We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
43
38
14
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
38
14
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private room common room marin headlands bed dorm annex building rodeo beach common areas pancake mix golden gate san francisco two nights counter space muir woods take advantage national park the hustle and bustle front porch
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 107 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2018 via mobile

The building was really beautiful, and the common room was sa very comfortable to hang out in. The communal kitchen area was also super awesome. The beds are comfy, and the bedding they give you is super comfy. They also give you towels for showers, and the showers are stocked with super nice smelling shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. Really nice touch. The hostel is also really close to beautiful scenery and hiking. Overall, just a really pleasant place to stay. But bring your own food! There’s pretty much nowhere to eat near there, but the hostel does sell some food you can make in the kitchen.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Galayna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan E, Manager at HI Marin Headlands Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Wow! Thank you for such a lovely review! We are so pleased to hear you had a good trip and we're so happy we could give you a nice place to stay in between explorations of the area! Happy trails to you until we meet again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018

My teen-age son, my husband, and I booked a private room with a shared bath for two nights in the Annex of the Marin Headlands Hostel. It was everything we could have asked for and more. Clean, quiet, and calm in a natural environment. A mile walk from Rodeo Beach on a trail along Rodeo Lagoon. The kitchen was well maintained and had everything we needed. For an adventure we hiked to the Point Bonita Lighthouse, a stunning historic lighthouse with a fascinating past perched on the jagged coastal point overlooking the Golden Gate to the east and the Farallon Islands and expansive Pacific Ocean to the West. To get there you need to walk through an old hand chiseled tunnel, and cross a foot bridge towering above rocky cliffs. Bring your camera for this trip! It's even dramatic in the fog. You will also need to check the hours it's open, as they are very limited.

Room tip: Book in advance for private rooms.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whybefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan E, Manager at HI Marin Headlands Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

We're so happy to hear you had a lovely Marin Headlands experience! We hope you can make it out another time and happy new year to you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2017

In the national park this place is a great retreat. loads of good walks around and a generally chilled out vibe in the common areas. I stayed in the dorm which was 12 people, was ok as everybody was asleep quite early due to there really not being a whole lot to do in the evenings!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan E, General Manager at HI Marin Headlands Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Thanks so much for your review, Alan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

- We loved the location out of the hustle and bustle of busy California and San Francisco.
- very affordable when you consider how expensive it can be to stay right in San Fran
- great place to see some wildlife -coyotes and raccoons were great for us Aussies who'd never seen them before.
- the variety of travelers and ease of conversation was great
- a basket of toys in the communal area was a huge highlight for our toddler who was missing her home and her toys

Things we didn't love so much:
- the bathrooms. They seemed dingey, sometimes unclean and the showers offered little privacy
- the arrival of 20 or more high school children for 2 out of 3 night's of our stay. It changed the complete dynamic of the hostel and it meant they dominated the kitchen space during major meal times. There were no burners to use, there were no clean cups for coffee or tea, bowls and cutlery were all laid out on the table for the school group. They were respectful and well managed but it created many difficulties for other guests.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Lana_Bree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan E, General Manager at HI Marin Headlands Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It's true, we are very lucky to be able to share this space with a huge diversity of people and groups. We're a non-profit, so it's great to be able to provide groups with a space where they can receive outdoor education through our Outdoor Hostel Education programs as well as the resources provided through the park and around our facilities. We're sorry the presence of groups created inconvenience for you, though it's great to hear that they were respectful and well managed! Please let us know if we can help you with issues around the hostel as we want every guest to feel comfortable in this wonderful space. We always have time to help resolve any issue you might have, especially on the spot. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

I spent the previous night at HI Monterey hostel and it was an excellent experience. THe night here was quite disappointing. THe place is old and it shows, not much clean, staff rather distracted and unattentive. Poor wifi. the place is really far from everything but not with a good vibe

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ElisadeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan E, General Manager at HI Marin Headlands Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! These giant historic buildings can certainly be a challenge to keep up but we work diligently every day to improve our facilities. There are so many excellent things to do and the park is incredibly beautiful, we're grateful to be able to provide accommodations in such a wonderful park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews