We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service Exudes at Chaminade” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaminade Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Clayton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customer Service Exudes at Chaminade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I read some sketchy reviews that had my husband and I worried about staying here for our 17th anniversary getaway. Although just a few streets away from civilization, the property is surrounded by several acres of natural grounds. (There was a wedding each day we were there). The furniture and decor is nicely done and the hotel room very clean. The part that sent our visit over the top was the attention to customer service. Every staff member was friendly and serving customers in a way that you can tell there is an emphasis on taking care of the customer. My husband and I like to stay in nice places but also reasonable places. I can't remember a time where service was paid attention to like they do at Chaminade. (when we got back to our room from dinner there was a bottle of wine, glasses and a hand written beautiful sentiment from the staff). Feel confident in booking a stay here. The only thing that would have taken it over the top would've been having the property closer to the ocean (where we typically like to be) but my husband loved the retreat like feeling the property offered and we spent the day enjoying the ocean so it was fine. Well done Chaminade Resort & Spa! I should note that the first night we heard no one from our room. The second day in the afternoon a family with young children moved in next door and were quite loud and the walls revealed how thin they were. We never heard them that night or early the next morning as we thought we would so it ended up ok. However, beware.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 1000 building on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool/volley ball court. It was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Congratulations on the 17 year anniversary. It was our pleasure to host such a special occasion. Thank you very much for the comments about the service and staff. We love to hear our guest feedback. We hope to have you back with us for many years to come. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    157
    114
    84
    51
See reviews for
196
232
23
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Great location. Views are fabulous. We jogged down to the lighthouse and back for our morning workout. Conference rooms were well equipped. Staff was very pleasant. The food was very good and lots of variety and vegetarian choices.

Room Tip: Beds are very comfortable. I was on the second floor so could open the window, which was really nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for the review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed yours 5 day with us. We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I recently stayed/worked at the Chaminade for a whole week. If you're looking for a quiet place to rest and truly get some peace of mind, this place is it. I plan to return for a personal retreat. The food, service and staff is great. Please take advantage of the Spa I got a massage and felt so relaxed and refreshed. The staff there surely know how to get their care and service to you and are always helpful with a smile. Great location, trails and a great place to sit, eat, read, rest and reflect. Great Job Chaminade!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for the review. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We would love to have you back for a personal retreat. Thank you for the kind remarks about the staff and service.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This was my second time at Chaminade for a work event that lasted several days. Both times I found the staff to be amazing - very service oriented, pleasant and can-do, but not annoyingly hovering. The food was wonderful, with a great variety of healthy, tasty items as well as sinfully delicious if you so chose. My room was well appointed and comfortable, but a bit dark in the morning. I really had a great, restful experience. I had a body scrub and a facial at the spa from Mie and both were divine! Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We love to hear back from our guests. We are looking at adding stronger lighting in the room. Thank you again for the review and look forward to having you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Recently attended a work meeting at the Chaminade. Although I have stayed in Santa Cruz before the Chaminade was a new experience and nice surprise. The hilltop location, grounds, and view are beautiful. Meeting rooms and outdoor areas are fantastic with views to the ocean. There is a perfect outside veranda for a wedding. Rooms are a little dark and not as spectacular as the main building but alright. Pool is small but heated, at times a bit crowded from community members who must have a membership arrangement. Staff was great, helpful and pleasant. Nice restaurant available if you don't feel like trekking back to town. All in all we had a great stay and I would recommend for conferences, and families looking for a place to stay in the area but away from Boardwalk scene.

Room Tip: Pool area rooms are brighter, ask for different pillows if thick foam is not your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for the review. I appreciate the comments about your recent stay. I hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Great place to stay while visiting my son at UCSC. We requested a fridge, then saved on costs by grocery shopping and eating in. Room service was clean, fair in taste and relatively quick. Know that gratuity is already included! Also, there is a $20 spa fee for each day--this covers pool and gym use--make the most of it. Great facilities. Chaminade was close to all things we wanted to do...movie theater, shopping downtown and they give great activity suggestions on their site. We went stand up paddleboarding through one of their suggested links. Staff was all very professional and accomodating--including free of charge late-er check out @2pm vs noon.

Room Tip: Ask for a forest view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for the review and kind remarks. We are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We booked a one-night stay at Chaminade as a quick getaway to the coast. After viewing the website and reading the reviews, I was so looking forward to a four star resort. Wrong! It was a two star motel trying to be a four star resort. We arrived and were nicely greeted by the valet and then proceed to the front desk and waited to check in. One desk clerk was helping a guest and another came out we thought to help us, but proceeded to make to answer the phone and ignore us. When she finally finished her conversation about the restaurant and directions to the resort, she was rather indifferent.

We proceed to our room in the 1000 building, the doors handle was sticky (yuck!), hallway carpets looked worn, fans along the hallway and a trash can; all of this before we got to our room. Enter the room and it was dark and smelled of a combination of mold and strong cleaning order. We had requested a king bed room and found a queen bed. Called the front desk and they told us that the resort was sold out and it was this room or a two double bed room in the same building.

We had not unpacked, so proceeded back to the reception area and handed our room keys to the valet and left. The rooms and service that we received were two star motel quality at best! Stay elsewhere if you are heading to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaFiguraTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for the review and I am disappointed to hear your comments. We do truly strive to exceed our guest expectations and it appears we were unsuccessful during your stay. I will make sure to share your comments with our team to help continually improve our property and level of service. I would love the opportunity to speak further.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
4.0 km away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
5.4 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
5.5 km away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
5.1 km away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaminade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaminade Resort & Spa

Property: Chaminade Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065-1557
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaminade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Chaminade Resort & Spa is a spectacular mountaintop retreat in Santa Cruz. Our historic Mission-style resort overlooks sweeping views of Monterey Bay and the Santa Cruz Mountains. Chaminade is a luxurious destination for executive meetings, celebrations and getaways. Enjoy color palettes inspired by the California coast, contemporary Spanish furnishings, and world-class amenities. Chaminade is just five minutes from golf courses, the beach and downtown Santa Cruz. Escape to a haven of unsurpassed service. Chaminade is the first hospitality business in Santa Cruz County to receive a "Green Business Certification" for its environmental efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chaminade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaminade Resort And Spa
Chaminade Santa Cruz
Chaminade Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing