to a larger room with a small kitchen. The room is large enough for two double beds and a fold-out bed. The room is brightly lit and decorated with red and white colors. The side window has a view of the wall next door, but has a large friendly blue walrus painted on it. The continental breakfast is located right outside the door and consists of fruit, pastries and coffee, but no juice. Jeannine's bakery is close by on State Street. It was a pleasant stay with plenty of room, and we are likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Side
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Our single overnight in the Agave Inn was uneventful. The Inn (a motel really) was very clean and our queen bed room was small but usable. Two heavy loaded touring bicycles just fit with little room to spare. The bed was comfy and the bathroom cute. We made use of the replacement vinyl windows with screens to provide ventilation as the bathroom lacked an exhaust fan. Breakfast was pleasant, making use as it did of locally produced pastries and fruit. The tang was an unexpected and unpleasant addition (real OJ would have better fit the bill). All in all a calm and serene stay. We recommend! :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 km away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
217 reviews
1.4 km away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Lemon Tree Inn
Lemon Tree Inn
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
667 reviews
4.7 km away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
338 reviews
2.6 km away
Presidio Motel
Presidio Motel
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Property: Agave Inn
Address: 3222 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3329
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi, free parking, coffee maker in all room and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing