We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by the pictures”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Continental Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Continental Inn
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Danville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the pictures”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The pictures on this site are very deceiving the room I stayed in looked nothing like the picture. The room had gross sticky carpet and bedspreads that have been there since 1982. When I asked Haily, the charmer at the front desk to be moved because of the noise, she so pleasantly exclaimed "that is what you get when you book a room on Ocean St." Check out the next day. This was the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel.

DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CColy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    70
    32
    15
    22
See reviews for
51
55
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

My wife and I stayed here while we were waiting for our house to be finished. The place is horrible they rent the rooms to any drug dealer, meth freak, alcoholic, party animal in Santa Cruz. When we would call the manager about the all night parties or the fights from the prostitution ring down the hall nothing would happen I could not figure out why the management would not do anything about this , then I got it they are taking a cut on all the action that's happening here and boy there's a lot. So unless you want to take a walk on the wild side stay away from this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khunchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

My son has booked the hotel on line, as it was referred as a nice hotel by one of his friends. When we got there after a busy day of visiting and driving, we were quite impressed not only by the cozy location of the hotel, but also by the cleanliness of its surroundings.
The room was spacious, inviting and sparkling. We felt at home at once. The sheets were snow white and refreshing, the bathroom coquette, and the sleep quality priceless.

The next day offered additional pleasant surprises: the breakfast nook was very warm from all points of view, and the quality of the food by far exceeding the regular free breakfst one gets as a continental breakfast nowadays. The friendly personnel added to the warmth of the experience with their generous smiles and descriptions of the surrounding area. The sweet-spirited receptionist and the nice innkeeper went the extramile to make our stay as pleasant as possible. I can't wait to revisit them in summer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enough_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Ne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

My wife and another friend stayed in two rooms recently. Very clean. Very nice staff and good breakfast food. The rooms are very small but were remodeled recently so everything seemed new. The rooms had a microwave, small refigerator, ironing board and hair dryer. The price was very good for Santa Cruz. The neighborhood is pretty nice and within about a 15 minute walk to the boardwalk. About a10 minute walk to the downtown strip. Nothing too fancy but we'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Looking for a good night's sleep, safe location, centrally located...at a good rate. We got exactly that. No frills. Friendly and courteous staff. Tiny room; but staff was glad to give us a roll-away bed we squeezed in so we all had our own bed! Travelers were me and two teens. Not too noisey (ear plugs worked fine for light sleepers) - Extra Mile store next door for junk food. Walk to central town, museum, entertainment, restaurants. Walk 'bout mile to Boardwalk - $7.50 to take cab back. Car stayed parked all weekend right outside room. Didn't care 'bout pool or spa. Kids were plenty happy with wifi Facebook connection! Free AM paper & muffins & coffee were enough for breakfast. Guess we were easy to please, but we didn't expect more than breakfast munchies, clean sheets, soft pillows, a hot shower and central location for the price......pay more-get more....this place was just fine!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milimimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

I stayed at the Continental Inn for one night on the way to San Luis Obispo and had a very good stay. The room was fairly spacious, it was very clean with a powerful shower, fridge and coffeemaker. The continental breakfast was very nice with unexpected choice, they had a wafflemaker and a fridge full of yoghurts, fruit, danishes, etc.. As a solo female traveller, I didn't want to stay in a groundfloor room and they gave me one on the first floor to the front of the property without any problems, athough that meant that the room was facing the main road - which wasn't really a problem for me. It is a fairly long walk to the Boardwalk, but can be done. I thought the place was very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inselhuepfer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davis ca 956156
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

This Hotel list as Luxury Hotel and affordable prices. Well the old saying to good to be true. If you get a deal from a web site offering under 50.00 per night the Mgr will put you in an old unit. Her Customer service skills are horible and the hotel is not clean we had hair in our bed and after requesting a new blanket she then brought us a bed spread insted of a clean blanet this had pubic hair and blood on it and a cigarett burn , She refused to take a clean one off a bed to make her guest happy, the floor had hair all over it they do not clean well we had to clean our feet with a wet cloth before we got into bed. The mgr is rude andhas no customer service skills, So if you want service and a clean place to stay , stay clear of the place. You truely get what you pay for , she was mad her staff gave us a room the rented for 79.00 per night , this was the room that we found not clean and came with her bad attitude because her staff did not put us in the old hotel, He was only doing a good job! by offering us a nicer room, Kris has good customer service skills. The Mgr should be fired by the owners.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharidavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.2 km away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.2 km away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#48 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 km away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn

Property: Continental Inn
Address: 414 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4636
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Continental Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continental Inn is an affordably elegant hotel in the heart of Santa Cruz, just minutes from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and Municipal Wharf and just a short walk to the downtown area. Business and leisure travelers alike appreciate the amenities of our hotel. For comfort, convenience and quality service, the Continental Inn is your choice when visiting Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Santa Cruz
Continental Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing