We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK motel.... great location”
Review of Carousel Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carousel Beach Inn
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburg, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK motel.... great location”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

I've stayed at this motel 4 times. The rooms are OK but the location is great. I've taken my grandson and it's so nice to walk across the street from the Boardwalk so he (and grandma) could take a nap and rest. Even though Santa Cruz can be a bit seedy I've always felt safe here. The room are clean and I've always had a room with a balcony. I like the fact it is so close to the Boardwalk since I don't feel safe walking at night in this city. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jopav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    122
    54
    15
    4
See reviews for
156
84
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We stayed for just one night and really thought this little motel was a great choice.

It was extremely well located for the boardwalk and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (evening brining extra pillows up to the room when we called).

The breakfast was nice a simple (muffins, bagels, fruit) but was all really fresh.

There is no aircon, but we didn't need it anyway as it was wasn't hot - that could maybe be an issue in the middle of Summer though.

The room was spacious and whilst not maybe the most luxurious, it was adequate and we all slept wonderfully! For $89 a night (which included parking and breakfast) we thought this was great value for money given its perfect location.

Maybe the outside doesn't look that appealing, but this motel really does serve a fantastic purpose when luxury isn't your number 1 priority.

We'd recommend this motel to anyone, and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeverleyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Excellent value for the price. Right by boardwalk. There is a little market next door that is ghetto but has what you need, even alcohol. We walked a lot during day and in evening and felt very safe except for the homeless crowd that frequents the boardwalk. The pier was a great place to eat dinner. We went to Stagnaro's, old family run business. Had fish and chips, yum. My daughter and I shared a plate. They give you plenty of food. The hotel staff friendly at the Carousel was frienly. We arrived at 2pm, best time to check in. We asked for a top floor, room 604, I think. Balconies each room. Quiet at night, slept great, comfortable beds. Very clean. Decor charming. Refrigerator and microwave in room. Breakfast was bagels, hot coffee, cantaloupe and toast. Delicious. Great value for the area and being by the boardwalk. Also, free high speed internet!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BenThereTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic getaway from our four kids on Valentines day 2009 ... It was Great !! I love this motel .. not only are you just across the street LITERALLY .. from the boardwalk .. there is a bar, bowling alley, resturants, laundromat and convience store within walking distance. The staff was great upon check in and our whole stay .. The room was really clean (and I am very picky) the shower had great water pressure ... !! The front desk clerk Antonette was super great ... told us some great local spots to eat, gave directions and tips even phone numbers for delivery pizza places. I also was able to get the package deal which is a super deal ! It came with 2 summer passes .. (normally $69 each) 2 day passes for friends to the boardwalk (normally $40 each) 2 games of bowling ( normally $14) and miniature golf ( normally $14) Then we got a bonus at the boardwalk with the 2 season passes .. they gave us 2 more all day guest passes for the boardwalk ( normally $40 each ) .plus 2 coupon books for lots of buy 1 get 1 free food on boardwalk (normally would of been $328 worth of stuff .. WOW .. and 2 NIGHTS Fri & Sat .. all for $292 total out the door .( this is the winter price but only goes up $100 in summer).. SO you do the math ... great room ... great deal .. great time .. The breakfast was coffee .. tea ... hot cocoa ... and home baked muffins some fresh cut fruit .. Was not impressed but who cares .... I saved so much by staying here that I ATE out for breakfast but the coffee was good and strong !! :) as for the people hangin around .. all I seen was lots of boardwalk employees coming and going becase the motel is across street from parking lot for employees ..but you see security 24/7 across street felt safe whole time .. was quiet .. . there are pictures of the view from our room (rm 309) on my myspace feel free to check it out :) I will NEVER stay anywhere else in Santa Cruz ... it was to good !! NOT one complaint sorry ....

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheOnlyAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

I would only recommend staying here if you needed a place to sleep. The rates they want whether is summer or not is not worth it. We stayed off season when the boardwalk was closed during the week. NO ONE at the first desk told us that. The area at night had alot to be desired. We were told by locals and police that it wasn't the best place in town to stay. Kinda ghetto! Overall it was a clean room. Stayed in a corner room overlooking the boardwalk. Ok. I didn't like the fact that we overlooked the backside of businesses. Being close to parking lot was not an issue. Their remodling was very minimal I really didn't notice it.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bgmpsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2008

We stayed here in July of this year, the motel is in need of some alterations and refurb.A couple were hanging outside the main gate wanting us to let them in to use the soda machine, the shop is only 2 minutes away. unsafe characters!!noise is a bit of an issue.breakfast was very good. apart from that, an ok place to stay for the evening.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — old style bedroom
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank supernoodle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Location is the key here. Right across the street from the main Boardwalk entrance. You can park in their lot during the day and get your room after the 3 p.m. check-in time (just go in and let them know and they'll give you the parking slip).

As mentioned in other reviews, there is no air conditioning in the rooms so if you are there on a moderately warm day, your rooms could be pretty warm. BUT since you are along the coast, the evenings cool off quite a bit so opening up the windows or sliding glass door will cool off the room quickly. They also provided a room fan for us too so we used that to circulate the air at night as well.

It's an average place to stay. Bathroom is mostly clean though the door in our bathroom was a bit off-kilter so you had to lift the handle side up a little bit to actually close the door (and it didn't match up with the catch in the jam so you couldn't actually lock the door) but that was a minor issue.

I'd say if you are just looking for a place to sleep, this isn't bad. If you are used to more amenities and a higher style of lodging then this probably isn't the place for you.

The front desk was nice and helpful. We had inquired about a good family place to eat and the woman at the counter said she would find something for us and call us while we brought our luggage up to our room. As soon as we got there, the phone rang and she provided a couple of dining tips for us.

Overall, if you are looking for convenience in location to the Boardwalk (particularly if you have kids), it's a fine place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nels W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,472 reviews
0.8 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
433 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.9 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
471 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Beach Inn

Property: Carousel Beach Inn
Address: 110 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5520 (Formerly Carousel Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carousel Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-friendly Carousel Beach Inn is just steps away from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and the Main Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carousel Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Motel Santa Cruz
Carousel Hotel Santa Cruz
Carousel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing