We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
401
37
15
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
37
15
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine country wine tasting steam shower gourmet breakfast local wineries los olivos bed and breakfast heated floors beautiful room deluxe room wine hour made to order breakfast rooms are large beautiful property short drive sy kitchen fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 457 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2018

We have stayed in the Santa Ynez/Los Olivos area many times through the years and our favorite place to stay by far in the Santa Ynez Inn. This smaller hotel is in the heart of Santa Ynez and is within walking distance to a number of restaurants and small shops. The hotel stay includes breakfast (which is always fantastic!), early evening wine and appetizers, and cookies/coffee/tea for dessert.

Also, a wine pass is provided for tastings in the local area. We were introduced to a number of great wineries because of it (Carr, Imagine, and others!).

The staff has always been friendly and helpful. The rooms, grounds, and common areas are always very clean and well kept.

Highly recommended for a couple or family looking for very nice hotel in a small, quiet community.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank jeffanddeanna2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristopher M, General Manager at Santa Ynez Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Hi Jeff and Deanna,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us--and we agree, the Tasting Passport is a wonderful way to explore the local area! We're so happy you enjoyed the gourmet breakfast, Wine Hour, and Late Night Tea & Cookies. We count ourselves lucky for guests like you. We look forward to continue hosting you in the future!

Kindly,
Kristopher M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

Loved everything about this place. Our rooms were darling, clean, and comfortable. We enjoyed their gourmet breakfast, hors d’oeuvres, and cookies with tea each night. Highly recommended and room 107 was a great ADA room for those who need accessibility. Thanks to all the sweet staff who make this place amazing. Will be back!

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Missnor2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristopher M, General Manager at Santa Ynez Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your lovely review! We strive to offer the highest quality service here in the Santa Ynez Valley, so we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our gourmet breakfast, wine hour hors d'oeuvres, and late night tea & cookies. We hope you choose to stay with us next time you find yourself in our area so we can treat you again!

Kindly,
Kristopher M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

We absolutely loved staying at the Santa Ynez Inn. From start to finish everything was fantastic. After we unpacked we went for happy hour and had some wine and cheese which we ate outside in the lovely garden. Then we walked around town and ate at the SY Kitchen a few doors down and had a delicious meal. Then made it back in time for cookies and coffee which we ate around the fire pits outside the Inn. It was so cozy. Be sure and pick up the wine passport at the front desk. This comps wine tasting around the area. That alone saved us money as without it we would have had to spend another $100 in tastings!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank IHeartFigNewtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristopher M, General Manager at Santa Ynez Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review! We take pride in striving to offer our guests exceptional service and an unforgettable experience here at Santa Ynez Inn. I'm thrilled to hear our wine hour and late tea & cookies were to your liking. The garden was the perfect spot to enjoy everything, especially when you light the fire pit! Its also wonderful that our Tasting Passport helped you explore all the delicious wine around the area. I hope you choose to stay with us again next time you're in Santa Ynez!

Kindly,
Kristopher M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

I love Santa Ynez Inn! I didn’t want to leave. It felt more like I was staying in a room at a country estate than a hotel. The staff treated us like we were special houseguests. The wine and appetizer spread every afternoon is really deluxe. Generally when hotels offer this type of thing they give you some crappy wine, a few slices of cheese and some cheap crackers. I was delighted when I saw the spread offered at the SY Inn & looked forward to it everyday. The breakfasts are also high quality with warm eggs & pancakes offered every day.

The location of the hotel is great. Santa Ynez is a cute, little cowboy town. There are excellent restaurants and wine tasting bars within walking distance of the hotel. It’s a good base for wine tasting adventures. The town is not touristy like Solvang & has much more charm than Beulton.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Djuna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristopher M, General Manager at Santa Ynez Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Hi,

Thank you so much for your lovely words! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, most notably our wine and cheese hour and gourmet breakfast. We strive to offer the highest quality of service in the valley, so we take pride in offering such a selection to our guests. I hope you come visit again soon, you're always welcome!

Kindly,
Kristopher McLaughlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018

The Santa Ynez Inn is a real stand alone Inn...meaning it is not an old house that has be converted into an Inn [which usually kind of difficult], but a large country style building that is a true Inn. First off, the Inn is a little expensive, but you know that already. The staff has been there for sometime and is well trained. The rooms are very large suites and very comfortable. They provide a breakfast and treats; all very good. The one MAJOR disappointment for us was the charging of the really stupid and disliked Resort Fee of $25 per day. WHY? If management wants more revenue than have the guts to charge the room cost an additional $25. There is no swimming pool, but has a spa area and small fitness center...that rates a "resort fee"? God, I hate this dishonest fee that these hotel pond off on us, the public. Please, please stop doing it. I did pay it but the 5 star that this Inn rates is now a four star.

Room Tip: no view, all rooms are good
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dtroutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristopher M, General Manager at Santa Ynez Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Hi Richard,

First off, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us as we strive to offer the highest quality service in the valley. It is a top priority to provide every guest with an exceptional experience, so I am very sorry to hear of your frustration upon check out. Our Resort Fee is clearly stated in our room descriptions online and our staff is always more than willing to discuss everything it covers in detail. Nonetheless, I have duly noted your concerns. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly if you have any further questions. I hope you choose to stay with us again next time you are in the area!

Kindly,
Kristopher McLaughlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews