We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend at the Cottage Inn & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The quality of the room, the food provided from the beginning and basket of fresh baked goods hanging outside the door in the morning, the beautiful courtyard, the complete pass to all local wine tasting, and above all else - the wonderful staff who not only make you feel instantly welcome and relaxed - but are immediately helpful with any question. The net effect is complete relaxation and enjoyment - so relaxed that when we woke up in the morning, late for us, and had breakfast, we found ourselves napping again, which was wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here after a cruise docking in San Francisco...drove up for a couple of days prior to flight home. Owner Fay was very welcoming, room was comfortable and clean....tv was very small (especially for super bowl) and far from bed. Breakfast was plentiful and the fresh pastries at ones door a really nice touch. Best of all of was location...quiet street to stroll into town! Close to good restaurants, shops and free wine tastings.
We were even treated to fresh bake goods on the morning of our early checkout at 5:30 am!
( a much needed surprise for the drive back to the airport)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We loved this Inn. The staff were just wonderful as everyone previously mentions. My husband was ill one of the days we stayed there and Gloria made him tea. They did small things throughout our stay to make it more special and that made all the difference. We also loved the location of the hotel right near the square but we were happy not to be right on the square. We wanted a quiet location, which this was. My only complaint was the suite that we chose to stay in. We loved the jacuzzi, the fireplace and all of the amenities. However, our suite (the chapel suite) was located in such a way that we could hear people out by the fountain courtyard as well as people checking in at the front window. It rarely disturbed us but you might take the location of the suite you choose into consideration before you settle on one.

Tip: There is a great walking/biking path that takes you to Sebastiani Winery. It is just to the right of the Cottage Inn & Spa when you walk onto the street. There are also some great wine tasting rooms right on the square you can walk to. We liked Roessler. Charles Creek and Adobe Road.

Room Tip: I would not choose the Chapel Suite again. Other rooms seemed to be more spacious and in better loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizVandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Cottage Inn and Spa was a wonderful experience. We had our room upgraded to the nicest room in the place. The staff and owner are extremely nice and helpful, without being intrusive at all. My lone regret is we didn't get there sooner or stay longer. It was an easy 2 minute walk to town where we had courtesy Wine tastings from the Cottage Inn. We got excellent recommendations from the staff for dinner and lunch. Our room was beautiful with nice soft linens. The morning basket of baked goods went well with the great coffee supplied. Our fireplace was nice and easy to work and the 2 person jetted tub, very relaxing after a few Wine tasting. We recommend it without question and it will be our 1st stop in California next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERT O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

What a lovely escape to a warm, serene "experience"! We loved the TLC, comfort of the fireplace, private patio, incredible bed with jetted tub close by, and beautiful breakfast. We would highly recommend this little place in Heaven!

Gail and Chris

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 727Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on a long weekend in November. It was just after harvest, and the chaos had died down a bit in wine country. The weather was beautiful. We reserved the East Suite which was lovely. Although if I had to do it again, I probably would not be as intrigued by the private patio, as we didn't use it once.

The breakfast and the coffee left every morning were more than adequate. There were several options for cereal, lots of fresh fruit and a basket of pastries left on your door every morning. The coffee was local and quite good, much better than I was expecting to be honest.

The service is as everyone else has described, personal, friendly and not too intrusive.

The location is perfect, just off the Sonoma square, to where it's quiet at night, but you are a short walk from all the shops, restaurants and wine tasting rooms. We would not hesitate to book this place again. Tripadvisor you continue to deliver in your recommendations!

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit on the tight side. The East Suite was lovely for 2 people, wouldn't want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATLWanderLust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This is my favorite place to stay in Sonoma/Napa area. The property is elegant, perfectly maintained, quiet and in walking distance to restaurants and wineries. And, the bed in the North Suite is extremely comfortable. We did not want to check out!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy_sf451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
1.2 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.6 km away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1.7 km away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.4 km away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
207 reviews
10.2 km away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn & Spa

Address: 310 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-5705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range: $277 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block from Sonoma’s quaint town square, step into The Cottage Inn &Spa and be transformed by its peaceful courtyards and award-winning Mediterranean architecture. Luxury private suites feature cathedral ceilings, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and king beds. A Zen Garden Spa offers therapeutic couples massage treatments in a calming atmosphere. Complimentary wine tasting passes to many Sonoma Valley wineries, WIFI and health club privileges are included. Experience romance and relaxation in one of the most charming areas of the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Sonoma
The Cottage Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing