We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
11
17
22
27
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
17
22
27
93
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 170 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2018

We booked rooms there for a vacation so I hope its safe to stay there for me and my family despite the bad reviews I am reading. I am almost thinking about going someplace else but the location looks good and pictures make the rooms look clean. We are only going to be there for a couple nights so I hope to be impressed so we may be able to return in the future.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank rwhardenjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Please rest assured that our hotel is highly suitable for the vast majority of our guests' needs. The majority of our guests report that we provide clean, comfortable accommodation, with friendly service, at a great price in this expensive area, and this is exactly what we aim to provide. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

It's an ok inn to stay at if you you want to be near the boardwalk.
The price is a bit expensive but rooms can fit up to 4 people.
Location is really good since it's close to all the entertainment.
Rooms are clean

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Charleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Public Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2018

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel; we are much appreciative. Providing a clean room is a priority for us, and we are pleased that the standard of cleanliness that we maintain was so evident to you. We are sorry that the wonderful value that we offer did not appeal to you, this is not the general feedback that we get. We hope that overall, your stay was worthy of allowing us to host you when you are next in town. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2018

I picked this place because we could afford it for four nights with the credit card points that I had earned. I should have paid cash and stayed elsewhere. The room was bare bones. It had a full kitchen, but no plates, eating utensils, pots, pans, cups, etc... so what is the use of a kitchen?? No coffee maker! The property sells out every Friday and Saturday night, so if you arrive back late you may have to park on the street. Very noisy with extremely thin walls. You can hear everything. Sunday and Monday, it was a ghost town. We left for the day on Saturday, arrived back at about 5 pm. Housekeeping had not touched the room. We laid down to take naps and housekeeping showed up about an hour later explaining that they had to get room ready for all the guests checking in first. There was a hole punched in the back of the bathroom door. Someone had started to repair it with spackle and quit about 1/10th way through the job, not cleaning up the mess on the back of the door. No non-slip surfaces in the bath tub. Take your life in your hands to have a shower. No grab bars on the shower/tub walls. The walls in the unit had been recently painted and the floors and bed were in good condition. I don't know how this property compares to others in the neighborhood. I will let you know next time I visit Santa Cruz

Room tip: To get a good room stay elsewhere.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pk1363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Your stay does not sound like the type of stay that we generally provide for our guests, and we apologize for all of the little issues that you had during your time here. We will review your comments in detail as a team, and we see what changes that we can make in terms of both improving our property and training our staff, to improve our future guests' experiences. Thank you again for your detailed comments, we really appreciate them. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Last night I went to surf city inn and suites and we checked in and the room was dirty and the toilet didn't flush. They moved us to another room then at 1;00 in the morning their was a shooting that occurred and we had to call 911 After about an hour. We were allowed to leave with a police escort. No refund given, I have never seen such a mismanaged motel in my life.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank foodtaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel coincided with a most unfortunate and unusual incident. We can understand that you were most disconcerted by this, but please rest assured that this is not at all a regular occurrence at our property, and it is a real shame that it occurred whilst you were here. Thank you for your valued business; we appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel, and taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

The first room we were put in was completely disheveled and had a ladder, paint cans, and the bed was up against the wall. Customer service and "breakfast" were awful. Do not stay here it is terrible.

Room tip: just don't stay here
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank spunkymonkey1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide. I am very sorry that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site but thank you for sharing this with us and highlighting areas where improvement may be found. We hope that you found your second room to be more comfortable, and that your stay improved slightly at that point. Again, thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that we did not provide you with a better stay here. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews