We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look for options in the area with great reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Room cleaning needs to be taken seriously
My colleague had to be given a different room , third time acceptable due to room hygiene not meeting basic requirements.
My room was quiet, but my colleague wasn't so lucky he could hear the floor boards squeaking through the night.
There is a gym but it is too small with incorrect equipment for space available.
Breakfast is served and breakfast staff run a tight ship.
Receptionists are bilingual

Room Tip: Tricky , luck of the draw, higher up is probably better, aim for top floor, do a scan bedroom and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Hello Kellen L!

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry we fell below your expectation regarding cleanliness and the fitness center. We will address these concern. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2017

Let's get rid of the problems: surprise parking fee of $3 a night, dark, low-ceiling garage, inexperienced staff at check-in, not a single towel bar in the bathroom (!), soft bed which felt over-used. The good stuff: good free wi-fi, great shower head with nice water flow, variety of protein plus fruits plus pancakes plus cereals at breakfast. Very pleasant staff in breakfast room. I wouldn't stay here again; others do it better, especially at this price.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Hi PMJC,

Thanks for staying with the Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. I appreciate your candid feedback. I'm sorry to learn that you weren't informed about the parking fee and that the bed fell below your expectations. Your comments will help us address these areas of opportunity. On the brighter side, I am glad to see that you gave an excellent rating for the service during breakfast. It is always fulfilling when our guests are happy. In the future, we hope to have an opportunity to win back your trust.

Safe travels!

Anna B
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Very clean, professional front desk young guy checked me in. Beach a block away up the stairs and down large flight of stairs. Bed was more comfortable than the bed in a hotel in lajolla I stayed 2 nights in prior. Stayed last minute in Del Mar as we enjoyed the little town and excellent food.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mel2523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Have stayed here on 2 occasions and whilst it is not brand new pristine stuff it is in our experience clean and comfortable. The breakfasts which are included are reasonably decent and the gent in charge keeps everything under control, replenishing and freshening as required. The rooms are decent if a little dated, as are the balconies but everything is functional. There is no street noise and beds are comfortable, the hotel is walking distance to both beach and restaurants, parking is reasonably priced and available in garage area.

Room Tip: Perhaps top floor rooms avoid noisy people above but we have been top floor also second no problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Easy access location
Good hotel staff, friendly, manager was helpful
Easy walk to the beach
Close to Del Mar racetrack and horse show facility
Close to several restaurants, walking distance
Clean and convenient
Quiet atmosphere

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Gwen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed here for five days. Our arrival was a warm welcome, easy to find location, and great room! Service from all the staff the whole time was great-- housekeeping was excellent, the pool maintenance was great, the front desk team was awesome. It was a five minute or less walk to the beach, and the hotel gave us towels that we could take there to use. Evenings featured warm fresh cookies in the lobby, which was a hit with our kids. The pool was clean and great, although they were often out of towels, and the pool opened at 9 am but at that time the hot tub and pool were both still cold until later in the day. The breakfast was quite good, lots of great options both healthy and indulgent. Loved the pancake machine! Excellent coffee both at breakfast and in the room's Keurig. The one disappointment of the breakfast was that the hotel states that there is bacon, but only one of the five mornings was there actually bacon served. The beds were a little uncomfortable as they sank to the middle, but overall very clean. Our little balcony was a great place to relax, get a little fresh air, and hang wet bathing suits. The location is close to several great restaurants and lots of great shops. Overall, we were very happy, and if we stay in the area again, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: The suites are nice and spacious for a longer stay, and are located on the end of the building with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sophiezhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Needed a hotel near my niece and this was perfect! Clean room and very friendly staff. Much to our surprise they had a great breakfast buffet!!! Priced right for our stay. Close to what we needed. Would book again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank NonnaCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
3.7 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
1.6 km away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
133 reviews
1.2 km away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
228 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar

Address: 621 S Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range: $131 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Solana Beach, Del Mar is perfect for every aspect a guest would stay for! It's a beautiful city with access to almost anything you are may be looking you. Its well known for its beach, where you can relax or take a nice jog, which is just walking distance from the hotel. There are many local attractions that aren't far: Legoland, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and many more. Not only is the city itself a beautiful location, but The Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers 80 spacious rooms. Each room features a private balcony, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and many more attributes! To make your stay even better, we offer complimentary breakfast, and a relaxing Pool and Jacuzzi. Efficiency is key to many guests, we have free Wi-Fi and many delicious restaurants that are close as a block away. If you are coming for business, relaxation, excitement or just for simple fun, we are here to make this stay special. Our friendly staff will always be happy to help to make your stay unique and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Holiday Inn Solana Beach
Solana Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing