We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Selma/Fresno Area
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Selma
Reviewed 29 December 2011

After being scared off by the neighborhood at a Super 8 in Fresno, we found this one in Selma to stop at instead. Area seemed fine. All the chain stores and some restaurants to eat at. We like Super 8s because they seem to be better quality budget motels. This one was a little less than what we expected, and a little pricier on top of it. My husband talked the guy down to $74, but that was still a little much. Room and beds were clean, but pretty small. The bathroom walls looked old and grimey. I took a shower because even though I usually like a nice bath, the bathtub had stains and didn't appeal to me. The breakfast bar was okay, with the usual muffins, pastries, and cereals. Oh, here's what annoyed me: in the room there is a card that stated "see the front desk about signing up for our rewards club!" So I did, and the guy had no idea what I was talking about. Finally he told me I'd have to sign up for it online. So I said, okay, but how can I then get credit for THIS stay? To which he grumpily told me I couldn't, because I had to have a membership number BEFORE I check in. Hmmm. Annoying. I've been to other places where I can sign up at the desk AND they happily give credit for the current stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuTune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

Our stay was just fine. Right when we walked in the door, the desk clerk stop what she was doing to adress us, with a "Hello and how are you?" She checked us in very quiclky and throughly. Directed us to them room and local resturants. The room it's self was clean and comfortable. We would stay there again if we ever passed throgh Selma, ca again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pakado77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

very unfriendly clerks; seemed very disinterested in doing their work. Rattled off directions to room and procedures as if I didn't follow them, I'd be in trouble.
Room clean, but bed extremely uncomfortable, lightbulbs not working in three of the lamps.
If I had to, I'd stay again because there aren't too many options in that town, but the customer service problems could and should be addressed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Our company has crews traveling around the United States renting +4000 rooms per year. We recently had a crew stay at the Super 8 in Selma, CA in which one of the rooms had bed bugs. After complaining to the front desk, they had him switch rooms. Their comment was that he should feel "lucky" that they had another room available and offered a $30 refund.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgdNorthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2006

We stayed here for one night en route to San Francisco. It was a typical (very) basic motel that we paid about 3 times the normal price for as it was memorial day weekend and we hadn't booked in advance.

They were fully booked but I assume most people were only there as a stop off to somewhere better!

1  Thank donsyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2005

I was tired of driving and decided to stay in Selma. What a mistake! It was so bad that I checked out even despite the fact that I wouldn't get a refund. There was a large stain in the center of the coverlet, the towels were so old that you could see through parts of them. The chair was so stained that I wouldn't sit on it. The remote was screwed to the nightstand in a way that you couldn't see the numbers, but that didn't matter because it didn't work. It smelled. Also, the other clientele seemed to be pretty rough around the edges. I ended up going across the street to the Best Western, and the person at the desk there said that more than a few people check out of the Super 8 before sleeping there. This hotel should be removed from the national chain -- a flop house would have been better.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greenbroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank boulericei
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selma
0.3 km away
Best Western Colonial Inn
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Selma-Swan Court
21.3 km away
Best Western Americana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Selma/Fresno Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Selma/Fresno Area

Address: 3142 Highland Ave, Hwy 99 at Floral Ave, Selma, CA 93662-2607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Selma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Selma
Price Range: $70 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Selma/Fresno Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Selma/Fresno Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Selma
Super Eight Selma
Selma Super 8
Selma Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing