We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great place to stay in Santa Monica”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I travel to LA once a month on business, and the Shore is my new fav. The lobby is very large and well designed, the location is right across from the Santa Monica Pier, the staff are EXTREMELY helpful, and the rooms are great.

The rooms have refrigerators and showers; mine did not have a tub. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms were very clean. The patios in the garden view rooms are very nice. I didn't like the use of CFL bulbs throughout (the light is never as warm) but the hotel emphasizes eco-green-friendly, so it makes sense why they do that.

The "B" building is a bit of a walk to parking and lobby, and requires taking two sets of elevators, so that is awkward...if you can stay in the "A" building that's best. Also be aware that the parking is $30/night for hotel guests, but only $20 if you are a non-hotel guest using the lot. The manager generally will allow you to park for $20 if you point out this discrepancy, which should really be fixed.

The restaurant was under construction when I stayed there, so I ate at nearby restaurants. The coffee in the rooms is of very poor quality. The gym is nice.

Overall this is a great hotel, great location and great price. I'd recommend to the staff that they put coffee in the lobby in the mornings, as the in-room coffee is terrible. The staff are extraordinary...the level of service and helpfulness is really impressive.

Room Tip: Recommend the "A" building if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank omar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Omar m,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review during your travels from Saint Paul. We are so grateful you enjoyed your experience with us and are delighted to be your new hotel of choice during your monthly travels to Los Angeles. Our entire passionate team here at Shore Hotel takes our responsibly of providing a relaxing haven from the daily stresses traveling can bring during our guests travels very seriously and are delighted we succeeded in doing so during your stay. We look forwarded to your future returns and thank you once again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,420 - 2,426 of 2,968 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

Clean, comfy and perfectly located! I've stayed at all the best hotels in Santa Monica and the Shore is right up there with the best. I still prefer the Fairmont Miramar, but that hotel costs quite a bit more than the Shore. for the money, there's nothing better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Wally G,
Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel and for your amazing compliments. We aimed to create a true guest experience far differing from the mundane “stay” what many travelers have accepted as the norm while building our new hotel, team and service culture. We are ecstatic we succeeded in doing so during your time with us. Our entire team looks forward to your return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

..Being our 1st international trip its hard to know where to stay or what Hotel to book into I came across the Shore Hotel by pure luck..I sent an email to Bobby Cooley and WOW the service from then on was 110%.. Bobby answered all the questions and was so helpful.. The staff at the front desk we friendly and very helpful always went out of ther way to help us.. Our Flight arrived early so we were able to get our room ealier. we were surprised when we got to our room that we had a view of The Pier the kids were blown away.. The room overall was great I have no critisisum what so ever..Thank you to Everyone at The shore Hotel for making our stay feel very welcome.. we hope to return one day...I fully recommend this Hotel to everyone..Best of Luck..

Room Tip: definatley one with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Guest Service Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Tracy B, Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are more than thrilled that we were able to host you on your first ever international holiday and we are even more thrilled that it was a memorable experience. Our staff is truly amazing and Bobby Cooley is definitely a great asset to that team. You definitely summed him up… ‘WOW.’ I will let him know of your kind words. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We found this to be a well located, contemporary hotel where staff are friendly and helpful without being over the top. Rooms are lovely and clean and ours looked out over the ocean which was superb. Stayed in lots of US hotels but this one was just a bit different. Well located for shopping, restaurants and the Pier. Good sound proofing too meant room was quiet. Really loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Guest Service Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Essexgirl609, Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your time at The Shore Hotel. The contemporary design is truly unbelievable and as you noticed, incomparable. Our staff takes great pride in creating a unique experience for each guest and I am glad they were able to do so for you. I will pass along your praise and can’t wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a wonderful new hotel!
Great location, nice rooms and overall homely.
As we are frequent travellers to the USA from Australia, we know our flight always lands early morning. Checking with the hotel a few weeks before our arrival, and even up until the day of arrival i had requested an early check in as we had business meetings that day.Although not guaranteed an early check in, was told they can see what they can do to accomodate our request due to our meetings. When we arrived we were given the "im sorry we had become fully booked out last night". understanding that may have been the case, we had accepted that and started going through our suitcase for a change of clothes to freshen up. overhearing one of the staff ask why we couldn't at least use a shower, the guy was told it was not part of their policy....we went to our meeting, came back to find there was no power in the hotel....we then had to wait for the power to come back on as we could not get into our room. ......apart from that it is a great hotel and hope when we return in August that they have a breakfast on offer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quay5043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

quay5043,
Thank you for your review and for joining us from your travels from Melbourne. We appreciate your kind words regarding our new hotel and look forward to having you with us during your next trip to the states!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Did a "staycation," as I only live 20 miles away, but took advantage of off-season rates to stay by the ocean. The hotel is new and clean, and simplistic and modern in design. Everyone, from valet to check-in, was courteous and cheerful. I checked in quickly, however the hotel was not near capacity. Still, check-in staff was friendly and fast.

I had a partial ocean view room on the fourth floor, with the balcony looking southwest to the ocean. And yes, the way Ocean Avenue is designed, it is on a bluff overlooking the beach, and not "on the beach" in the traditional sense. However, it's a short distance to the ocean.

Room was spacious, usual amenities for the price, including nice towels, flat-screen TV, MP3 dock and a comfy bed. No criticisms, had a great stay and worth the price paid ($267/night). I rarely give five out of five, but Shore Hotel hit all aspects well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nutria2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichelle N, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Hello Nutria2008! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so excited that you enjoyed your "Shore Experience" during your "staycation!" We aim to provide excellent guest service while offering a comfortable stay in our brand new and modern rooms. It pleases me to know that we have succeded with this endeavour during your visit and your praises will be shared with our entire team. We hope that whenever you need another mini get-away, you will think of us! Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My youngest daughter from Northern California and my grandaughter from SCAL all met up at the hotel to celebrate my birthday. We enjoyed the room, modern features and assets. Great reception at check in from "Cash". Sound proof room worked as we were right next to the pool/jacuzzi on the first floor. Both pool & jacuzzi were nicely heated with fresh towels,comfy chairs and outdoor heaters for the cool evenings. Beds were very comfortable. Immediately adjacent to great dining and a skip away from the pier. We walked to see the Cirque du Soleil show "OVO" and hung out at the pier afterwards. Spent lots of time of the beach the next day. Hotle staff aptly recommended good dining. Minor details for the hotel to improve upon: 1. Assuring mugs available for the coffee/tea set up in the room 2. The sliding door was off its track 3. The parking overnight for guest is rather pricey considering the hotel cost. All in all we had a great stay and Iwe recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Take the ocean view...its well worth it. Rooms sound proof so being next to the pool is not a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichelle N, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

LenoreF, thank you for the review! Happy Belated Birthday! We are so delighted to hear that Shore Hotel helped to make your birthday a memorable one. We will be sure to pass along your praises to Cash, as she and our entire team of dedicated hoteliers help to create the unique atmosphere that wows our guests each and every time. Our location is one that is very accessible to all that Santa Moinca has to offer, which right now happens to be the amazing Cirque du Soleil show OVO! Your suggestions are very well noted and have already been passed along to the appropriate departments for improvement/repair. We hope to have you again very soon and thank you so much!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,683 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,619 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $411 - $782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing