We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
72
98
62
16
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
98
62
16
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach accessbreakfast room isfree breakfastscreen doorcovered parkingfridge and microwavestay there againlate checkoutpool and jacuzziother hotels in the areaice machineper daystayed here for nightsparking feegreat roombalconycereal
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 268 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2017

Had a week long stay here with my kids. Close to everything in mellow Solana Beach. Fast access to I-5 for travels to other parts of the state. Super clean, comfortable room. Beds were comfortable, great pillows. Free breakfast each day was ample with enough variety to satisfy most tastes. The beautiful, calm Solana beach is a short walk away.

Staff was excellent everyone treated us very well and were very welcoming.
We really enjoyed our stay here and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate your comment, as it helps our staff to know they are doing a great job. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, as well as our beautiful location and beach. Our goal is to always make our guests feel as cozy and comfortable as possible. We hope to see you back soon at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2017

The rooms are normal size, the beds are nice. The housekeeping came in daily and did a nice job cleaning up after my teenage boys. Breakfast was normal for a continental. I will point out that they had turkey sausage and egg whites. This hotel is not on the beach, but very close. The stairs are the closest but it is 3 flights down, if you walk down the street about a half a mile there is a ramp area. Wonderful beach, not crowded at all.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We value your remarks, as it helps our staff to know they are doing a great job. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our beautiful beach. Our goal is to always make our guests feel as cozy and comfortable as possible. We hope to see you back soon at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days for my husbands work. We chose this coz its a shorter walk to the beach compared to our hotel last week. Just 5 mins walk to the closest beach access but about 5 flights of stairs going down to the beach.
As IHG member our room was upgraded so it was spacious with a small living area and dining table as well as patio.
Room comes with microwave, ref and coffeemaker. Free daily breakfast is included in the rates. Parking is $3/night.
Staff were nice and efficient. Our only complaint was when we asked for a late checkout the most they could give us was until 12:30pm. They said they were fully booked. Maybe we are just use to courtesy late check out extended to Spire members in other hotels. Too bad coz we will be back in SD next week for another 5 days and have opted to stay in another hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gsl_9292013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. We value your remarks, as it helps our staff to know they are doing a great job. We are pleased to see you enjoyed the location and how convenient it is to get to the beach. We are always happy to upgrade guests when possible, so we are happy to see you enjoyed your suite. We were unfortunately sold out at the time of your check out, so we apologize for not being able to accommodate your late checkout. When we have the availability and the ability to accommodate ANY of our guests requests, we are ready and willing to do so, ESPECIALLY when they are valued spire members, whom always receive priority. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate being of service to you, and hope to see you back soon at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is nicely furnished in pretty modern inside quite clean. Only $3 per night to park so that's pretty good comparatively. It is wooden walking distance to the beach but it is a steep 7-story walk down the stairs to get to the beach. You should be in good shape and bring water. It is walkable but that is an awful lot of stairs.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. We value your remarks, as it helps our staff to know they are doing a great job. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are happy to see that you were pleased with the location and that you enjoyed your workout! It makes us to happy to see our guests take advantage of our beautiful location. We are also so grateful that you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer. We appreciate being of service to you, and hope to see you back soon at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017

Like most of the hotels along this part of the Californian cost, this hotel is more expensive than one would want. But ... that's how it works. Apart from that you get value for money: a very light, clean and spacious room with a balcony. Seperate sitting room, mini-kitchen, very good wifi-signal. Good bathroom. Parking in the hotels carpark ($ 3 per day). Breakfast is extended and served in a beautiful and light room with a view.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2013Chris57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar, CA. We value your remarks, as it helps our staff to know they are doing a great job. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities as well as our full service breakfast! We appreciate being of service to you, and hope to see you back soon at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Courtney Kroll
Guest Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews