We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
324
227
90
40
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
227
90
40
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area free shuttle fire pit hot tub barn door shuttle service holiday inn cool hotel walking distance to downtown homeless people common areas nice pool ocean street rooms are small up to date king bed mini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 695 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2018

I really love it when all of the little details are taken care of! This is that kind of hotel. From the purified water stations to the warm cookies to the wine in the evenings, the details were certainly covered. But the bigger and more important things were covered too. The pool area was lots of fun, clean, stocked with towels and had great cabanas and shaded areas. The fire pit was on in the morning for drinking coffee or mimosas. And the eggs benedict were to die for! The free shuttle took us everywhere we needed to go. And they had electric bikes and skateboards for rent which were so fun! I can't say enough about the staff - every single one of them was happy and helpful and courteous. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KathleenB688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2018

We stayed here for just one night, as you pull up to the hotel it actually looks a little weird and not too inviting, in fact a bit grungy. As you walk inside your opinion will change, the foyer is amazing and the front desk and decor are fantastic. The way to the rooms is a little odd as you have to actually go outside (albeit under cover) to get to the room block, the day we were there was a little cool so it was a bit chilly. The room itself was also really nicely appointed. If you have a car be prepared to pay a feel for parking, its not much however I was surprised as it isn't even an undercover park area.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travellerm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018

I'm impressed, really. You've read the reviews, you know this place is a (heavily) refreshed budget place. You, like I, am probably wondering whether it will be worth the premium over the many other budget places that dot Ocean Avenue in Santa Cruz.

Well - it is. The staff, from the front desk to the housekeepers, to the pool folks were fantastic. Not good. Not great. Fantastic.

It starts with a message from the hotel that my room is ready, at 12:30 in the afternoon. What a happy surprise. How many times have you been told tersely "check in is at 4:00" (yeah, that was 40 minutes ago). Not here they prioritize on turning rooms over and getting everyone in as early as possible. There's a negative to this, guests staying over have rooms serviced deep in the afternoon, but I'll trade that for an early in every time.

Rooms are what they are. They didn't move any walls, so the rooms are quite small. Very nicely furnished with nicely updated baths (again, very small). I wouldn't want to be stuck here room bound in bad weather, but for a summer break when you're going to be out all day - no problem.

Now, a bit more about that staff. Mark, who was looking after food and bev while we were there was fantastic. He was quick to pitch in personally when staff was tight. He was there from early morning to late evening. A very personable guy in a job that benefits from it. He was great in so many small ways. The superstar of our stay though was the day bartender Rainbow. Where to start this guy was here there and everywhere he took time (that he really didn't have) to make friends with everyone. Was fantastic to everyone from adults having lunch to little kids in the pool. Rainbow is a treasure - he fits the vibe of the place and was the best part of our stay.

Santa Cruz downtown is a short walk across a pedestrian bridge away. Lots of small cafe's and the like. All 10 minutes or less away. The only bad thing is that Santa Cruz has quite a homeless population and they sleep all along the sidewalks and paths leading from the hotel to town. Nothing the hotel can do about this of course, but it did leave a quite negative impression. In general we felt safe, though at one point there were more than 50 residents to be maneuvered, some quite aggressive.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are away from the pool. May be quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jondf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Hello there jondf,
Wow!!! Thank you so much for choosing the Paradox and for taking a moment to share your story with the TripAdvisor community. We absolutely loved having you and were elated to hear that you had such a great time with Mark and Rainbow especially! :) Your kind words and detailed review around the service is appreciated and the team members will have my personal thanks for being the superstars they are!
Again, thank you for staying and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Christopher Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was clean and comfortable. I think if you are here on business or visiting family it’s a good choice. If your vacationing there are some hotels that are located close to beaches that charge the same rates. Otherwise this is a nice hotel.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Ellie9193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Hello there Ellie9193,

Thank you for staying with us and I am glad you found the hotel clean and comfortable.
Again, thank you for staying and we cannot wait to welcome you back to the Paradox.

Warm regards,

Christopher Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2018

We arrived at Paradox and were immediately blown away by the gigantic old growth tree, carved into the reception desk in the lobby. Room was cozy and clean. Pool is nice and there are water fillers around for your water bottles. All in all, a great option if you are staying in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank misopiso88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Hello there misopiso88,
I'm thrilled to hear you loved our tree in the lobby and thought us cozy and clean.
Thank you for staying and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Paradox for another stay.
Kind regards,
Christopher Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews