We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Santa Monica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 29 November 2017

If you’re looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in Santa Monica, consider the Gateway Hotel. Location was good, about a mile from the Promenade; room was clean and more than adequate and parking was included in the price, a big plus for me and my friend. The best part was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff who went out of,their way to assist in whatever way possible. An added plus, there is a nice cafe next door that has good food! I’d go there again!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hello Betty B.,

Thank you for your five bubble review and sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community of travelers. We’re delighted that our amenities and service were a great choice while visiting Santa Monica. On behalf of our entire team at the Gateway Hotel, thank you for being our guest and the opportunity to be of service to you. We hope to see you and your friend again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2017

Clean room, impeccable service, great breakfast, and centrally located. This place is a must if you are looking for a gem when there are plenty of overpriced rooms in the LA area. Give this Best Western a try and I am sure you will feel the same. It is a 10 in all categories.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Retiredteacher1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017


Hello Retiredteacher1111,

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience! Thank you so much for your five bubble review and we are so pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit! The team at the Gateway Hotel is thrilled to receive such great feedback, and we’re proud to be a gem in Santa Monica. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

I didn't anticipate the quality of the room. It must have just been renovated. If you aren't looking for a big lobby and entrance and all the amenities of a fine hotel this is perfect. Free parking, breakfast at a reasonable price on Santa Monica where all the hotel prices are outrageous. The young lady who checked me in was friendly, and extremely welcoming. The only negative is the looks of the parking garage. It could use a coat of paint.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Trojan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Trojan2,

The team at the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica is delighted that we had the opportunity to exceed your expectations! Thank you for mentioning our front office associate for her warm and welcoming service. I’m happy to share that our parking garage will be getting a refresh very soon.
Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Came in for the Red Nation Film Festival & was there for 1 night. This Best Western is in a perfect location. It is very clean, comfortable & reasonably priced. The staff was excellent! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hello Pamela S.,

Thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica for the 14th Red Nation Film Festival. I was so glad to read that our location was ideal with a close proximity to the event venue. Thank you so much for your five bubble review; it was our pleasure to be of service to you. Please visit us again should you return for the film festival in 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

This is a no frills hotel. Rooms almost seems as if they were a warehouse. The restaurant is closed and breakfast was served in a meeting room. It was like being in a school cafeteria. Parking is difficult to find. Actually the hotel in hard to find. The best part was the front desk staff. Angie, pleasantly welcomed as we checked. .

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hello Barry H.,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We value your comments and your satisfaction is important to us. We will pass on your kind comments to our front office associate, Angie for creating a memorable guest experience. Thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica and the opportunity to be of service to you.
Most Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Was in the area for Thanksgiving. Perfect central location in Santa Monica. Very nice staff and really clean, nice and comfortable room. Breakfast was basic but a great variety and good quality. Great that parking was available (& free) underground. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017


Joni S.,
Thank you for staying with us for the Thanksgiving Holiday! We appreciate your feedback and so glad that you had a comfortable stay with us.
We will share your kind words with our entire staff and it was our pleasure to host you!
Please visit the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica when your travels bring you back to our destination.
With Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

This was a great hotel to stay in during my time in Santa Monica. The facilities are excellent and the staff are wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who needs to stay in the Santa Monica area.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank simonkX9694QI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hello simonkX9694QI,

We appreciate you taking the time to tell let us know that you had a relaxing travel experience at the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica. It is wonderful to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and our services have earned us a five bubble review! Thank you for taking the time to recognize our team for their warm and hospitable service! I will pass on your kind comments to all of our team members and please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
637 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,004 reviews
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Address: 1920 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $244 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and the Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. Guests arriving at the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica find an exceptionally welcoming, cheerful and affordable hotel featuring all the comforts of home. Blending coastal style accommodations with friendly service and plenty of thoughtful perks, our 123 bright, contemporary rooms offer pillow top mattress, 42-inch flat panel TV's with cable, complimentary coffee, tea and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing