We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Brunch!”
Review of Little Ruby

Little Ruby
Ranked #139 of 778 Restaurants in Santa Monica
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Description: Established originally in Soho, NYC, Ruby’s prides itself on using fresh local produce balanced with Australian culinary influences
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We arrived in Santa Monica about 9am on a Saturday morning craving an Aussie "Big Breakfast"... We wandered the streets for almost an hour before we stumbled across this little gem (pardon the pun). We were not disappointed....

Although it was extremely busy we were seated almost immediately. With an order of 2 Big Breakfasts, a Mimosa, Flat White and Vegemite Toast we were set to enjoy everything about Santa Monica.

The food was delicious, the atmosphere was friendly and lively. The service was some of the best we'd had - even though by the time we were half way through breakfast the place was packed and the queue was long.

Our favourite Breakfast/Brunch throughout our whole 3 week adventure! And I loved the little succulent garden out the front.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PPoppette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 36 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2018

I was really excited to try this place after reading all the good reviews and the proximity to my house. Unfortunately, it did not live up to expectations. Ordered the avo toast and it was completely bland and tasteless. Had to ask for salt. Ricotta pancakes were also tasteless. Waitress kept forgetting items and giving food to the wrong people. Decor is nice.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank sunflower7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2018

On our last evening in Santa Monica we were thrilled to find little Ruby's. We had such a good meal here in this charming cafe-style restaurant. We ate delicious crispy chicken salad, Pumpkin Seed Pesto Pasta and an amazing Banofee pot. This is really well-cooked and thoughtfully put-together food - tasty, full of flavour, fresh and appetising. In fact it was really hard to make a choice out of such a mouth-watering, original menu.

And as good as the food is the completely delightful service. Chris was our waiter and Jeremy, the manager and both took such good care of us, were solicitous and interested without being intrusive - it's a skill and one they manage beautifully.

There's a patio with heat lamps, but we opted for a table inside for this fabulous meal - and our only disappointment with the whole experience was that we discovered Ruby's too late to return.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jojoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Ruby also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Little Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing