We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$208
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-08
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$208
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-08
Hotels.com
US$208
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-08
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$208
TravelocityUS$208
ZenHotels.comUS$228
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveller rating
124
225
107
37
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
124
225
107
37
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen the sofa bed few minutes walk santa monica beach apartment block promenade noise california sm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 528 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2018

Could not be a better location, 2 blocks from cliffs in Santa Monica and 1 block from the 3rd St. Promenade, it's just older and a little rundown. New carpets and paints would do wonders, but the price is good for the area. $35 parking and $15 internet were bad though. Walls are super thin.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pirate828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Samuel578, Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2019

Thank you for the review. We are in a prime location for shopping at 3rd street promenade..We appreciate the feedback about our decor and are seeking out solutions. Hopefully we could make a better impression on you during your next stay. We definitely would like to turn that 3 star rating into a 5!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location close to shopping, beach and pier but is poorly maintained. Ratty old furniture, double beds not queen, minimal bedding, cracked tiles in bathroom. Spacious so if you have a large group willing to sleep on floor and want something affordable this would work. Also has small kitchen.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Samuel578, Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2019

Thank you for the review and for your feedback. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our staff always strives to make our guest's stay as pleasurable as possible. We will definitely take your comments and use them to improve. Once again, we apologize and hope to make a better impression on you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2018

We had just traveled all over the west coast and I had booked this hotel as the location and room accomodation looked great.

There was 3 of us and it was perfect having 3 bed double beds. Loved hacing our kitchen space, to store food and drinks.

Hotel staff where lovely and friendly, looked after us and held onto our bags for a short while after we checked out.

The location is amazing, just turn left and left again and your in the main square with all the shops, or left and straight and you're at the beach.

If I came to LA again, I would most likely stay here.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jordan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Samuel578, Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2019

Thank you so much for the amazing review! You have touched on everything our hotel seeks to provide.

All of our suites are fully equipped with a separate kitchenette, living room, bedroom, and bathroom. Our pool is heated and (82 degrees Fahrenheit/ 27.7 degrees Celsius) open for guests to use from 9 am to 9 pm.

We are in a prime location a brisk walk away from shopping at the 3rd street promenade and the Santa Monica Pier.

Our staff tries extremely hard to ensure our guests have a great stay. We are happy that we were able to accomplish that while you were here with us. Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

A great welcome and helpful staff with a very spacious apartment well serviced daily
The suite was well located near at many local amenities, restaurants, shops, seafront and local transport.
Loads of local information was available.

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Samuel578, Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2019

Thank you for the great review! Our staff tries extremely hard to ensure our guests have a great stay. We are happy that we were able to accomplish that during your stay with us. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Cal Mar hotel is located in a very convenient area; close to the beach/Pier and high street shops. The apartment was very clean with a comfortable bed and good TV. However, the kitchen and bathroom were very ancient and looked like they were fitted in the 60s. ..but maybe this is part of Cal Mar’s charm. Refrigerator did not work and gas stove looked unusable.
The pool area was pleasant, clean and peaceful. The staff friendly.
After much research Cal Mar was the most affordable accommodation in the whole of the Santa Monica Pier area ..and definitely worth it.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Han-solo182
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Samuel578, Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2019

Thank you the for the review. We appreciate the feedback about our decor and will keep your comments in mind to improve our guest experience. Hopefully, we could make a better impression on you during your next stay. We definitely would like to turn that 3 star rating into a 5!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews