We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Elegant”
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintners Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Elegant”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a nicely done small hotel that is right next to the freeway but seems to be remote. The rooms are lovely and spacious with cute balconies on the upper floors. Bed was very comfortable. They provide duraflame-type logs and matches for the fireplace. Turndown service is offered with cookies. The bathtub/ shower was larger than usual for a hotel, and made for a nice spacious shower without your elbow hitting the shower curtain. The bath amenities were nice quality. Flat screen TV was OK but not HD. The continental breakfast included in the price of the room was more than adequate for us, but they also offer hot breakfasts if you want to pay more. The restaurant onsite was really nice, with excellent food and service and a nice wine list. We wanted to use the jogging trail, but it had been raining and was blocked off, probably because it was a big muddy wallow. You do notice the sounds of the freeway as you walk around the grounds, but we did not notice it at night from our room.
One downside- no coffee maker in the room. They set up coffee service in the downstairs area of each building, which means you have to get dressed or risk having other guests see you in your bathrobe. The coffee was good quality though. If you want tea at night, you have to go outside and walk to the lobby- the rain killed that idea, so I went without. Other than that, no complaints. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Loved upstairs room because of vaulted ceiling and balcony. Our room (214) was quiet, but I wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlwhenican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    121
    40
    15
    7
See reviews for
56
391
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Only a few minutes off the 101 freeway, The Vintners Inn in Santa Rosa, is a compound of several two story buildings surrounded by vineyards, beautiful gardens, and a large bubbling fountain. During our stay we enjoyed an afternoon wine tasting with cheese, a split of wine in our room, complimentary continental breakfast, and certificates for wine tastings at nearby wineries. Our downstairs beautifully appointed corner room had big windows on three sides and a glass door to a private patio. Upstairs rooms have balconies. The king size bed was super comfortable and the service was excellent. The hot tub was not working and there is no swimming pool, which I think would be great in summer. On the property is a first class restaurant, John Ash & Company, which is not to be missed. We really liked the courtyard village feeling. There is always a large separate banquet facility serving up to 250 people perfect for weddings, conferences, or other gatherings. This is a 4.5 STAR facility.

Room Tip: We loved our downstairs corner room with patio as it had large windows on three sides. Upstairs woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarLady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here while our son was checking out Sonoma State University. Even though it was not exactly close to the college, being out of the way at this beautiful Inn was worth the drive. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom tub divine, and the fireplace and balcony very nice. Sunrise was spectacular both mornings. You might notice the power plant while driving in, but once you are on the grounds you do not notice it or the freeway at all. In fact, it's actually nice having access to the freeway. The jogging/running path is a nice touch as well. We found the service (front desk, breakfast, housekeeping and restaurant/bar) to be very friendly and accommodating. My husband did leave his pillow on accident, but I'm not sure he tried to contact the Inn about it. They did not contact us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. The pillow should have been mailed out yesterday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Extremely comfortable rooms, large and spacious. Beautiful grounds. My wife and I had an excellent stay.

My only complaint was that our room service plates and trays had not been removed from our room when we got back at 11:00 from our night out even though turn down service had come through.

Overall it was comfortable, quiet and well worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cs34109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I had not been to The Vintners Inn and John Ash & Co in over twenty years. Shame on us! We took advantage of a promotion that included the room, a credit towards dinner and two Winery Passes for two. There is also a continnental breakfast included.
The property is outstanding and our room was delightful.
We had a pre dinner cocktail at the bar, which was very quaint and lively.
We had an exceptional dinner. The setting, the service and the meal were all five stars.
I had the lamb shank, which melted from the bone and my wife had the diver scallops, which were remarkable. The wait staff was knowledgable and very attentive.
We will return, and it willl not take us another twenty years.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobostours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

First, the property itself is just wonderful. Courtyards with fountains, cobblestone, vines etc., just lovely. The rooms were warm and comfy, with wonderful furnishings and beautiful views. The service great also, housekeeping meticulous and all others we dealt with very friendly. Oh, and the restaraunt was top notch. So what's not to like?????

Oh, my gosh, 7 AM Saturday morning and there is this roar. At first I told my husband I thought we were having an earthquake! We then figured it out that it had to have been a jet. So much for sleeping in! At breakfast the hostess told us the aiport is just a few miles away. She added that they are expanding and bigger jets will be coming in. She then said the area is going after mass tourism (she said all of this like it was going to be a good thing!)

This was our third and probably last trip to Sonoma County. It had already started to loss it's "quaintness" but the direction they are going it will be nowhere near what it used to be. Head to the Upper Napa Valley, St. Helena and Calistoga, these are much more surreal, peaceful areas. Too bad they go too big for their britches!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank texaslisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your feed back, we appreciate your taking the time to comment. I have no idea what noise you may have heard but I don't think it would have been a jet. The airport runways are not long enough to accommodate large commercial jets. How rude though that whatever it was occurred at 7 in the morning. Since I haven't had any other comments about this I'm at a loss to give you an answer. I'm not sure who you spoke with since we don't have a breakfast hostess, perhaps someone at the front desk? Unfortunately, their facts were not quite right. Sonoma County, like all great destinations, is encouraging tourism. The expansion plans for the Sonoma County airport have been on the books for awhile with completion in 2020. So, I do hope you'll continue to come to beautiful Sonoma Wine Country and since you spoke so glowingly about Vintners Inn, you'll come back and see us again. Please feel free to call me directly if you have any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

this property is lovely. We stayed ther for 3 nights over Thanksgiving week. The rooms are very big and connecting (we have kids and NEED connecting rooms) and not many properties particularly around Sonoma and Napa can offer that.
My only complaint is that the staff serving breakfast is overwhelmed. Not a big deal but can become annoying. In this area they are very disorganized (forget your orders or mix them up...). Most of them are young people trying hard but not reaching their goals.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubuNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your comments, guest feed back is extremely important to us. The issue with breakfast service is actually something we're addressing this year with new management and training. Not reaching their goals and that of the Inn's is exactly what we're trying to change. I hope the next time you visit us you'll be pleasantly surprised at the reorganization, just give us another month or two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
7.4 km away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,021 reviews
3.4 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
573 reviews
2.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,295 reviews
8.9 km away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
675 reviews
35.2 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Property: Vintners Inn
Address: 4350 Barnes Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1514
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintners Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing