We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Like most of the hotels along this part of the Californian cost, this hotel is more expensive than one would want. But ... that's how it works. Apart from that you get value for money: a very light, clean and spacious room with a balcony. Seperate sitting room, mini-kitchen, very good wifi-signal. Good bathroom. Parking in the hotels carpark ($ 3 per day). Breakfast is extended and served in a beautiful and light room with a view.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2013Chris57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. We value your remarks, as it helps our staff to know they are doing a great job. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities as well as our full service breakfast! We appreciate being of service to you, and hope to see you back soon at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Courtney Kroll
Guest Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

A short walk to the beach was a real perk. We stayed in a 2 queen suite which included a small sofa. Romm was nicely furnished and comfortable but our refrigerator wasn't working which was a disappointment as our beverages and snack foods all became warm. We didn't notice it until we were just a couple hours before check-out so it was too late. This is something that the attendants should have checked before we took the room as I'm sure it didn't just quit working after we tried to use it. We kind of felt cheated as we booked a suite primarily for the fridge and microwave. The morning breakfast was satisfying and the pool and jacuzzi were great for a quick morning dip. We would return to the property but be more careful next time to see that everything was in working order when assuming the room.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank VegasDude66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. We value your remarks, as it helps our staff to know they are doing a great job. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed all the amenities, but will personally replace the fridge, and give our sincerest apologies for that issue. On a lighter note, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed the full service breakfast! We appreciate being of service to you, and hope to see you back soon at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Courtney Kroll
Guest Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

I found the Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar when desperately in search of the perfect hotel for a week. The location could not be better. It is located only five minutes from the beach by foot. The service is excellent and the staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfast is included in the price and more than met my expectations. In comparison to other hotels in the area, parking prices are reasonable. There are a multitude of wonderful neighborhood restaurants. The hotel could use some updates with utilities. Other than that, I would definitely return to this quiet and cozy hotel near the sea

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank schaeferpictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We value your remarks, as it helps our staff to know they are doing a great job. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, as well as our beautiful location. Our goal is to always make our guests feel as cozy and comfortable as possible. We appreciate being of service to you, and hope to see you back soon at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, often 5 star, and for the money, this one is up there with them.
We found the room very clean, comfortable and the beds very good. The bathroom was spotless however a towel rail would be very useful.
The breakfast is terrific with a good range of choices.
The staff are just excellent. They are happy, helpful, courteous and go the extra bit.
This is probably due to the family atmosphere created by Brenda Guerrero and her management team. Paul was especially helpful on our arrival in arranging things for us.
That we came to realise was the way it works there.
Thoroughly recommend, we will return, looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. We value your remarks, as it helps our staff to know they are doing a great job. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, and are so happy the staff treated you as expected. Brenda and Paul are personally so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, as we try to make our hotel feel like a home away from home. We appreciate being of service to you, and look forward to seeing you return!

Sincerely,

Courtney Kroll
Guest Services Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Room cleaning needs to be taken seriously
My colleague had to be given a different room , third time acceptable due to room hygiene not meeting basic requirements.
My room was quiet, but my colleague wasn't so lucky he could hear the floor boards squeaking through the night.
There is a gym but it is too small with incorrect equipment for space available.
Breakfast is served and breakfast staff run a tight ship.
Receptionists are bilingual

Room Tip: Tricky , luck of the draw, higher up is probably better, aim for top floor, do a scan bedroom and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Hello Kellen L!

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry we fell below your expectation regarding cleanliness and the fitness center. We will address these concern. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Let's get rid of the problems: surprise parking fee of $3 a night, dark, low-ceiling garage, inexperienced staff at check-in, not a single towel bar in the bathroom (!), soft bed which felt over-used. The good stuff: good free wi-fi, great shower head with nice water flow, variety of protein plus fruits plus pancakes plus cereals at breakfast. Very pleasant staff in breakfast room. I wouldn't stay here again; others do it better, especially at this price.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Hi PMJC,

Thanks for staying with the Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. I appreciate your candid feedback. I'm sorry to learn that you weren't informed about the parking fee and that the bed fell below your expectations. Your comments will help us address these areas of opportunity. On the brighter side, I am glad to see that you gave an excellent rating for the service during breakfast. It is always fulfilling when our guests are happy. In the future, we hope to have an opportunity to win back your trust.

Safe travels!

Anna B
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Very clean, professional front desk young guy checked me in. Beach a block away up the stairs and down large flight of stairs. Bed was more comfortable than the bed in a hotel in lajolla I stayed 2 nights in prior. Stayed last minute in Del Mar as we enjoyed the little town and excellent food.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mel2523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
3.7 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
1.6 km away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
4.1 km away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
228 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
254 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar

Address: 621 S Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range: $138 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Solana Beach, Del Mar is perfect for every aspect a guest would stay for! It's a beautiful city with access to almost anything you are may be looking you. Its well known for its beach, where you can relax or take a nice jog, which is just walking distance from the hotel. There are many local attractions that aren't far: Legoland, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and many more. Not only is the city itself a beautiful location, but The Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers 80 spacious rooms. Each room features a private balcony, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and many more attributes! To make your stay even better, we offer complimentary breakfast, and a relaxing Pool and Jacuzzi. Efficiency is key to many guests, we have free Wi-Fi and many delicious restaurants that are close as a block away. If you are coming for business, relaxation, excitement or just for simple fun, we are here to make this stay special. Our friendly staff will always be happy to help to make your stay unique and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Holiday Inn Solana Beach
Solana Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing