We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly cheaper option out of Santa monica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Decided to stay here as we were on a budget but wanted somewhere near Santa Monica. The hotel is of an acceptable standard with clean and comfortable, functionable rooms all with a room safe and a fridge and free wi-fi. The hotel itself sits on the main santa monica blvd and although a little noisy from the traffic is great because every 10mins the big blue bus (line 1 or 10) stops just outside the hotel and is only a dollar each way. The area feels pretty safe and although we had hired a car we left it at the hotel (free car parking) as it was easier to get the bus. We decided to walk to Santa Monica during the day only getting the bus at night (thought it safer) and it took us 30mins. The attached IHOP restaurant is good too although I was originally a little sceptical about the food quality it was actually pretty good, I can only compare it to the UK Little Chef chain but better with much faster and friendlier service. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TMC_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is a decent hotel, especially if you're on a low budget like we was.
They provide a free shuttle bus to most destinations, you just tip the driver which is kushty.
Rooms we're nice, came with everything you could ask for including TV's and Hairdryers, I'd recommend.
There's an IHOP restaurant next door (International House Of Pancakes) also, briliant for breakfast.
And Main St is just down the road, 5 minutes in a cab!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The hotel is 2 miles from the beach. It was oddly built. Our corner room seemed close to the elevator but we had to go all around to get to it which was inconvenient. City street noise can be heard through. We didn't use their shuttle, we used our car instead so can't comment on that service. The room was OK but the rates were reasonable. No breakfast like most Best Western but IHOP is associated with the hotel and quite reasonable. Whole Foods is about 4 blocks and where we ate when we got tired of IHOP. We will stay here again if in town.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank joyrdch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I wanted to stay in Santa Monica for a night, but didn't want to pay $300 for a beachfront hotel - so this came up tops. And it was very good - rooms are big, comfortable and clean and the location is decidedly acceptable. In reality, it's too far to walk to the seafront or 3rd street but the hotel runs a free (and extremely friendly) shuttle and a cab or bus back is cheap and easy. There isn't much around the hotel itself, but it's close enough to the action not to matter. In reality, it's a place to stay if you want to be in Santa Monica but don't want to pay the big premium for the seafront hotels. And on that basis, it's great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plusfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The place was clean and the decor had been somewhat updated. The only problem with this place was that it was 2km from 3rd st promenade (the bus only costs a dollar and is quite efficient) and the air conditioner is a bit loud. The staff were pretty good too. It's cheaper than most of the hotels around Santa Monica and it's clean

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andcil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Excellent hotel on Santa Monica Boulevard. 5 mins by bus from the beach. Big blue bus passes the hotel every 10 mins and you can get to the beach/3rd st promenade area for $1, brilliant. Didn't have to use the car at all. Hotel was great, rooms typical for Best Western, and the I HOP next door was great for breakfast, with 20% off because you stayed at the hotel. 3rd st promenade was lovely for a walk around, and we ate at the food court on 2 occasions which was excellent and very good value. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and curteous.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The Best Western Gateway is consistently clean, comfortable and reasonably priced by comparison to other hotels in the area. This is the only hotel we stay at during our 2-3 trips to Santa Monica each year. The location, 20 blocks from the beach, is convenient to everything. The staff is over the top helpful and we had the most comfortable bed we have slept in for a long time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HospitalDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
637 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,001 reviews
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Address: 1920 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $243 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and the Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. Guests arriving at the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica find an exceptionally welcoming, cheerful and affordable hotel featuring all the comforts of home. Blending coastal style accommodations with friendly service and plenty of thoughtful perks, our 123 bright, contemporary rooms offer pillow top mattress, 42-inch flat panel TV's with cable, complimentary coffee, tea and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing