We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Terrific gesture by hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Level Contributor
203 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Terrific gesture by hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We were on a tour and stopping in Solvang for one night. Solvang has one main road running through it and the hotel is at one end of that road. A lovely stroll along the road will see all the Dutch style shops/house and restaurant, very picturesque and very tidy. The night we stayed there was a massive power cut early evening and the whole town was in darkness, so no hot food available to order. The Hotel management thinking on their feet provided free water, coffee, bagels and muffins. A credit
We also enjoyed free internet whilst there and a complimentary breakfast in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    172
    102
    32
    30
See reviews for
143
170
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Enjoyed our short stay in Solvang ! This hotel had underground parking but easy access with stairs and elevator. The room was large and clean with microwave and fridge . We were on the street side .. some noise.. but not bad.. Great breakfast ! Easy walk to see the town.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rboydinlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here 2 nights, lots of plusses: great location to downtown Solvang, free underground parking, great breakfast (a step above the average buffet w/bisquits & gravy, bacon, pancakes, cinnamon rolls). Older hotel, our room was nothing fancy but good size and clean, w/ flat screen TV. Only complaint was that we had a street-facing view and, although nice to check out the action on the main drag, it was noisy for sleeping (but not impossible). Perfectly adequate hotel stay with reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Takemesomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed here for one night. The room is small but adequate. Very basic amenities, but room seemed clean and tidy. The building does seem older, but was renovated. Buffet type breakfast is provided downstairs with eggs, meat, coffee, pastries, juices and fruit. Not gourmet but ok to fill you up and send you on your way. I might stay here again, but would also want to try other hotels in the area. Perfectly fine if you're not into hotel ambiance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CotijaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We drove to Solvang to experience the Danish culture and shops. This hotel is convenient to the Solvang shopping district. We parked our car in the underground parking and did not need it until we left town the next day. The hotel with filled to capacity so the staff was very busy, but we did have an early complementary breakfast at a table shared with our friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarryErickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
853 reviews
476 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Nice hotel, good location, just as you reach Solvang from 101. Hotel is in 2 adjacent buildings both with underground parking. Hotel was full when we were there so underground parking was full but there are some spaces adjacent to each garage and adjacent to building B on the side street, as well as the short term checkin parking which we were told was ok to use at night. Room and bathroom were a good size and clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't take the breakfast but fresh fruit would be a nice addition. Would stay there again. Love Solvang!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylmar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Room 115 has bed bugs.

My husband and I stayed at Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Solvang from Tuesday, December 20, 2011 until Thursday, December 22, 2011.

On our second night, my husband and I were on the bed when I saw a bed bug on the pillow. After we were done screaming, I took the pillow to the lobby and showed it to the clerk at the counter, Jeremy. Jeremy was very apologetic and concerned. He said he would move us to another room and give us a discount and that he would call the manager. He said that the manager would be there the next morning, so we took the other room he moved us to, room 206. He gave us detergent and trash bags so that we could wash all of our clothes that might have been contaminated. My husband took a load of clothes to the laundry room and there was no hot water (hot temperatures are what kill bed bugs). Jeremy had to call maintenance to deal with the situation. It took hours and they were unable to fix it.

The next morning, my husband forgot his wallet in one of the bathrooms of the common area of the hotel. The girl at the front desk called so that we could pick it up (which was nice of her). When I picked up my husband's wallet at the lobby, I thanked the girl and asked if the manager was on staff because my husband and I would later like to discuss the previous night's issue with him. She said he was there.

So far, even though our vacation had been ruined by bed bugs, at least the staff seemed friendly. However, when we were about to check out, we asked her if we could talk to the manager. The manager on staff was Kamesh Nookala. As soon as he came out to talk to us he was on the defensive and started being rude. We thanked him for finding the wallet and began to explain to him that our first room had bed bugs and that we had issues with the washing machines and that our last night on vacation was ruined. He began to tell us that they were NOT bed bugs, but that they were roaches! I don't know if that was supposed to make us feel better, but I told him that we in fact identified them as bed bugs and even Jeremy, the clerk, identified them as bed bugs.

The manager, Kamesh Nookala, continued to deny that they were bed bugs. He said that since the hotel is in "the wilderness" a lot of bugs come in from outside. I said, "You weren't here last night. Maybe you've never had bed bugs before, but you have them now. Even Jeremy saw them." The girl at the counter stepped in and said that they were in fact roaches and that they are in the rooms right now because they are in heat having babies, but that they will be gone in February!

Kamesh reminded us that they had upgraded our room. We reminded him that Jeremy said we would get a discount and that we did not even ask for the upgraded room change; Jeremy just wanted us to be in a clean room. Kamesh said that he could not discount the room because then he would have to do that for everyone who saw bugs in their room! Then Kamesh said there was nothing more he could do for us.

I said, "We won't be staying here again."

My husband explained that he would be calling corporate and Kamesh said, "What more would you like me to do...I already found your wallet..."

I said, "That has nothing to do with it."

He said, "You could at least say thank you."

I said, "We already thanked you."

When my husband and I got in our car to leave, we immediately called the corporate office and spoke with Joyce, who was very friendly and apologetic. She said that it is standard procedure for the hotel to call corporate offices whenever a guest even SUSPECTS bed bugs and that they must close the room and call an exterminator, which was not done.

We are still awaiting this situation to be resolved because this just happened recently.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Letty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Solvang hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.3 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 km away
Kronborg Inn
Kronborg Inn
#7 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Property: Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Address: 1455 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing