We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ლ(´ڡ`)ლ”
Review of Dolphin Restaurant

Dolphin Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 406 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Description: At Dolphin Restaurant, we have something for everyone. Join us in our dining room for our favorites including everything from an eclectic breakfast menu to our traditional fish & chips. Or if you prefer, dine outdoors on the only outdoor patio on the Wharf. Our walk-up to-go window always has both visitors and locals lining up for our great seafood, clam chowder bread bowls, and a selection of American classics, like burgers and fries. We are also proud to announce that we now have an in-house smoker, serving some of the best quality BBQ. Our mouth-watering pulled pork, baby back ribs, brisket, and other smoked delicacies. Dolphin Restaurant has delicious options for everyone including the kiddos, so come visit the beautiful Wharf and enjoy a bite to eat at the Dolphin!
Reviewed November 6, 2016

I make sure to get in here every time I visit Santa Cruz to partake in the some excellent items, from the crab omelettes slathered in dill sauce, or to the fish and chips for lunch. I don't know all the names (Michelle served me today) but all of the gang is excellent! Great views of Steamer's Lane (surf) and the lighthouse too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry A, Management Team Member at Dolphin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Thomas,

We totally appreciate this awesome 5 star review. Michelle and the "gang" say hi and hurry back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 178 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2016

Stopped by this restaurant during our walk at the wharf. The food was just okay. The staff was nice and polite. And the views are of course quite good as this restaurant is at the end of the wharf. I'd probably find another place to dine in the future.

Thank TiiLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry A, Management Team Member at Dolphin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Would really be interested to know what you ordered, and we really hope you'll give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016

The food was really good and so was the service. My wife had the fried seafood platter and I had the BBQ Brisket on a bun with fries. They have imported and domestic beer. We sat outside on the patio.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JimandSuki_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry A, Management Team Member at Dolphin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2016

Thank you for this very well written, direct and to the point, no frills 5 star review. Hope to see you again at the Dolphin asap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2016

I ordered from their take out window, enjoyed their fried calamari, their service and the views. The prices are reasonable. I recommend it to my friend and will come back soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nabilios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry A, Management Team Member at Dolphin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016

Sounds like our take out window came through for you with flying colors. Great to know that. Thanks for sharing and for recommending us to a friend. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016

We visited the Santa Cruz pier after not having been here in 20 years. The place has definitely changed. We were hungry and wanted lunch, so we ventured into the Dolphin Restaurant located at the very end of the pier. The place could have been cleaner, but we chose to sit down anyway. The wine list was minimal at best with poor selections. Service seemed slow ... so we opted to leave and go elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DennisAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry A, Management Team Member at Dolphin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016

Granted, we're biased. But we sincerely think that if you had stayed, you would have been very pleased. Would love to see you give us another shot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing