We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overall one of the best hotel stays in recent memory” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall one of the best hotel stays in recent memory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel for five nights; overall the stay was very good--the suite is very large and I liked the fact that it had a sofa, dining table, and full kitchen (although I did not cook). My room was next to the duck pond and they were not noisy at all. Parking was very easy and I could park next to my suite. The breakfast buffet exceeded my expectations as they had different hot breakfast items everyday and a good variety of other items. Only negative thing is that although there was a nice 37" LCD TV in my suite, it was standard definition cable service (not HDTV)--I have been spoiled from watching over-the-air broadcast HDTV since early 2009, so when I watch standard definition TV I was quite dissapointed. However, I am not sure if this is a hotel industry standard to only offer standard definition TV. The free WiFi was good (maybe only one time it was slow during the 7 PM hour).

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor suite if u have big luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSCOguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    67
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
12
9
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

After experiencing the non-servicing side of US hospitality over the past few trips, Residence Inn was a pleasant surprise. Based on the long-stay service apartment model, the service is equivalent to a full-service hotel. Asst Manager James and Mgr David have a great team supporting them to make every guest feel at home. Even the old rooms are quite comfy and the amenities great. They provided daily housekeeping and free breakfast, at the same cost as other places without this. Moreover, every employee was always smiling and ready to help -- even at 10PM in the night. The quacking of ducks at a nearby lake was a pleasant distraction. Loved my stay and would love to come back here anytime. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidooshak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

I like the Residence Inn mainly because when I am travelling I like to be able to cook my own meals. However I must say that the Residence Inns across the country need a serious update to the decor and ameneties. I mean how long have they been using this same style plates...as long as I can remember! Also I didn't even know they still made tube TVs. Time to get some flat-screens in with a decent entertainment system. In my particular room the heat/aircon was very loud and made it difficult to sleep...my noise cancelling headphones came in handy.

The staff here though are very nice and helpful, can't complain about that at all. The breakfast and happy hour are also nice.

So overall it's an okay place to stay if you like haivng some of the comforts of home...but it is severe need of an update to bring it into 2010.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mm14852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

Pros:
- Good value for money
- Good breakfast
- Spacious apartments
- Great kitchen, lots of appliances and tools
- Good Wifi and other services
Cons:
- Not a great location
- Don't move at night, especially up on the mezzanine, it's all squeaky and you will wake up all the other guests in the rooms around you

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank izzy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

I was there for business for long time like for 2 months. We booked the extended stay. Being an Indian I had problem eating salads, burgers and pizzas daily. But the hotel provided us with a small kitchen and utensils to cook. SO after few days I started to prepare Indian food with their help. The complimentary breakfast that they provided has soo many varieties from juices, to frouts, mufins etc. The jacuzi that was there was really very relaxing in weekends. swiming pool was crowded though in weekends but that too maintained well. The reception was very friendly. Well! in my whole stay I liked the place and people and will next time I travel Sanjose I will book this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kondabhavanapatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

I will say that the rooms were clean. The location was good for ease of travel to conduct business. The bathrooms were nice and the kitchen was a plus.

However, my room backed up right to the highway. While I had a suite that had a loft on the upper floor, the noise barriers were nil. The room layouts were very weird and it was quite outdated in the way it was decorated and maintained. Also, the quality of the televisions were terrible. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone that needs quiet time when they sleep.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

This is an older property that is in need of updating. Carpeting is so dirty that the soles of your feet will be black if you walk barefoot in the room. Internet is free but doesn't always work. They actually have so many problems with their internet service that they have a 800 number to call for help!!! If you are going to need to do work on your laptop, stay somewhere else where the internet works!!!

Staff will go the extra mile for you. The breakfast is good and constantly replenished.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H5familytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
0.8 km away
Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley II
0.4 km away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
#10 of 33 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.3 km away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#6 of 33 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
2.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
2.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 33 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I

Property: Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I
Address: 750 Lakeway Dr, Sunnyvale, CA 94085-4011
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley i Hotel Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing