We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$342
US$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$391
US$348
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$246
US$229
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge by Wyndham Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$586
US$460
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$1,058
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$449
US$429
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,322)
Filter reviews
1,322 results
Traveller rating
356
627
260
60
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
627
260
60
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingihop restaurantshuttle servicethe big blue busclean hotelshort drivebeds were very comfortablecloser to the beachcoffee makerconvenient locationstreet promenadestayed here for nightsvenice beachlos angelesfew blocksbwsurgery
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,322 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2017

I didn't anticipate the quality of the room. It must have just been renovated. If you aren't looking for a big lobby and entrance and all the amenities of a fine hotel this is perfect. Free parking, breakfast at a reasonable price on Santa Monica where all the hotel prices are outrageous. The young lady who checked me in was friendly, and extremely welcoming. The only negative is the looks of the parking garage. It could use a coat of paint.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Herb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Trojan2,

The team at the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica is delighted that we had the opportunity to exceed your expectations! Thank you for mentioning our front office associate for her warm and welcoming service. I’m happy to share that our parking garage will be getting a refresh very soon.
Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

Came in for the Red Nation Film Festival & was there for 1 night. This Best Western is in a perfect location. It is very clean, comfortable & reasonably priced. The staff was excellent! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Hello Pamela S.,

Thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica for the 14th Red Nation Film Festival. I was so glad to read that our location was ideal with a close proximity to the event venue. Thank you so much for your five bubble review; it was our pleasure to be of service to you. Please visit us again should you return for the film festival in 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

This is a no frills hotel. Rooms almost seems as if they were a warehouse. The restaurant is closed and breakfast was served in a meeting room. It was like being in a school cafeteria. Parking is difficult to find. Actually the hotel in hard to find. The best part was the front desk staff. Angie, pleasantly welcomed as we checked. .

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Hello Barry H.,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We value your comments and your satisfaction is important to us. We will pass on your kind comments to our front office associate, Angie for creating a memorable guest experience. Thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica and the opportunity to be of service to you.
Most Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2017

Was in the area for Thanksgiving. Perfect central location in Santa Monica. Very nice staff and really clean, nice and comfortable room. Breakfast was basic but a great variety and good quality. Great that parking was available (& free) underground. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017


Joni S.,
Thank you for staying with us for the Thanksgiving Holiday! We appreciate your feedback and so glad that you had a comfortable stay with us.
We will share your kind words with our entire staff and it was our pleasure to host you!
Please visit the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica when your travels bring you back to our destination.
With Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2017

This was a great hotel to stay in during my time in Santa Monica. The facilities are excellent and the staff are wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who needs to stay in the Santa Monica area.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank simonkX9694QI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Hello simonkX9694QI,

We appreciate you taking the time to tell let us know that you had a relaxing travel experience at the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica. It is wonderful to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and our services have earned us a five bubble review! Thank you for taking the time to recognize our team for their warm and hospitable service! I will pass on your kind comments to all of our team members and please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews