We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Gundlach Bundschu Winery
from US$399.00
More Info
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
210
81
30
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
81
30
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gun bun tasting room swiss army gewürztraminer cave tour wine tasting great wine fun tasting pretty grounds beautiful grounds wine club staff was friendly picnic tables great history private tasting wine making first stop
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This winery was recommended by several other wineries we enjoyed visiting. It's right next to Scribe - and although we didn't visit Scribe, the two sound as if they're very disparate experiences (we heard awful things about Scribe). Gundlach Bundschu reminds me of wine tasting 15 years ago (although it's not free!). Wine was poured inside an old stone room that doubles as a gift shop (not my favorite kind of tasting room), but the rest of the grounds were very attractive and there's a lot of seating outside, where you're welcome to take your tastings. The men and women pouring were informative, relaxed and lots of fun. The crowd was similar. We enjoyed the wines, but not as much as some other wineries in Sonoma (Three Sticks, for example). But overall it was a very good experience and I would recommend it to anyone that doesn't want to drink only pinots or only cabs (they pour a lot of different varietals).

Thank mpaine2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We reserved our tasting for the courtyard. It is such a beautiful place to sit and enjoy our wine. We sat at a table under an umbrella over looking the water. Our server, Nora, was very knowledgeable about the history of Gundlach Bundschu and the wine. They also have music venues on the property. We are now wine club members and are looking forward to our next visit along with listening to some music.

Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice terrace shaded by olive trees and overlooking the pond.
Great service and a really nice selection of wines, including a delicious tempranillo. Nice snacks for sale to complement the wines.
One of the few places we went that had a good selection of merchandise and the quality looked really good.
Would love to come back here and chill out with a bottle of G&B and a picnic.

Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The delicious wine, especially the Tempernilo wine! The staff is the friendliest and most knowledgeable about the family, the property and the wines! A definite must see in Sonoma. The best kept secret.

Thank marilu93030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a fun tasting. Energetic vibe and fun wines. We purchased several bottles and have encouraged friends to visit.

1  Thank Stephen1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Gun Bun is a must! And splurging for a tasting outside is a must! The inside tasting is very crowded and loud. There's nothing like enjoying the oldest family vineyard in the region out in the sun with fantastic wines (my faves of Sonoma) and relaxation. They even had a dj, but note the music was not very loud at all - just a nice soft backdrop. The Donkey Bar has first-come, first-served tables as well, but those were clearly taken first thing and not worth relying on. Worst case, there's picnic tables you can snag further up the property, still with great views!

Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

LOVE this place. The service was amazing, very friendly staff, great view and the rose was delicious. We can't wait to come back!

Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We went to "Gun Bun" on our Segway tour. We had a picnic lunch on their patio overlooking a large pond. It is a lovely setting. (Note: food must be brought in, but that is refreshing after several days of salads and cheese plates offered at several of the wineries.) Even though it was high season in wine country, mid-week there were plenty of picnic tables. We did the flight tasting, and felt the wine was excellent. The tasting room was crowded, but someone helped us immediately. Very personable and attentive staff. The atmosphere is laid back and unassuming, which is also refreshing. The winery has a better gift shop than most. History is one of the main draws and is interesting, even for those who are not history buffs. We didn't take a winery tour, but we were able to go into the aging caves because we were on the Segway tour. They are beautiful, and a great place for photos. The vineyards coming into Gunlach Bundschu are picture perfect, so plenty of photo ops. This winery is well worth a visit!

Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Great afternoon fun for a wine flight. Choose a good weather day, and enjoy the weather be and scenery!

Thank TravelAgentWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

A really nice place.
Very informative tour with just the right amount if wine so you could appreciate it as we went round.

We learned a lot about the history and about wine making.

We are not wine buffs ( we usually buy it from lidl ) but it tasted great even though it was pricey.

The guide was non pushy and we really enjoyed it

1  Thank racoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews