We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Caves a must to see! ”

Gundlach Bundschu Winery
Ranked #7 of 96 things to do in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: As the oldest family-owned winery in California, we specialize in making distinctive estate-grown wines and sharing them and our property in a warm, fun, unpretentious manner.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed May 4, 2018 via mobile

We toured the wine caves with Cat as our guide. She was very knowledgeable and entertaining. This is the oldest family owned winery in the United States. The history behind it was so interesting- and the wine is outstanding. We joined the wine club as well as bought a couple bottles to enjoy while in California.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank bymess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gun bun"
in 26 reviews
"tasting room"
in 55 reviews
"swiss army"
in 4 reviews
"cave tour"
in 14 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 31 reviews
"great wine"
in 22 reviews
"fun tasting"
in 6 reviews
"pretty grounds"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 14 reviews
"picnic area"
in 7 reviews
"gift shop"
in 10 reviews
"wine club"
in 12 reviews
"staff was friendly"
in 5 reviews
"great history"
in 4 reviews
"sonoma square"
in 7 reviews
"private tasting"
in 5 reviews
"off the beaten path"
in 5 reviews
Filter

34 - 38 of 357 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2018 via mobile

We were there for wine tasting. Very nace place with really good service and delicious wine. We can just recommend this wineyard

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank editasmolarova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2018 via mobile

Out of all of our tastings, from $10. on up this one was our least favorite. It’s a beautiful setting but the young man we had pouring gave little or no information on the winery or wines. The pours were little more than a mouthful and $20 pp for 5 tastings that they choose. With tax and a gratuity charge on the bill it was $47.25 per couple. Other wineries gave amazing walking tours, embarking info on the history of the family’s and vineyards and charged $10/$15. No gratuity added on. Check out Jacuzzi for a $10. Tasting with olive oils and even a chocolate wine shot! Or Cline or Ledson for a historical visit and much more generous pours with friendly staff!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank EmptyNesters6257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

Very nice small family owned winery. The person pouring our tasting was very nice & knowledgable of wine making & the history of this winery.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 156richh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

We stopped here on our recent Segway tour and were delighted that this was on our tour for the day. Katherine in the tasting room was extremely friendly and knowledgeable and was more than happy to talk about the six generations of family who run the winery as well as the recent fires. The wines are delicious and the setting is beautiful. Will definitely return on my next trip to Sonoma!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ags35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gundlach Bundschu Winery also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Gundlach Bundschu Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing