We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy, cottage like rooms in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cozy, cottage like rooms in great location”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

i took my husband here for his birthday and had a wonderful get away. We did wine tasting in the day and came back to the hotel and had complimentary wine in the lobby while we talked about our day.
We stayed in room #100 which was a master suite. It was very nice but more like an apt as opposed to a large suite. It had a full kitchen and even washer and dryer. Not necessary for a one night stay.
Billy, at the hotel desk was very accommodating and helpful.
The free continental breakfast was ok, but what do you expect for "free'?
I would stay here again as it's very centrally located.
The one negative thing: The king size bed was very hard :(

Room Tip: ask for a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcolbyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    423
    229
    114
    58
See reviews for
239
627
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is well maintained and there is plenty of parking. We stayed the weekend of Jan. 27, 2012 and had a great time. I found that the cheapest price for this hotel was actually on the hotel website! We reserved a tower room with a fireplace. Our fireplace used wax logs and every night we used one the maids would place a new one each morning at no extra change.

Positives: Large spacious room, very clean, reasonably priced mini bar with fridge, perfect location (you can walk the entire town without even trying), the hotel has a nice outdoor seating area with an outdoor fireplace, the bar has happy hour from 4-6pm with $3 glasses of wine...oh and the room has windows that actually open which was very nice! The hotel is next door to Sevtap Winery's tasting room which is open late and usually has a band on Friday and Saturday nights

Negatives: The bed was not comfortable; it was lumpy and if one person moved slightly the whole bed would shake, it also squeaked. Since the roof of the buildings go to a point (dutch style building) and our room was in one of the points our bed didn't have a headboard which was really awkward when relaxing on the bed or trying to watch TV. The hotel has three floors but the elevator only goes up to the second floor, which means you have to take a flight of stairs to the third floor. If you have trouble with stairs like I do, I would recommend mentioning that when you make the reservation so you can get a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.

Overall I would stay again and I recommend it :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

First of all, Solvang has a small city center. I would guess that most hotels/inns are within walking distance from city center. We were able to walk to all the restaurants and tasting rooms along the main road within 15 minutes. The Wine Valley Inn is just steps from the main street so that was plus.

We stayed in a Village Junior Suite. The room was renovated. It has 2 flat screen televisions and a new bathroom. The room had a wood burning fireplace and the bed was springy but comfortable. However, the 3 large room windows opened to hallways or service areas - no view. But the grounds are cute and clean. For the value, it's a great deal. We booked under the "Holiday Cheer" package which included a bottle of Bridlewood wine and a free tasting. Just a note - you are given a voucher for the free bottle of wine and must redeem it at the winery tasting room which is about 20 minutes away. We assumed that the bottle of wine would be waiting for us at the room, but we were mistaken. The vineyard is beautiful and they had friendly staff so it was a trip worth making.

Another plus - this is a dog friendly inn. We didn't bring our dogs, but we will next time. The rooms are clean and I wouldn't have assumed that pets were allowed here since it was well-kept.

Just a tip - After 5pm, the city center stores begin to close and the city is very quiet and dark.

Room Tip: Location, Location, Location. Room 212 is right next to the elevator and next to the housekeeper st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalia97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
240 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Booked a room here and got their standard room at a good price, but it was right next to a stairwell. I asked the front desk if I could move away from that room to another and they upgraded me to a very nice room with fireplace, refrg, micro, and huge walk-in shower. The front desk people were fantastic. Nice wine happy hour with cheese and crackers. Nice continental breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit. Wish they would have had more local bakery danish, but you can't have everything. The only complaint and it is really minor, is they had the hardest pillows I have ever had in any hotel. The general manager told me she is trying to get them changed. But like I say it was minor. The other great thing was a winter special that knocked 20% off there rates so it was even a better deal. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: You want to be up off street level if possible or at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StonecreekArabians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Location: Solvang is tiny, so you can walk the whole town in 30 minutes, so it's centrally located, albeit sandwiched between a side street and a residential neighborhood. There's no vantage point in this town, so no hotel offers epic views.

The property: basically, a 50 year old place decorated Danish style. Tiny garden in the center of the property that has been nicely done, so that adds something to the place. The lobby resembles a slightly worn Hampton Inn, so it's not terrible. Cutely lit at night, so it captures the flavor and charm that is Solvang.

The rooms: paper thin walls and decorated with swap meet furniture, so it seemed odd. Poor color choices, a bedspread that marched nothing and old furniture. At the very least, new beds, lavish bedding, wallpaper resort style and designer toiletries and new furniture would help. Hire a decorator whose been to a Swissotel and do what they did with teak furniture and the like. We had a small room which was awful but I imagine the cottages are better. They look like doll houses and that's more quaint, so if you must stay here, go that route. With one window, no views and mismatched everything, it just screamed Motel 6. The bathroom was redone with a nice shower and fixtures. The sink and toilet were nicely upgraded do points for that. The faux fireplace doubles as a room heater and worked flawlessly so that was good. Could use a light in the shower and whomever is putting coats of paint on top of coats of paint needs to learn how to sparkle holes and edge properly.

Staff: typical small town, Hampton Inn style. Very forgettable. No host/hostess short of the overworked teenager at the front desk.

Overall: with slow tourism, it must be difficult to warrant the investment to upgrade the rooms, but since being here means you're a captive audience, all the hotels in this town suffer from the same handicap. The town is 100 years old and the hotels are 30-50 years old so you're not going to do much better in this town.

As I mentioned, redecorating the rooms with upscale bedding and furniture would go a long way but short of an interior gutting and major renovation, it is what it is: a tourist style, theme room-esque motel with potential to be much more.

If I come back, I'd like to see a full time host pouring wine, upscale bedding and a hosted evening wine tasting perhaps coupled with sample tastings of local fare to perhaps entice patrons to eat locally...we went to Buellton to eat...these little touches coupled with some room upgrades would let this place realize its potential affordably.

Overall, not terrible but certainly not exemplary. 2.5 stars from this world traveler.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CraigLieberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wine valley inn, General Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at Wine Valley Inn, I value your feedback and appreciate your attention to detail. As we move forward into a new year, I will certainly include some of your suggestion in amenity upgrade. I look forward to your return visit and would love to speak to you personally so I can arrange for your stay.

Sincerely
Sandra Hallmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My husband and I go to Solvang almost every year for our anniversary so this year we celebrated our 40th and had to spend it in one of our favorite cities. We have stayed at the Wine Valley Inn before and love the upgrades they have done to the rooms in the last few years. This time we had a room on the 2nd floor which was really cute, Room 212. It was two levels,when you walk in you have a couch,chair, a 32-37 in Flat screen TV and the bathroom. Love the shower in this room!. A walk in shower with no doors just a curtain and there's a heat lamp to warm the room on cold nights.(We just went on Jan 10). You go down two steps and there is a good size room with a king size bed a wood burning fireplace (they supply a log) and another big screen TV. We really liked the room but got a little chiily the first night and there was no extra blanket in the room,only a light bedspread. The only other issue we had was the guests in the room above us rose around 5:00 in the morning and we were awoken by the floor cracking with every step they took! It was so loud it truly woke us up.However, the problems were so minor we will definitely continue to stay at the Wine Valley Inn for the location and it's just a cute place to stay. Oh and the breakfast was really good. p.s. If you go in the winter they have winter rates that makes it very affordable. Try it. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Unless you like climbing stairs, avoid the 3rd floor rooms like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoosierHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is a nice, quiet inn that has very comfortable rooms, reasonable prices, a good Continental breakfast, and a good location. It's a pet-friendly hotel that offers a bed and bowls for your four-legged friends. I've stayed here a few times and I'm always happy to return.

Room Tip: Make sure to let the staff know well in advance if you have a pet so that they can accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaisaContento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.1 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
6.2 km away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing