We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
197
208
52
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
208
52
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel carriage house the main hotel railroad square coffee house fresh fruit continental breakfast homeless people wine country bagels antique shops within walking distance floor room wonderful hotel russian river brewery separate building bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 496 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

First things first, this hotel is across the street from a homeless shelter so if that makes you uncomfortable then this is not the hotel for you. In our time there we had no issues and never felt pressured or threatened.

Finding the parking is also a little tricky as it is across the street behind a cafe but once we found it it was fine and plentiful.

The hotel is quaint and really rather nice with good sized bedrooms that are comfortable. Other than as noted above the hotel is in a really good location just a few minutes walk away from downtown.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Hotel La Rose on TripAdvisor. We are excited to read that our accommodations met you needs and that you enjoyed your stay. Our central location in historic Railroad Square is ideally situated near many excellent restaurants and tasting rooms, Luther Burbank, a wonderful Creekside trail, and much more. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Robert West
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2016

We love this home away from home. We are booking to stay at Hotel La Rose, yet again for the Heirloom Expo.
It feels like home.. Victorian stone front in old Railroad Square downtown and lovely authentic 'period' furnishings inside. I grew up in a home like this. Yes, steep stairs to room, which is normal for that period, and not long.. if you can't do stairs, be sure to ask for one of the ground floor rooms, maybe in the carriage house - which have ground floor private courtyards and walk-straight-in rooms with roses outside.
I like the historic look and homey feel, clean and taken care of. We were well taken care of .. the breakfast was included - but we could order additional breakfast items from the restaurant if we wished. (mgt- I understand the restaurant was closed for a while.. when do you anticipate that it will reopen?)
I suppose if you want microwaves and fridges in your room, you will disappointed. We were happy to be there and loved the look and feel.... And so close-in to everything.
Parking is free, in a lot across the corner.
Funny thing, I have always gone with a family member or friend and they specifically ask if they can come back and stay at La Rose Hotel with me. It has a charm.

Room Tip: Book ahead while rooms are still available!
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodlover1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Dear foodlover1944,

Thank you so much for your review of Hotel La Rose. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. We are working hard to have the restaurant open this fall and are very excited about the new project. I will certainly pass your comments along to our staff!

Robert West
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

We choose to stay at Hotel La Rose because of it being in historic district. We stayed in the carriage house. Loved the antique furniture and the retro look and feel. There were several homeless people in area but we felt safe. The homeless mission was around the block. Was a little odd having to park around the corner but felt safe. The carriage house was built in the 80's they've done a great job making it blend with the old hotel.....

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindalonglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Dear Lindalonglegs,

Thank you for you comments on TripAdvisor. We also believe we are ideally located in the center of historic railroad square. There is so much to see and do! We are thrilled you enjoyed the property and we hope to see you again the next time you visit Santa Rosa.

Robert West
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Stayed here during a recent visit. beautiful property with free parking and wifi. spacious rooms with above normal amenities. Centrally location close to everything in town with the train stop right across the street. Will return!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, Front Office Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Thank you so much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I will share your comments with the staff, and we all look forward to your next visit to Hotel la Rose.

Robert West
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016

its clean, but old. other building has stairs only - not good - homeless across the street, parking is across the street
its just not convenient. Gal at the front desk, did not give a hoot weather we stayed or not - so we cancelled our
room and went elsewhere . We had a bad feeling. Always go with your gut, its usually right and we did

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank doublevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Dear doublevv,

Thank you for your review. I have read your comments with attention and really regret that your impression of our hotel was disappointing. We see our centrally located downtown location in historic Railroad Square as a plus, and we are sorry you did not choose to stay. Should you return to the area, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel La Rose and to regaining your confidence.

Regards,
Robert West
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews