We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Winners Circle Resort(Solana Beach)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach(Solana Beach)(Great Value!)
US$285
US$224
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$300
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$299
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa L'Auberge(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$299
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$714
US$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge(Cardiff-by-the-Sea)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Artistes(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
72
97
62
15
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
97
62
15
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast room iseasy walk to the beachfree breakfastshort walkscreen doorfridge and microwavelate checkoutrestaurants within walking distancethe san diego areapool and jacuzzinice stayother hotels in the areaice machinelocation is greatstayed here for nightsparking feeper day
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 266 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

A short walk to the beach was a real perk. We stayed in a 2 queen suite which included a small sofa. Romm was nicely furnished and comfortable but our refrigerator wasn't working which was a disappointment as our beverages and snack foods all became warm. We didn't notice it until we were just a couple hours before check-out so it was too late. This is something that the attendants should have checked before we took the room as I'm sure it didn't just quit working after we tried to use it. We kind of felt cheated as we booked a suite primarily for the fridge and microwave. The morning breakfast was satisfying and the pool and jacuzzi were great for a quick morning dip. We would return to the property but be more careful next time to see that everything was in working order when assuming the room.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank VegasDude66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. We value your remarks, as it helps our staff to know they are doing a great job. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed all the amenities, but will personally replace the fridge, and give our sincerest apologies for that issue. On a lighter note, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed the full service breakfast! We appreciate being of service to you, and hope to see you back soon at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Courtney Kroll
Guest Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2017

I found the Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar when desperately in search of the perfect hotel for a week. The location could not be better. It is located only five minutes from the beach by foot. The service is excellent and the staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfast is included in the price and more than met my expectations. In comparison to other hotels in the area, parking prices are reasonable. There are a multitude of wonderful neighborhood restaurants. The hotel could use some updates with utilities. Other than that, I would definitely return to this quiet and cozy hotel near the sea

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank schaeferpictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We value your remarks, as it helps our staff to know they are doing a great job. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, as well as our beautiful location. Our goal is to always make our guests feel as cozy and comfortable as possible. We appreciate being of service to you, and hope to see you back soon at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2017

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, often 5 star, and for the money, this one is up there with them.
We found the room very clean, comfortable and the beds very good. The bathroom was spotless however a towel rail would be very useful.
The breakfast is terrific with a good range of choices.
The staff are just excellent. They are happy, helpful, courteous and go the extra bit.
This is probably due to the family atmosphere created by Brenda Guerrero and her management team. Paul was especially helpful on our arrival in arranging things for us.
That we came to realise was the way it works there.
Thoroughly recommend, we will return, looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. We value your remarks, as it helps our staff to know they are doing a great job. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, and are so happy the staff treated you as expected. Brenda and Paul are personally so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, as we try to make our hotel feel like a home away from home. We appreciate being of service to you, and look forward to seeing you return!

Sincerely,

Courtney Kroll
Guest Services Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017

Room cleaning needs to be taken seriously
My colleague had to be given a different room , third time acceptable due to room hygiene not meeting basic requirements.
My room was quiet, but my colleague wasn't so lucky he could hear the floor boards squeaking through the night.
There is a gym but it is too small with incorrect equipment for space available.
Breakfast is served and breakfast staff run a tight ship.
Receptionists are bilingual

Room Tip: Tricky , luck of the draw, higher up is probably better, aim for top floor, do a scan bedroom and bathroom before you accept the room.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Hello Kellen L!

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry we fell below your expectation regarding cleanliness and the fitness center. We will address these concern. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2017

Let's get rid of the problems: surprise parking fee of $3 a night, dark, low-ceiling garage, inexperienced staff at check-in, not a single towel bar in the bathroom (!), soft bed which felt over-used. The good stuff: good free wi-fi, great shower head with nice water flow, variety of protein plus fruits plus pancakes plus cereals at breakfast. Very pleasant staff in breakfast room. I wouldn't stay here again; others do it better, especially at this price.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2017

Hi PMJC,

Thanks for staying with the Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. I appreciate your candid feedback. I'm sorry to learn that you weren't informed about the parking fee and that the bed fell below your expectations. Your comments will help us address these areas of opportunity. On the brighter side, I am glad to see that you gave an excellent rating for the service during breakfast. It is always fulfilling when our guests are happy. In the future, we hope to have an opportunity to win back your trust.

Safe travels!

Anna B
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews