We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,356)
Filter reviews
1,357 results
Traveller rating
368
645
263
62
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
645
263
62
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking shuttle service clean hotel blue bus closer to the beach short drive comfortable beds coffee maker convenient location street promenade nice stay venice beach los angeles few blocks ihop bw surgery
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 1,357 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2017

If you’re looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in Santa Monica, consider the Gateway Hotel. Location was good, about a mile from the Promenade; room was clean and more than adequate and parking was included in the price, a big plus for me and my friend. The best part was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff who went out of,their way to assist in whatever way possible. An added plus, there is a nice cafe next door that has good food! I’d go there again!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Hello Betty B.,

Thank you for your five bubble review and sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community of travelers. We’re delighted that our amenities and service were a great choice while visiting Santa Monica. On behalf of our entire team at the Gateway Hotel, thank you for being our guest and the opportunity to be of service to you. We hope to see you and your friend again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2017

Clean room, impeccable service, great breakfast, and centrally located. This place is a must if you are looking for a gem when there are plenty of overpriced rooms in the LA area. Give this Best Western a try and I am sure you will feel the same. It is a 10 in all categories.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Retiredteacher1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017


Hello Retiredteacher1111,

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience! Thank you so much for your five bubble review and we are so pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit! The team at the Gateway Hotel is thrilled to receive such great feedback, and we’re proud to be a gem in Santa Monica. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2017

I didn't anticipate the quality of the room. It must have just been renovated. If you aren't looking for a big lobby and entrance and all the amenities of a fine hotel this is perfect. Free parking, breakfast at a reasonable price on Santa Monica where all the hotel prices are outrageous. The young lady who checked me in was friendly, and extremely welcoming. The only negative is the looks of the parking garage. It could use a coat of paint.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Herb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Trojan2,

The team at the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica is delighted that we had the opportunity to exceed your expectations! Thank you for mentioning our front office associate for her warm and welcoming service. I’m happy to share that our parking garage will be getting a refresh very soon.
Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

Came in for the Red Nation Film Festival & was there for 1 night. This Best Western is in a perfect location. It is very clean, comfortable & reasonably priced. The staff was excellent! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Hello Pamela S.,

Thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica for the 14th Red Nation Film Festival. I was so glad to read that our location was ideal with a close proximity to the event venue. Thank you so much for your five bubble review; it was our pleasure to be of service to you. Please visit us again should you return for the film festival in 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

This is a no frills hotel. Rooms almost seems as if they were a warehouse. The restaurant is closed and breakfast was served in a meeting room. It was like being in a school cafeteria. Parking is difficult to find. Actually the hotel in hard to find. The best part was the front desk staff. Angie, pleasantly welcomed as we checked. .

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Hello Barry H.,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We value your comments and your satisfaction is important to us. We will pass on your kind comments to our front office associate, Angie for creating a memorable guest experience. Thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica and the opportunity to be of service to you.
Most Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews