We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Being renovated...great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winners Circle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Winners Circle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Being renovated...great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Have stayed here on and off over the past several years. Units are old but very well maintained. Looks like buildings are being renovated now. Stayed in an updated studio and loved the new room. Cannot beat the convenient location, close to the fairgrounds/racetrack and probably the FINEST beaches in California. The Del Mar beaches are truly a joy to visit.

Price is right for the value you get. Hope that the whole resort is updated soon.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HapptravAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed staying at Winners Circle! We are in the middle of a complete renovation and some units have been fully remodeled already. We're glad you enjoyed the convenient location and the Del Mar Beaches!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    70
    20
    3
    9
See reviews for
84
66
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

The grounds are nice, the rooms on the other hand, Ghetto! Our bed was horrible, woke up with sore backs every morning. The rooms are out dated and have a musty smell. We traded our beautiful Wyndam resort for this, just to be closer to San Diego. We should have just went ahead and stayed in Oceanside. I can't believe people actually buy ownership to this place. RCI should take them off as an option to stay at, how embarrassing!!! The carpet looks like it is never vacuumed and I wouldn't walk bare footed on it, The cabinets have been painted with a ugly gold color, they even painted over the hinges!!! 60's decor with a lamp that would tip when you would put anything on the glass table that it was attached to it. Old CRT Televisions. This is the first negative rating we have ever gave! Kinda feel bad doing it, but don't want anyone else to be as disappointed as we were.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard were very quite, but the quests are loud in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
We're glad that you like the courtyard and the grounds; however, I'm sorry that you weren't able to enjoy your stay at Winners Circle due to being in an outdated room. RCI has their own separate availability for exchange guests that they book independently. We are currently renovating our property and sometimes we are able to move guests into a new, fully remodeled unit. Please, let the front desk know if you're ever unhappy with your accommodations, and we'll do our best to find something better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Winners Circle is old and needs a face-lift. The hallways look like you're walking into a dorm. The beds are hard as a board. For $126 a night (via Priceline.com) I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinty1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thanks for reviewing Winners Circle. We are undergoing a massive renovation project, with some rooms completely remodeled and some not. Next time, please let us know you're dissatisfied with your unit, and we'll do our best to move you to a better location. We're glad you enjoyed our location, service, and cleanliness. We'd love to have you back in one of our remodeled rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The location is perfect, right of the freeway and across the street from Del Mar race track. The Staff is helpful and friendly and the resort is great! There are a ton of great places to eat and visit and great beaches nearby. I had an awesome experience staying here, my room was really nice and clean! I would definitely recommend staying here and plan on coming back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thanks for reviewing Winners Circle! We're glad you enjoyed the convenient freeway access. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

If you want a Motel 6 at $135.00 a night then this is the place. Furniture that is at least 10 years old, musty smelling carpet and a air conditioner that runs even if it is turned off. To top it all off we were charged a $55.00 cleaning fee for staying one night. This is standard!!! We had booked two nights but could not take it another night. Pictures lie and this is no resort. The only thing we found nice was the Fish Market Restaurant that shares the parking lot. Great food and prices. We will not return to the Winners Circle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soocwaterguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thanks for reviewing Winners Circle. We are a timeshare hotel and resort. We're glad you enjoyed the Fish Market. We apologize that your room was not to your liking. Sometimes, it's possible that the front desk can relocate you to an upgraded room. Unfortunately, our resort renovation is not yet complete, so some units have not yet been remodeled. The $55 fee is standard for exchange guests coming in through RCI points. However, not all reservations are subject to this fee. We hope you will visit us again, when our resort renovation is finished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Clean, great staff, pool, FULL kitchen, what more could you want... The location is simply the best with my favorite north San Diego beaches minutes away. SeaWorld close. Adjacent to a great restaurant. I couldn't recommend Winner's Circle more.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing Winners Circle! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your kitchen, the on site restaurants, and the service provided by our staff. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had a great time at Winner's Circle. The one bedroom fit our family of 4 nicely. We were able to make all our dinners on the BBQ and sit out on our ground level patio every night. It was perfect. Our unit was not remodeled, but it was still nice. Pool was nice and it was great to walk right out our door and hop into the pool.

Room Tip: as for a room on the ground floor facing the pool, if you have young kids who live in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freefly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing Winners Circle! We're so glad you enjoyed easy access to the pool area and the spacious room. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
0.4 km away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
3.3 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
4.9 km away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.6 km away
Wave Crest Resort
Wave Crest Resort
#6 of 7 in Del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winners Circle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winners Circle Resort

Property: Winners Circle Resort
Address: 550 Via De La Valle, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2459
Region: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winners Circle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners Circle Resort is a boutique style resort hotel located in the heart of Solana Beach, ideally located next to the Del Mar Race Track. Winners Circle Resort is just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Del Mar, CA and offers spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites complete with private patio or balcony. Ideally located near the Del Mar racetrack, 20 minutes north of the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and other attractions, the Winners Circle resort is perfectly situated to make the most out of your trip to San Diego. Winners Circle Resort offers free parking, free Wifi, and turnover Service. Additionally, this Del Mar Hotel features on site laundry, on site restaurants, a tennis club, a pool, a hot tub, a clubhouse complete with a pool table, a ping pong table, outdoor gas grills, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Winners Circle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner`s Circle Hotel Solana Beach
Winners Circle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing