We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$249
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$309/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$342/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonoma Creek Inn(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Pueblo Inn(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cottage Inn & Spa(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,424)
Filter reviews
1,424 results
Traveller rating
679
386
218
99
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
386
218
99
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssante restaurantbathing ritualvalet staffgolf clubwater towerself parkingwine countrymain poolmain buildinglobby barjunior suitecomplimentary bottle of winehot springsbeautiful propertywood burning fireplacefitness centerresort fee
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,424 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you were built in 1927 you would need a bit of a facelift too! That is my feeling about the guest rooms. Granted we did not get one of the suites renovated in 2012 so I am referring to the typical rooms. Our fault for not booking earlier as it is/was Father’s Day weekend. We have stayed at many lovely Fairmont properties... the Orchid in Hawaii, The Fairmont Mayakoba in Riviera Maya and a number of other Fairmont Resorts. The Sonoma mission inn just falls a bit flat on the typical rooms. Dated Decor, and generally tired around the edges. The shower had so much potential but the dated tiles and telltale “pink mold” kind of negated the positives. Formica type countertops in the bathroom, green paint ( that makes everyone look bad) and an overall awkward layout screams time for a Makeover! Keep in mind you are paying premium $ even for the run of the mill room. But to be fair, the bed was comfy and the overall room felt clean.

The layout of the property meant that we had a nice view from our humble room (268). You don’t see the parking lots and shops that back up to the property from the room (at least our room) but perhaps the hotel could invest in landscaping to obscure those eyesores so that your visual experience is elevated from all vantage points. It is rather deflating to leave the manicured areas, turn the corner and go up stairs towards your room down the open hallway and see urban ugly. On the positive side the interior of the property is quite lovely with charm to spare. The public areas have clearly been remodeled and I sincerely hope this is the trajectory for the rest of the properties rooms and areas.

We had a marginal and typically pricey breakfast at Sante on Saturday morning. Extra charge for toast when you order eggs/ potatoes... what is up with that? And to be honest the breakfast service was equally marginal with cold coffee and no hope of getting that remedied. THANKFULLY Santes dinner service was very good and the food was very good. Especially the chocolate soufflé. The sommelier was very nice and professional as were all of the servers. We truly enjoyed dinner.

The valet car service was very good—quick and friendly and always offering water to take on the road.

If you are wondering, this place is clearly dog friendly. It was like a dog show! Large dogs, small dogs and everything in between. I don’t know if they have specific rooms set aside for canine guests and their humans.

Overall this was a good weekend. I suppose I just had higher expectations for the room—. especially since we specifically chose Sonoma mission inn over a number of similarly priced properties that I know from personal experience have better accommodations. Would I stay here again— possibly if it was in a updated room

Room Tip: Get a remodeled room
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dmalw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSMIGuestRelations, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We very much appreciate your comments and feedback, as they are our primary way of measuring whether or not we are providing the caliber of hospitality you deserve. It seems we fell short for you on this visit in some areas and I would like to sincerely apologize. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Colleen Valenti
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I'm going to be very honest here. The price is high and there is a strong effort to make the hotel fit the price. However, there are a few things that just make it fall short. The location of the property is not ideal for experiencing the the surrounding beauty of Sonoma county. The overall age of the hotel is starting to show. Don't book a room on bottom floor unless you like tap dancing on the ceiling. Spending almost $100 for breakfast for 3 even though it was excellent is just a little pricey. The good things are: The activity list is one of the best for a resort fee. The drivers will take you anywhere. The staff are some of the best around. The beauty of the onsite property was a very relaxing environment and gives you a resort feel.

Room Tip: don't pick a room on the bottom floor because of the noise but you do get a nice relaxing patio on bottom floor
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pbizub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSMIGuestRelations, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as it is our primary way of measuring whether or not we are providing the caliber of hospitality you deserve. It seems we fell short for you in some areas on this visit and I would like to sincerely apologize. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Colleen Valenti
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night in this magnificent historical property on an Insight Tour. The rooms are spacious and with excellent outlooks. The pool is fed from mineral springs and is big enough to do laps if you are that way inclined. There are charging points for electric vehicles and the staff are very obliging. Breakfast in Sante is delicious but is only a la carte. There is a fire pit for sitting and talking at night. All in all a marvellous destination in a beautiful valley.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSMIGuestRelations, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Colleen Valenti
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

I was here for a 3 day business conference. The staff are welcoming and helpful and quickly oriented me to the many amenities of the facility. Rooms are well appointed with complimentary wine and a very comfortable bed. The grounds are well manicured, the fitness facility is clean and has quality equipment. Food and drink were excellent and the campus is close to a walkable downtown and in close proximity to some of the finest wine in the world. Late afternoon wine tastings were informative and thoughtful. This is a great venue with nice people.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank metalknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSMIGuestRelations, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn! Thank you for your kind compliments; we do hope to have to honor to welcome you back again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Colleen Valenti
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2018

Recently booked the Mission Inn by Fairmont for a romantic birthday weekend over Memorial Day. They required a 3 night minimum, for which I understand, but were less than tolerable when I had a last minute medical emergency that required me to miss the first day of the stay. They were completely unapologetic, despite already having a completely paid-for reservation in advance. In addition to not being willing to refund me a night (for which I have a legitimate trip to the doctor), they gave little reverence to the "little things" that a luxury hotel should provide for their guests in this unfortunate circumstance. Generally, I give places like this a pass when customer service is overlooked, but this time, and for this particular reason, I am quite disappointed. The charges just kept coming, including spa access fees, parking fees and others. Not only did they make an extra $500 for the first night which was completely unused by me, they also made additional money for the small items where they could have made a difference. I will not be returning to this venue.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank PartywithMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSMIGuestRelations, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am so sorry that you had a disappointing experience at our resort. We certainly aim to provide a wonderfully memorable experience and I sincerely regret that we did not succeed for you this visit. I am sorry to hear that you won't be returning. If there is anything that we may assist with, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

Sincerely,

Colleen Valenti
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews