We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,195)
Filter reviews
1,195 results
Traveller rating
898
206
60
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
898
206
60
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower beautiful grounds wine country on site restaurant turn down service wine tasting sonoma square the entire staff large bathroom guest rooms a nice touch beautiful room king bed san francisco each morning the main square library
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,195 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2022 via mobile

Every detail at Mac Arthur Place is designed to help you relax and enjoy. It begins the moment you walk to reception, and doesn’t quit until, unfortunately, you leave. The food is on par with local restaurants, and that’s saying a lot. The room, our room, was like an oasis. Deep soaking tub with bath salts provided? Yes please. A fireplace and complimentary champagne? Sure. A bed that is so comfortable it’s like you’re being hugged? Check. And grounds that are stunning and feel like your forest bathing in the park. So wonderful. But the real gem here is the staff. They exceeded our expectations with grace and kindness, caring for all our needs without any airs. We’ve stayed at some of the best places in CA… and now we’ve stayed at the best.

Room tip: MP provides drinking water upon request. The local water is a bit chlorinated, so just ask for their water, delivered in eco-friendly boxes
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bayocum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dare Sturges, Marketing at MacArthur Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2022

Dear bayocum21,

We are positively beaming! Thank you so much for the kind, thoughtful, and generous review. We are so delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and appreciated every detail of your guestroom, the gardens, and the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to MacArthur Place in the near future.

Best,
Dare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2022

I've stayed here a couple of times and it's truly the perfect hotel. Well it's not the smallest, you would never know. Everything about it feels boutique and tasteful. Customer service is wonderful, food delicious, and all the common areas are so inviting. And the rooms are wonderful.

Date of stay: November 2022
1  Thank whitecheddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dare Sturges, Marketing at MacArthur Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2022

Dear whitecheddar
We are positively beaming! Thank you for the kind and thoughtful review. We are so appreciative of our wonderful repeat guests - we would not be here without your loyal support. Thank you again for the lovely review, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best,
Dare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2022

the entire visit was just great....rooms clean, food great, staff friendly and pleasant (especially Debra and Michael at the front desk as well as the valet parking attendants). one suggestion is that the porch lights need to be turned off at night and the light sine directly into the room/s.

Room tip: turn off porch lights at night
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 361dickc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dare Sturges, Marketing at MacArthur Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2022

Dear 361dickc,
Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review of your recent stay at MacArthur Place. We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience, and that our team played a part in making it memorable. And we appreciate your suggestion regarding the porch lights. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Sonoma!
Best,
Dare


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2022

MacArthur Place Hotel is a perfect reflection of Sonoma's casual atmosphere in a luxury garden hotel setting. This is an ideal location for a visit to the beautiful town Sonoma. MPH is within walking distance of Sonoma's Historic Plaza, shops, restaurants and wine tasting rooms. The staff is well trained, young and enthusiastic. The guestrooms are tastefully appointed, and Layla restaurant offers a creative wine country menu with a lively indoor/outdoor ambiance

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 393karas405
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dare Sturges, Marketing at MacArthur Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2022

Dear 393karas405,
Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review of your recent stay at MacArthur Place. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom, and our restaurant Layla, as well as our location to the Sonoma Plaza. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best,
Dare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2022

Everything wonderful; staff always pleasant and helpful, dining - Layla was excellent Sunday evening, location - always enjoy walking around grounds, room spacious and comfortable; I look forward to my return

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank K4201QRleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dare Sturges, Marketing at MacArthur Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2022

Dear K4201QRleo,
Your review is music to our ears! We're delighted that you enjoyed the grounds, our location, the guestroom, and your dining experience at Layla. We look forward to welcoming you back to MacArthur Place in the near future.
Best,
Dare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews