We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,361)
Filter reviews
1,361 results
Traveller rating
371
646
263
62
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
646
263
62
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking ihop downstairs shuttle service clean hotel blue bus closer to the beach short drive comfortable beds coffee maker convenient location street promenade nice stay los angeles few blocks bw surgery ucla
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,361 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was everything we needed. Reasonable priced, good location; a bit of a walk to the seafront but then again you are away from the noise of the bars!
Room was nothing special but had everything we needed.. air con; bath/shower; a safe, and pretty sizeable too.
The ihop downstairs offers discount prices for hotel guests too!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWHSM, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Sean B.,

Greetings from Sunny Santa Monica!

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very happy that everything was to your liking. Regarding the IHOP restaurant, it had a long great run and has closed; our new restaurant will be opening in 2019!

Thank you ever so much for visiting us from the United Kingdom, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

The location is quite good, close to the beach, next to bus station and free parking, which is rare in Santa Monica. The room is fine and the breakfast is as good as you can expect it as a complementary service. Great to stay for 1-2 nights while visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 489andreask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWHSM, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hello Andreas K.,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I was pleased to note that the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica was a great choice while visiting Santa Monica.

Please consider staying with us again for business or leisure travel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018

I am usually not attracted by pretend-antique styles, but I am drawn by minimalistic, modern and clean design.
This hotel is well designed; it has very positive and kind staff and is very well located, with own free parking below.
It makes one feel at home.
I will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChefLuigiBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWHSM, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hello Chef Luigi Bo,

Thank you for your five bubble review. I was so pleased that your time with us was enjoyable and that our location and service were the perfect choice for your travel plans.

We are looking forward to your next visit; it was truly our pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

I really loved this hotel on Santa Monica Blvd, it has a great location, as it is near the beach, 3rd street promenade and a scenic drive from central Los Angeles. The staff were so friendly and kind, the breakfast was excellent, parking facilities were super helpful and the room itself was really beautiful.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWHSM, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hello Rachel C.,

We are truly delighted that you love the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica! We appreciate your fantastic feedback and your kind words will be celebrated with our team.

Thank you again Rachel and we look forward to welcoming you back as our regular guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Rooms are bright and clean
Bathroom is clean
But the best thing to mention is BED
It was heavenly perfect!
Probably one of the best sleeps I've had for years!
I don't know how these guys do it, but they are magicians! :)
If you're tired and need a nap - I strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Николай С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWHSM, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hello Nikolay,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica. The comfort of our pillow top mattress is an aspect of the hotel that many of our guests really appreciate and I am so pleased to note that you did as well!

Thank you again, It would be our pleasure to host you in the future and hope that you will consider us your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews