We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
73
99
62
16
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
99
62
16
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach access breakfast room is free breakfast screen door within walking distance covered parking hi express decent breakfast fridge and microwave stay there again late checkout pool and jacuzzi other hotels in the area per day ice machine stayed here for nights parking fee
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 270 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2017

Let's get rid of the problems: surprise parking fee of $3 a night, dark, low-ceiling garage, inexperienced staff at check-in, not a single towel bar in the bathroom (!), soft bed which felt over-used. The good stuff: good free wi-fi, great shower head with nice water flow, variety of protein plus fruits plus pancakes plus cereals at breakfast. Very pleasant staff in breakfast room. I wouldn't stay here again; others do it better, especially at this price.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2017

Hi PMJC,

Thanks for staying with the Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. I appreciate your candid feedback. I'm sorry to learn that you weren't informed about the parking fee and that the bed fell below your expectations. Your comments will help us address these areas of opportunity. On the brighter side, I am glad to see that you gave an excellent rating for the service during breakfast. It is always fulfilling when our guests are happy. In the future, we hope to have an opportunity to win back your trust.

Safe travels!

Anna B
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

Very clean, professional front desk young guy checked me in. Beach a block away up the stairs and down large flight of stairs. Bed was more comfortable than the bed in a hotel in lajolla I stayed 2 nights in prior. Stayed last minute in Del Mar as we enjoyed the little town and excellent food.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mel2523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

Have stayed here on 2 occasions and whilst it is not brand new pristine stuff it is in our experience clean and comfortable. The breakfasts which are included are reasonably decent and the gent in charge keeps everything under control, replenishing and freshening as required. The rooms are decent if a little dated, as are the balconies but everything is functional. There is no street noise and beds are comfortable, the hotel is walking distance to both beach and restaurants, parking is reasonably priced and available in garage area.

Room Tip: Perhaps top floor rooms avoid noisy people above but we have been top floor also second no problems with noise
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017 via mobile

Easy access location
Good hotel staff, friendly, manager was helpful
Easy walk to the beach
Close to Del Mar racetrack and horse show facility
Close to several restaurants, walking distance
Clean and convenient
Quiet atmosphere

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Gwen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2017

We stayed here for five days. Our arrival was a warm welcome, easy to find location, and great room! Service from all the staff the whole time was great-- housekeeping was excellent, the pool maintenance was great, the front desk team was awesome. It was a five minute or less walk to the beach, and the hotel gave us towels that we could take there to use. Evenings featured warm fresh cookies in the lobby, which was a hit with our kids. The pool was clean and great, although they were often out of towels, and the pool opened at 9 am but at that time the hot tub and pool were both still cold until later in the day. The breakfast was quite good, lots of great options both healthy and indulgent. Loved the pancake machine! Excellent coffee both at breakfast and in the room's Keurig. The one disappointment of the breakfast was that the hotel states that there is bacon, but only one of the five mornings was there actually bacon served. The beds were a little uncomfortable as they sank to the middle, but overall very clean. Our little balcony was a great place to relax, get a little fresh air, and hang wet bathing suits. The location is close to several great restaurants and lots of great shops. Overall, we were very happy, and if we stay in the area again, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: The suites are nice and spacious for a longer stay, and are located on the end of the building with the best view.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sophiezhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews