We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

It was so great to be back again at this place of style, loving care and tranquility. It's the perfect hideaway right in the middle of beautiful Sonoma county, with the town plaza right around the corner. Everything is taken care of so well and it's in the small details where the difference is being made, from the brilliant pastries for breakfast to the bottle of local wine and cheeses that the lovely owner Faye brought us when we arrived hungry, a bit tired and jet-lagged... Should we mention the courtyard with that incredible fireplace, right from another world? Why not, we enjoyed it all just as much as the previous time and no doubt we will be back, sooner or later.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonT58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed here over a holiday weekend yet it was quiet and pleasant. The owner is very friendly and greeted us by name. The best things about the inn is its proximity to the plaza in Sonoma. We walked to dinner, drinks, coffee, shopping and it was fun and relaxing. It's also convenient to get to Old Winery Road to visit wineries for tastings, and to access Hwy 12 to go to other parts of wine country. Our room was the south suite, and I loved the open living room and gas fireplace. The mornings were cool and it was nice to hop out of bed and switch on the double-sided fireplace, very cozy. The bathroom is beautifully tiled, but really needs a glass partition so you can properly shower. That and the room overheating a bit due to central heat were the only elements that gave me pause, but opening the door to the private patio solved the heat issue! The most romantic and fun thing was waking up to a basket hanging on a hook outside your door at 8am sharp, with fresh pastries from a local bakery. So much better than having to make conversation with strangers in a common room. Lots of special touches here, from the glass containers of milk, juice and water in the fridge to cereal, coffee and fresh fruit at your small table that was beautifully set for breakfast. We really liked the courtyard outside our room as well as the Sanctuary in the other building, which featured a striking firepit and waterfall. Our friend stayed in the courtyard room, and liked it a lot (beautifully tiled bath as well). Lots of romantic touches but very comfortable and homey at the same time. On our last night, we had a wine country picnic in our living room and watched the Golden Globes with our friend; it felt like being at someone's home. What more can you ask for when traveling? Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is a cute inn that is walking distance to the center of town. You can park car and then walk to town and go the restaurants and wineries. The inn's rooms are all different. We stayed in the mission room which has a lot of space. Some of the furnishings in the room could be updated though. The spa was a wonderful experience. Faye the owner is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Spent a 3-night weekend. Lovely rooms with jacuzzi, fireplace. Enjoyed central courtyard with fireplace. Owner very friendly and accommodating. Great location, just 1 block from Sonoma town square. Quiet. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Mission and Chapel Suites were lovely. Great location, 1 block from square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Cottage Inn and Spa for our anniversary in December and we could not have had a better time. The inn is charming and centrally located within walking distance to the square, great restaurants and hiking trails. Our room was very cozy and very clean with a fireplace and a large private patio. The next morning my husband mentioned to the owner, Faye, that he would like the heat adjusted upward a bit in our room. Kaye said she would do something better and had our things moved into a huge suite (The Mission Suite) while we were out for a walk. We were very impressed with the owner's friendliness and concern for our comfort. We are planning another visit thus year and will be bringing 2 other couples. A real gem.

Room Tip: The Mission Suite is extremely large with 2 large patios and a complete kitchen. Nicely decorated a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin6650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for an anniversary trip and to attend the annual Holiday in Carneros wine tasting event. The owner, Faye, is just lovely and kind, and greets you when you arrive. The room was intimate, cozy, and well stocked with coffee, cereal, etc., and the staff provides some bakery treats outside your door in the morning. The common area is wonderful for relaxing by the fire pit and having a glass of wine or prosecco.The hotel is also conveniently located - just a block or so from the Sonoma square. We would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckycaligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We just spent the weekend in Wine Country and stayed at the Cottage Inn. We had a wonderful experience. The room was VERY comfortable and clean. The place is very quite but just 2 minutes walk from the main square in Sonoma. The people that work there are very friendly. I would definitely recommend this place if you are in Sonoma/ Wine Country for the night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mission Suite and it was gorgeous, not sure about the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camilla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
1.2 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.7 km away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.6 km away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
0.4 km away
An Inn 2 Remember
An Inn 2 Remember
#2 of 11 in Sonoma
543 reviews
3.4 km away
Sonoma Creek Inn
Sonoma Creek Inn
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn & Spa

Address: 310 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-5705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range: $267 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block from Sonoma’s quaint town square, step into The Cottage Inn &Spa and be transformed by its peaceful courtyards and award-winning Mediterranean architecture. Luxury private suites feature cathedral ceilings, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and king beds. A Zen Garden Spa offers therapeutic couples massage treatments in a calming atmosphere. Complimentary wine tasting passes to many Sonoma Valley wineries, WIFI and health club privileges are included. Experience romance and relaxation in one of the most charming areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cottage Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Sonoma
The Cottage Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing