We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simi Valley Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel is very quaint, villa-ish. but has the amenities of a full-fledged hotel. Plus, it is right next to an Elephant Bar restaurant, walkable. Customer service was excellent. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POSADADHS, Manager at Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

What's a hotel with (1) room doors that open directly to the parking lot, (2) no room service, and (3) everything from the alarm clock to the iron chained down? A motel. What do we expect to pay for a motel on a main street but otherwise in the middle of nowhere? About $65. What did we pay? About $100.

If you approach the facility from the front, the portico and lobby make a good first impression. But that and the room rate are the only things that suggest "hotel." If we'd paid motel rates, I wouldn't be writing…we've all stayed in motels - they are what they are.

But there are a few things I expect when I book a hotel room - chiefly among them is security. There is no security - not even a locked gate - between the street and the rooms. It would have been easier for a would-be trespasser to get to my room than to the gated spa.

I also expect that no smoking means no smoking, but I acknowledge that if someone wants to light up in the parking lot, that's probably fair game. But with the parking lot right outside your door or window, you may get odors and noise that you didn't anticipate.

Finally - a few comments I'd have made regardless of whether this was a hotel or a motel. The topmost bed linens were stained, the room décor, bath, and amenities (like the TV) were dated, the fridge made so much noise we unplugged it, and wifi was unattainable.

Pros: Proximity to the Elephant Bar Restaurant (it shares a parking lot with the motel - er - hotel); proximity to the Reagan Library (just a few miles down the road); not a bad walk to a Target, if you need to step out for sundries.

Advice: If you have to stay here, research and/or negotiate like heck to get something resembling a motel room rate, arrive mentally in motel mode, and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebIrvine_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POSADADHS, Manager at Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel on business - conveniently located by the 118 freeway. Our rate included the full breakfast - omelet bar and everything. People serving food were very happy and accommodating - and except for the coffee, food was fine. The room was clean, and the hotel has wifi - except I was out of range :( so it would have been nice to have a network cable already in the room, as many at the back of the hotel were out of range. the only complaint is the mini refrigerator that talked all night. I should have unplugged it - but turned the fan on instead so it was not so loud.
PROS: price, convenience, breakfast. CONS: just the talkative refrigerator.

Room Tip: No elevators - be aware of that for heavy bags!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agbowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POSADADHS, Manager at Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Daniel Schmidt-Hughes, CHA
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My first choice when I travel is typically not a Best Western, but the Posada Royale is a very conveniently located, clean, well run hotel. I've been in Simi Valley a number of times and this Best Western was the third hotel I've stayed at in Simi Valley over time. So far, this is the only one of the three that I can recommend. Breakfast and service was great. The breakfast line backed up a little while the cook made cook-to-order egg or omelets but they also had scrambled eggs, potatos and meats separately. I judge hotels by their "free" coffee also; surprisingly good, strong hot coffee. I appreciate good breakfasts - this food was much more than bread, pastry and maybe self-serve waffles you often find at these hotel chains.

Accomodations are good too - Rooms, bathrooms, bed, furniture were all reasonably comfortable and clean too. I am a non-smoker and tend to be extremely careful about checking bedding, sheets, mattresses, etc. and I was satisfied with the cleaning and maintenance. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webhoncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POSADADHS, Manager at Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope to see you again soon.


Daniel Schmidt-Hughes, CHA
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

After researching this hotel on line, we were very pleased to find it is all everyone has reviewed previously. Room was very clean, quiet, and spacious. Staff was very accommodating and pleasant to speak with, all smiles and very informative. And the breakfast! Wow! Especially nice was to get a place for dinner that the "locales" know and like (The Junkyard). Trusting the advice of more than one receptionist, we ventured to the eatery and had a wonderful dining experience. During conversation at checkin, we indicated our intent to visit the Reagan Library and was immediately provided a discount coupon for the cafe which came in very handy. You can't miss this hotel when in Simi Valley for a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs on the northwest side or the courtyard (nice view) for the quietest area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POSADADHS, Manager at Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Pretty average to good. The front desk staff in the early afternoon was not particularly helpful when we asked about early check-in. The breakfast was OUTSTANDING.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koolbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POSADADHS, Manager at Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hotel advertises on their website that it is a nonsmoking hotel. When you get there you will find a sign posted behind the lobby desk stating that the facility is 100% non smoking in all guest rooms and public spaces. The sad reality is that ash trays are placed within 5 feet of some of the rooms that have entryways from the courtyard or parking lot. Non-smokers beware!

My room was very dated. TV was the old tube type. Something bit me on my legs and I was itching for weeks. Would not recommend to anyone. Also someone tried to enter our room around 1am.

Room Tip: If you chose to stay here and want to be sure your AC does not suck in cigarette smoke, book a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoButts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POSADADHS, Manager at Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simi Valley
2.2 km away
Grand Vista Hotel
Grand Vista Hotel
#4 of 6 in Simi Valley
434 reviews
1.5 km away
Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley
10.0 km away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Simi Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
12.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
12.6 km away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites

Address: 1775 Madera Rd, Simi Valley, CA 93065-3049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Simi Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Price Range: $141 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering guests an affordable luxurious experience, the boutique hotel strives to provide a comfortable stay for business and leisure travelers alike. Centrally located between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara, this green property is minutes away from the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library & Museum, Moorpark College & America’s Teaching Zoo, California Lutheran University, Farmers Insurance and various golf courses. Start your day with a delicious omelet from our complimentary hot breakfast; spend the day exploring the local shops, parks or golf courses and come home to relax in the swimming pool or cozy fireplace in the lobby before spending an evening in our deluxe guest rooms or luxury suites. Guests can enjoy the complimentary wine reception (Monday thru Thursday) or visit the Elephant Bar next door. Event and meeting space, from weddings to conferences/seminars, available with menu options catering to every taste bud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Posada Royale Hotel And Suites, Simi Valley
Best Western Simi Valley
Simi Valley Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing