We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
1
8
10
9
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
8
10
9
33
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 61 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

However much you might think this place is a bargain and even if just for one night DO NOT STAY HERE!!! It's the most disgusting filthy smelly and actually dangerous place we've ever had the misfortune to stay. Just gross. Yes it's walking distance to the boardwalk but even then you risk being attacked on that walk. We're amazed our car was still there when we got the hell out of there as soon as the sun came up the next day. Unfortunately for the car next to us someone had stolen their DOORS!!! Anyone who has written s good review for this place clearly has very very very low standards. Good luck if you choose to stay here only given it one star because giving no stars is not a tripadvisor option...one star is too much.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Hi Ruth, We are very sorry to hear that our hotel did not appeal to you, and that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable, great value accommodation in this area, and we are sorry that our offering was not suitable for your needs. The issue that you describe with the car doors is extremely unusual; please rest assured that our area is very safe. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your business. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2017

I read a lot of negative comments here and at first, I was pretty skeptical but we've seen some worse motels out there and sometimes one's need is not the same as the others so we took the chance and booked one night stay. Here are the Pros and Cons.

Pros:
1) Very close to the Boardwalk (10-12min walk)
2) FIRM Mattress (if you're just looking for a place to crash)
3) Friendly young fella at the front desk
4) Secure Parking (they have CCTV recording 24hrs)

Cons:
1) Dirty Carpet (if you drop anything dark color, i.e., ear rings, hair band, pennies... you may need a flashlight to find it)
2) Traffic Noise (our room was right next to a busy traffic street so even at 1am I was fighting to fall sleep. I'm not a sensitive sleeper, and usually fall asleep within 10mins, especially after driving over 7 hrs)
3) Terrible sound proof (you can hear people talking next room, so be very careful if you're a honeymooner)
4) The room rate is for two people (they will charge extra for 3rd person & up)

Before I give you my final verdict, let me tell you something about our family; my kids (two sons) and I are "used to" the wild environment setting, such as camping grounds, cottages, and Log cabins... so with that in mind, here's my verdict;

If you're not comfortable sleeping in any of those places aforementioned, this motel is NOT for you. If you have a teenage girl(s), this motel is definitely NOT for you. If you are an elderly person and can't climb the stairs, this motel is NOT for you. If you or your wife is a germaphobic, this motel is NOT for you. If you are looking for a 2, 3, 4, or 5 star Hotel, this motel is NOT for you.
BUT, if you're just looking for a place to crash for a night or two, this motel is a PERFECT for you.
We stayed during the peak season (Tuesday in July), so our room rate was pretty high, I think we paid $160 something after taxes... other motels nearby were a little bit more ($25- $40).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Hi Paul, Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your stay with us so thoroughly. We are happy that you recognize that our motel is suitable short stays, and that it was suitable for your needs. We appreciate you being so candid in your review, nad we hope that you will stay with us again if you have similar accommodation needs in this area, we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

We will never stay again. If I could give a place a negative rating I would. It was so dirty, we weren't even sure if anyone was going to come and clean our room while we were there. It stunk like pot in the hallway and the room wreaked of cigarette smoke, even though this is a non smoking hotel. Despite what the amenities show there is no swimming pool and no breakfast included. There isn't even an ice machine. We were trying to leave this morning and housekeeping had the one antiquated elevator tied up and we had to carry all of our luggage down the three flights of stairs. This place grossed us out and we will never stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Misslisa813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear guest, we are very disappointed to read your comments. there should not be any smoking at all in that room, we apologize that was not the case. Furthermore, our staff should have been more proactive resolving this issue. Please know that we are bringing your experience to our team and we will take actions to ensure this does not happen again. Once again, please accept our apologies. Sincerely, Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2017

Absolutely the worst hotel / motel I've stayed at in California. Where to start, room was dirty and STICKY, Floor was gross, Balcony was filled with cob webs that obviously hadn't been cleaned in some time. Hotel made us pay for wentire stay at checkin, I'm not supprised or they would lose a ton of money. Even paying in full at checkin we left a full day early,(with NO refund) because this place is a disaster

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank csilerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the special occasion of your wife's birthday, we are very sorry to hear that you had such a poor experience. Your room does not sound as though it was made up to the normal standard that we provide for our guests, and we apologize profusely for the deficiency in our standard. We apologize for the fact that you felt that you had to leave prior to the end of your stay, we are sorry that we were unable to resolve your issues for you. Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017 via mobile

Stay away. Overpriced by 50%. Room stinks like bad cleaning products. People walking the halls look like hookers and drug attics. Super bummer to book on Booking.com and know what it's like to try and unwind on the booking- sad

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Hi Gregg, We are very sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your recent stay with us. We are surprised to hear that you felt our rooms were overpriced, we feel that we provide great value. We are disappointed that our hotel was not better suited to your needs and we thank you for your feedback. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews