We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Review for the hotel...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Review for the hotel...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed at the El Dorado hotel for a friend's wedding a few weeks ago and it was completely pleasant. I had a great room - one that faced the square and had a large balcony/porch on the second floor. The room was small but delightful. It was clean, fresh, and had authentic terracotta tile floors which I loved. The bed wasn't the most comfortable in the world but the linens were nice. The bathroom was clean and bright - so bright that I had to take 2 of the light bulbs out of the wall fixture :) Nonetheless, there was plenty of closet space, the sun shined in beautifully and it was very peaceful. I didn't ask much of the front desk people but they were all very nice. It feels more like a B&B since they really know who is staying at the hotel, which was really nice. Its a great place to stay in a great location. However, the restaurant is a completely different story...but that's for another review. For lodging, definitely stay here!

Room Tip: I loved my room on the second floor, facing the square, with a large furnished balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WDCReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    117
    29
    26
    13
See reviews for
24
173
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gardnerville, NV
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Four of us dropped by for a late lunch/early dinner at 4 pm. We were seated at a table with one printed menu on it, no additional were offered. The waiter was unable to answer questions about menu items. A member of our party was excited to see Pliny the Elder on tap which he had been told good things about, but never tried. Three of us ordered it, an were served a disappointing lager. The waiter insisted it was the Pliny when questioned. $10 salads were OK, but small, and the Margherita Pizza was marginal with a couple of basil leaves, Pizza Hut quality mozzarella and tomato sauce. All for $100 including tax and a too generous tip. There are better options on the Sonoma Square.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyndwhystle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtomaro, Public Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Wyndwhystle,

Thank you for your posting. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We have reviewed your comments with our entire team and are looking into the issues you mentioned. It sounds like you dined in our Corner Cafe (not El Dorado Kitchen). We are in the process of converting this space to a full service restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner (much to the request of our guests and Sonoma residents). It sounds like you caught us right during our transition and unfortunately we still had some kinks to work out. I would love to invite you back into experience El Dorado again. Please let me know if you will be in the area and able to come back. You can reach me via email at jtomaro@eldoradosonoma.com.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your experience. We hope to welcome you back to El Dorado Hotel and Corner Cafe soon.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

The location of this hotel is great - right on the square in the center of Sonoma! Within walking distance of everything in the square. It's an older place but with current updates. Convenient little parking lot in the back worked well for us. Clean rooms, nice shower, balcony, and comfortable bed.

4 of us requested wakeup calls, and none of us got them - so be sure to set your alarms!

Fabulous food in the restaurant below as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomStax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We just ate here, but had the most perfectly cooked salmon I've ever had. I even ate the skin which i don't normally do, but it was cripsy, perfecty salted and just the hint of the underlying unctuous salmon fat. Also the Mexican Pot du Creme was fabulous!! Our best dinner in wine country.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Love this hotel, can't beat the location and the common areas are beautiful. Restaurant EDK is exceptional! Rooms are not luxurious but are very pleasant, most importantly there is a comfortable bed and pillows and the hotel is smart enough to give you a radio with nature sounds to help drown out the noises you will hear from (1) the plaza (2) the courtyard or (3) the restaurant and bar... this is the only drawback with the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Great location in the heart of Sonoma. Restaurant at the hotel was fantastic. The service was outstanding. The front desk was great at providing recommendations of wineries in the region that catered to my tastes.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturmaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The staff was welcoming and helpful. The Hotel is two stories and they carried our luggage to our room (no elevators). The hotel is very clean and rooms nicely, simply done...balconies with chair, should you want to sit and enjoy fresh air, overlooking the square.

There are two restaurants...for breakfast a cute coffee shop (ala Starbucks)....and the restaurant has a beautiful menu and the food was gourmet...delicious. There is a room with fireplace you can sit in before dinner and have your cocktail..they will serve you dinner there if you should want. Waiters were all so gracious.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sutro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
1.1 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.4 km away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.3 km away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 km away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Property: El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Address: 405 1st St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel And Kitchen
El Dorado Hotel Kitchen
El Dorado Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing