We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Booked a hotel room and the reservation was lost. Instead of being helpful, hotel representative did not want to look into our reservation. After a long day of work, we had to find a hotel elsewhere at 11pm. Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    255
    124
    44
    30
See reviews for
198
223
36
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I am staying at this best western for business while working in santa rosa. I have spent many of my nights out of town in various hotels of different size and stature..this one bby far is in the top 5 of all time hotels for me.If i ever come to santa rosa or the wine country of sonoma i will definately have my family stay at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We always stay here at the Best Western Garden Inn. The rooms are large and comfortable. The staff here are always nice, and there are two swimming pool, although in March the pools are closed.The grounds are attractive and there is a small restaurant on the grounds that are open for breakfast only. We always eat there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

One of the few lodgings I could find offering a king size bed for my trip weekend. Just off the 101 Freeway, yet a relatively quiet location. The property is well-established (read "been there for awhile"), but the room I stayed in was well-appointed, looked and smelled clean, with an extremely comfortable bed. Room had a small fridge, microwave oven and a reasonably-sized flatscreen HDTV. We visited in early March, so pool was closed, but was kept clean. Quaint restaurant with reasonably-priced meals located on property. Don't understand the earlier negative reviews for this place. I saw nothing of that kind. Desk staff was very friendly and helpful, both upon arrival and departure. Housekeeping staff didn't come by at 7:00 AM to disturb me, but was quietly standing by when I left the room for them to attend to. Location is as good as any for accessing the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We came to Santa Rosa for a friend's wedding and chose this hotel because of its location near the venue and the price. It worked out perfectly! Our room was very large (with one king-sized bed), a generously-sized refrigerator, a coffee maker, lots of towels, etc. Very clean and well-appointed. I'm actually surprised by the other reviews. This is, after all, a Best Western, so going there we didn't expect to be staying at the Four Seasons. Overall, it has a very chain-like feel (like every other Best Western), maybe a little dated, but with a nice small-town, homey feel with landscaped grounds and a small pool. The pictures do make it seem quite a bit more glamorous than it really is, but it was still nice. The staff was very accommodating and friendly too. Returning from the wedding late at night we felt completely safe. We had some concern because outside our door we could hear a baby crying in the room next door, but once we were inside, we didn't hear a thing. Also, if you're ever in Santa Rosa, be sure to visit Chloe's French Cafe! It doesn't look like much from the outside, but a week later, we are still talking about the pastries and hot sandwiches. Seriously, don't miss it!

Room Tip: Parking lot is in the front and cars park near first-floor rooms; would recommend the back of proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waughooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I can't review anything about the inside of the rooms because I pulled into the parking lot and right back out. I arrived at about 8:30 pm and tweakers and possible hookers littered the parking lot. I immediately did not feel safe staying there. There were also barbecue grills on some of the patios outside the rooms. This indicated to me, that people were also possibly living at this motel. Maybe some people would like the fact that it's on the main strip of downtown, and two doors down from a liquor store, but not me. I was shocked at what I saw there after reading the description on the website. I think it's false advertisement.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jelaine98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is the first bad review of a hotel I've ever written, but we had SUCH a bad experience, I am writing to warn others not to waste their time. First, this is a drive-up motel-style hotel, which isn't exactly clear from their website. When we went to check into our room, the woman at the counter was rude to the person in front of us and acted like we were a nuisance as well. I wish I could remember her name, but our trip was several months ago. As soon as we walked out of the office, I spoke to my husband and told him I wanted to find somewhere else. However, it was late in the evening, we'd been traveling all day, so we decided to check out our room instead.

In our room, one wall was a sliding glass door leading out to the pool, so if we wanted any natural light in the room, we would have no privacy (there were many people at the pool). I went to turn on the light in our room, and the shade wasn't screwed on. Plus, the lightbulb was broken. I went to use the restroom, and the toilet seat was wet. I decided to call the office about the lightbulb in our room. Here's how the conversation went.

"Front desk." (spoken very harshly, as if I was a nuisance again.)
I'm used to people answering the phone with their name, so I said, "Who am I speaking with please?"
"The front desk." (again, very rudely spoken)
"And what is your name, please?"
By the time she told me her name, I'd had enough of this horrible hotel. I politely ended the call, grabbed my bags, and told my husband we were just going to have to find somewhere else. Even though it was 7 o'clock, there was no way I was going to support this hotel in any way with my money.

When we checked out of the room, after telling her all of the problems in the room and our dissatisfaction with the service, she had the nerve to tell us we might not get our money back. I would have been all to happy to speak to her manager if they had billed us (which they did not), but what kind of person would hire someone that rude to be the representative of their hotel?

We ended up staying at the Hilton Sonoma Hotel, which was absolute heaven! Yes, it was more expensive, but after this horrible experience, we were ready to be pampered.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melaniejade31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
5.9 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.5 km away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
6.0 km away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
8.9 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garden Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
Address: 1500 Santa Rosa Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Rosa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tour the Sonoma Wine Country while staying at this beautiful, garden setting Santa Rosa hotel.The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, located in Santa Rosa, California features 79 guest rooms and a beautifully landscaped quiet garden. Hotel guests are only minutes from Sonoma Wine country and all of the area attractions which include the Sonoma County Fairgrounds, the Russian River Redwoods and downtown Santa Rosa.All spacious well-appointed guest rooms come equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Guests can start the day off with breakfast at the coffee shop located on the hotel premises. The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn also features two outdoor seasonal pools, dry cleaning services and free parking.Families will appreciate being only one mile from the Snoopy Museum. The Luther Burbank Gardens and the Jesse Peter Native American Art Museum are also close to the hotel. Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Garden Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Santa Rosa
Best Western Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Best Western
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing