We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Competition and This Place Fares Well!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was a convenient stop for us between UC Santa Cruz and a visit the following day to UC Santa Barbara. Convenient free underground parking. Pleasant staff and decent breakfast. I booked this property on Priceline and got a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed there for one night, March 30th. As we brought our stuff up to the room and went to lay down for an hour or so before going out for the night, it seemed pretty loud. There were kids being loud in the hallway and there were lots of slamming doors. It was afternoon, so, not a bid deal. We figured we'd be in for a terrible awakening by kids the next day, but that actually didn't happen.

The King bed was very comfortable and the linens were fresh and pillows were good. It was very comfortable overall. The shades drew tightly down so you could get a good night's rest with only a little bit of light coming in in the morning. There was a back patio which looked over a beautiful landscape behind the hotel. It was great to hear the birds and see that pretty view outside our balcony.

The eggs for breakfast were good and they had bacon, which is always a plus. the bacon was really super thin so it wasn't great, but, it was bacon nonetheless, so we'll leave it at that. The English Muffin seemed like it was a normal, out of the plastic bag muffin and i didn't even finish it, but they also had bagels and regular bread.

We asked if they had any tasting passes and they gave us two, which were both 2 for 1 tastings. A different hotel was able to give us free passes to many of the great wineries, but the HIE didn't have so much of that.

Overall, I wasn't unhappy with anything and would say it's a decent place to stay. I think I'd try to stay somewhere else though just to see what other places have to offer. As a matter of fact I did stay at the Hadsten House, which did have a great list of wineries that you can taste at, but that place wasn't great, so. I wouldn't stay there again, but, you can read my other review on that place.

Overally on HIE, thumbs up.

Room Tip: Grab a room in the back away from the street. Get a meadow view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

darogo,

Thank you for you recent stay, and providing feedback. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed the service and accommodations received. We hope to have the honor of serving you again the next time you are in Solvang.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We spent one night at the Holiday Inn in Solvang and we had no complaints. We got a handicap room so the shower was kind of a pain but the room was clean and very quiet. The staff was friendly. The bed was a little soft but I had no trouble sleeping. The breakfast was pretty good but Paula's down the street drew us in with their Danish pancakes.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back, not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandiegorabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Sandiegorabbit,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is an OK hotel if you want someplace decent to stay for a weekend or quick trip. The front staff was always friendly and greeted you. Our room was towards the back so it was quiet. The room and bathrooms were a good size for the price. The King size bed was decent but not great. The breakfast buffet was included and it was a good selection.
The bathroom did not have any counter space for our toiletries. Good size bathroom. Too bad they didn't make the counters bigger. For two people they only gave us 2 towels and they are thin. I should have asked for more towels.
The windows in the room were very dirty on the outside. I wish they would clean them so I could see the view of the lovely hills.
There was a microwave and small refrigerator in the room which is nice. However, we did not use the microwave at all. We were there for 2 days and we were packing up to check out. I smelled something funny. I finally found food that was left in the microwave. So the maid did not clean or check the microwave before we checked in nor when she cleaned our room. We did tell the front desk about this and they apologized.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlayitaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear PlayitaTravel,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the very good! Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly thank you for bringing the housekeeping concern to our attention as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already do. We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made. Thank you again for your review.

Lin S.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Before I write this I should mention Holiday Inn asked me to fill out a survey online which I did expressing my unhappiness and asked someone to contact me. No one ever did. They clearly do not value their customers or wish to right wrongs.I stayed their for one night on a girls trip. I booked 2 rooms and cancelled one 3 days before. I was thanked for calling and told it was taken care of and when we arrived on Saturday I still had a reservation for both rooms. I informed them I had cancelled the room days earlier and they said there was nothing they could do without a confirmation (which I didn't ask to get over the phone, my mistake, lesson learned). So we ended up with 6 beds for 5 people when we only needed 3. When I went to check out the next day I was overcharged 20 dollars for each room. This time I knew I had a confirmation and so I waited in a long line to use the slowest computer while all my friends had breakfast. They would not accept the confirmation with the quote I was given even though I showed it to them on my phone. The front desk person was very rude. I asked to speak to the manager on duty. There was a sign posting his name at the front desk. She chuckled and said he didn't work on Sundays but she could call him. She called and he didn't answer. She said without a manager's approval there was nothing she could do.... but there was no manager to speak to. Finally when I refused to leave she took the 20 dollars off each room (including the room I called to cancel, how kind). Another group we were with stayed across the street at the Kronberg inn and had a lovely experience. Oh the Spa at the Holiday in was filthy and had bugs. A light in our room would not turn off so they sent a guy with a ladder to unscrew the bulb because they couldn't fix it. We will be staying across the street from here on out. Breakfast was free and decent. The mattress was the best part.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tahnee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Tahnee m,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We were on a tour and stopping in Solvang for one night. Solvang has one main road running through it and the hotel is at one end of that road. A lovely stroll along the road will see all the Dutch style shops/house and restaurant, very picturesque and very tidy. The night we stayed there was a massive power cut early evening and the whole town was in darkness, so no hot food available to order. The Hotel management thinking on their feet provided free water, coffee, bagels and muffins. A credit
We also enjoyed free internet whilst there and a complimentary breakfast in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Enjoyed our short stay in Solvang ! This hotel had underground parking but easy access with stairs and elevator. The room was large and clean with microwave and fridge . We were on the street side .. some noise.. but not bad.. Great breakfast ! Easy walk to see the town.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rboydinlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
929 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
833 reviews
0.3 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
269 reviews
0.8 km away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
0.3 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range: $156 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing