We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,427)
Filter reviews
1,427 results
Traveller rating
709
464
137
63
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
464
137
63
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt continental breakfast quiet neighborhood whole foods free parking shuttle service within a mile radius wilshire blvd the breakfast area business trip comfortable rooms home away from home stay in santa monica los angeles wonderful hotel la area street promenade
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 1,427 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018

Overall great trip very nice area, friendly staff. Paying $30 for parking wasn’t necessary, but outside of that we loved the hotel, it felt as if we were at home. Not far from the beach and the complimentary bikes were a plus.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ebonyclendening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear ebonyclendening,

Thanks for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you had a great trip and that you loved the hotel! Our team does an amazing job of making guests feel at home and making them part of the Ambrose family!

Please come back and visit with us again soon!

Warm regards,

Matt Bernard, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Perfect stay at a superlative hotel!!! It is located in a residential area that is a bit far from touristic attraction, but this was not a problem as far as the hotel provides free transportation and bikes to their guests to move around easily. It has a great free snack with great beer, good wines, hams and cheese from 5 to 7 pm that makes the experience even better. We will surely stay here in our next trip to LA!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RickyRobinson1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear RickyRobinson1975,

Thanks for taking the time to share your 5-star review of The Ambrose with the world here on Trip Advisor. I am elated that you had a perfect stay with us and that you enjoyed our all electric BMW house car service, our bespoke Republic bicycles and complimentary beverage service offered every evening!

Please come back and visit with us again soon!

Warm regards,

Matt Bernard, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

This is my 4th time staying here while working in LA. While a tad pricey,my client covers cost and it is worth every penny while away from home. Quality staff, friendly, intimate feel, ideal l9cation and the breakfast and comp happy hour are just icing on the cake.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Bellabam1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Pamela H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your 5-star review of The Ambrose Hotel here on Trip Advisor and for your continued loyalty! I am so pleased that our amazing team provided you with a wonderful experience. We pride ourselves in ensuring that we endeavor to create unique personalized experiences for our guests and treat them like members of our Ambrose family.

We are all looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Matt Bernard, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Positives

* Welcoming, courteous and attentive staff - every single member of staff member was an asset to the company... from the receptionists, to the food/ drink servers, to the car driver.
* Location - approx 30min walk to 3rd Street, slightly longer to Santa Monica Pier but a straight forward walk along Wilshire blvd (safe and well lit too).
* Car service is fantastic - free travel within 3 miles... we didn’t have to wait more than 10 mins and staff very happy to help with great local knowledge.
* Parking - they have hotel parking but also happy to tell you cheaper parking options without even enquiring.
* Complimentary breakfast - selection of bread to toast, selection of spreads, fruit, danish, eggs, yoghurt, cake alongside tea, coffee, orange juice (they are happy for you to use trays to take it back to your room too).
* They serve free drinks downstairs in the evening - local craft beer, wine, spirits and soft drinks (you are welcome to have more than one and there’s a tip jar on the desk).
* Selection of indoor and outdoor seating to suit anyone’s needs.
* Free water throughout our stay (including bottled).

Negatives/ points worth noting

* Hotel was getting refurbished, which was loud at times.
* On our first night the car service stopped at 6pm due to staff absence. Whilst this was unavoidable, we had limited knowledge of the area and the car service would have been useful (though they did their best and offered advice for buses/ Uber’s, bikes, scooters etc).
* Though they cant avoid bin collection day, it was particularly loud from our room.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sherbetunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dearest sherbetunicorn,

Thank you for this fantastic 5-star review of The Ambrose here on Trip Advisor! Nothing excites me more that to read your note about how wonderful each and every member of this team is and how they continue to provide and create great experiences for our guests. I am also most certainly pleased that you enjoyed the plethora of amenities that we offer our guests such as our delicious daily breakfast, unbeatable location, our our brand new living room lobby, reception and courtyard gardens. Please accept my apologies for the challenge with the availability of our driver on your first night. I am pleased to inform you that we have remedied this.

I can't wait for you to experience our completely new food and beverage program on your next stay with us!

Warmest regards,

Matt Bernard, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Pros:very confortable room and bed (we had a king size bed)quality of breakfast over the average (fresh fruit, cakes, croissants)excellent customer servicefree driver service within 2 milesCons: a little far from the beachinternal parking too expensivelimited time for breakfastthe room furniture could be refurbished: we expected a more "modern" mood

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SerGali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear SerGali,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your wonderful review of The Ambrose here on Trip Advisor! I am so pleased that our comfortable and spacious guest rooms, our all electric BMW house car service and delicious daily breakfast served in our brand new living room and courtyard. We pride ourselves in second to none guest experiences and I am glad that our team continues to hit and exceed the mark!

I'm looking forward to your visits when you travels return you to Santa Monica!

All my very best,

Matt Bernard, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews