We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
47
61
26
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
47
61
26
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location antique furniture storage space two nights the main square noise plaza significance suitcases
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 170 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2021

The two big pluses for the Sonoma Hotel are location and character. It sits on the edge of the main square and gives easy access to many restaurants and bars.
It's an old building by American standards and the owners have retained its charm with sympathetic décor.
I would only recommend the hotel for a stay of one or two nights as its age impacts significantly on storage space. We had to live out of our suitcases; our room had a tiny wardrobe and no drawer storage.
There was a double size shower but the washbasin was in the corner of the bedroom which, unlike most modern hotels had a standard double bed rather than a queen or king size.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Room tip: Rooms at the back avoid noise from the road out front.
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 13, 2021 via mobile

Stayed one night. Great location. Liked historical perspective of hotel. Rooms are small but comfortable. Drawbacks included noise (which seemed to be pipes knocking) and cold shower (we were told after the fact that we should have run shower 5-10 min before using).

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 8, 2021

We found this hotel on Priceline for a great value for the area (still not cheap). Great location and awesome staff. It had a claw bathtub/shower, super comfortable bed and nice smelli8ng lavender soaps and soak for the bath. I felt like I was staying in a room at someone's house. It had antique furniture, plenty of room & privacy. The only thing that wasn't good was the parking. The hotel does not have designated parking, so you unload on the street & then park the car - which was no easy task. It is directly above The Girl and the Fig restaurant & right on the square. I would definitely stay here again. Very charming.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heatherlisa3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 27, 2021

We spent a night at the Sonoma Hotel last week and were very pleasantly surprised. It is located in the same building as the 'Girl and the Fig' restaurant right on the corner of the square. We had a room with 2 beds on the 2nd floor and the room was spacious, spotless and very comfortable. The ladies at the front desk during out check-in and check-out were very friendly. The hotel exudes old world charm and is perfectly located. Rates are great especially for this day and age! We will be back.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 22evaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 8, 2020 via mobile

This is a great place. Tim, the owner is super— so nice & helpful!!! He made us feel right at home. It’s a historic hotel so the rooms are all different. The 3 rooms that we booked were all unique and comfy. Great location right on Sonoma Plaza. We highly recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank gelatofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews