We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
128
95
30
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
95
30
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish gardencontinental breakfastantique furnishingslovely gardenwithin walking distance of downtowngarden areaglass of winein townthe main dragpastriesking suitecharming hotelcoffee makerstayed one nightliving roomlocation is greatdefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 272 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2016

Very relaxing. Beautiful room. Gardens were pretty and inviting along with the waterfalls. Nice staff and upgraded my room. Breakfast had nice assortment. Next year I will stay here again. Peaceful atmosphere.

Room Tip: Get one in the front of hotel. Nice gardens to look at. Back rooms have a separate garden area which is very pretty.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2016

The room we stayed in was on the small side but was clean and had all the amenities.
We appreciated the continental breakfast, not much to it but still better than nothing!
All was well until neighbors checked in to the room next door. It was after 11PM and after a long day of traveling we just wanted to get some sleep, but their kids were loud and screaming outside running through the grounds waking us up and continuing with the noise in the room also. The walls are thin there so did not sleep that well. This happened in the morning also. I think everything would have warranted a better rating had it not been for our very noisy neighbors!!!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Irishgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

This is a fun little town to visit during the month of September. Sunny and warm weather and a good choice of restaurants and bakeries. Anyone who wants to try Danish pastries has enough choice to choose from. It is perfect for a one day trip or stop by on the way to Los Angeles. Only 3,5 hours drive along 101 Highway. There is one golf course one mile away and a casino.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank FranceGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay very much. It is a quaint hotel with refurbished rooms and lovely gardens with loads of tables and chairs to relax and enjoy some Californian fresh air. The hotel is about 2 blocks away to the theming of the Danish town and within easy walking distance. Everything worth seeing in Solvang can be reached by foot. The continental breakfast was sufficient but there are only a few tables, so you might either have to wait or take food out and eat in the garden under one of the apple trees. I would recommend and I would return if ever in Solvang again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank NauticalVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

We have been coming to this hotel for over 5 years, it was the only place we stayed in solvang. Last year we noticed the change in management and were present while they were changing the decor of the rooms, at the time we wondered if it would still be the same. Sadly of July 4th trip 2016 proved yes, the new management doesn't seem to care about guests and are so short sighted, I doubt they will be able to maintain their business. We showed up on the 4th at 2:10p, our room wasn't ready and the girl at the desk said to come back after 3pm, check in time ,we were ok with that and went to have lunch in town. At 3:20pm we came back and our room was still not ready, also we saw the maid was working on another room two doors down, the girl told us to come back in 45min and that's where it fell apart. I asked for a discount she said no, I asked to be updated to an available room she said no, I asked to speak to the manager mark, she said no,but called him, they had two rooms free but wouldnt upgrade because they were $159 more for the two nights. I said who cares, you don't have our room ready on a holiday, it's the common sense right thing to do, $159 is nothing and they can take a loss to make things right, nope, mark said no and the girl at the desk had a uncaring attitude and told us to come back, we walked up the street to hotel corque and booked a room at twice the price, we walked backed and asked to cancel our reservation, nope we had to pay, I asked her to call mark again, still no and I had to finally get upset, we wanted out, they refused to do the right thing, finally they issued a refund, said nothing, no apology, we left and won't ever be back. Mark and the girl at the desk should take a lesson or two in customer service, if the hotel screws up, do what's right even at a loss, we loved your hotel, cost doesn't matter to us, we stayed because of our memories there, we now very happy to pay more else where to be treated with respect. You lost a customer for life because u wouldn't fill an empty room and $159 loss, see the big picture, when u screw up, especially on a holiday, make it right, management just doesn't care, they respond to all their reviews on this site but can't treat a customer with respect. Your staff knew we were there at 2:10pm someone surely could have the room ready before 4pm, checkin is at 3pm. We will never be back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
13  Thank Jaball2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews