We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdoor Entrances!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outdoor Entrances!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Loved the apartment style development here with outside entrances. Very convenient to San Jose, Palo Alto, Google, et.al.
45 min. to Fisherman's Wharf, 1 1/2 hrs to Napa or Carmel, voila!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjames2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    69
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
28
12
10
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
138 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Me and my family (wife and 3 kids) got a penthouse suite for 12 nights. Spacious accommodation, high quality. Good value too. Here are the best things about this hotel;
- very friendly and helpful staff
- a well-maintained pool and hot tub area
- a badminton court / baseball pitching / basketball court
- easy parking
- great free WiFi
But here's THE best thing;
- the breakfasts are amazing, and free. Unparalleled in terms of choice and quality, and I have stayed in MANY hotels
Oh, and the evening meals are amazing, and free! 4 nights a week, there is free hot food and alcoholic beverages.
Great access too to the 101 and Sunnyvale / San Jose area.
Thank you to the staff for making our stay so good, we will be back.
The Hughes family

Room Tip: Penthouse suites are great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We went for a 15 day family holiday to US in April-May 2011. We were a group of 6 adults (including 4 senior citizens) and a 2 year old baby. I chose this hotel becuase one of my friends stay in Sunnyvale and this was the closet hotel with a kitchen near his place. We wanted a kitchen - we are pure vegetarians from India.

The hotel has been recently renovated. The rooms are fantastic with all new beds and furniture. Full kitchen with utensils etc. Free internet and very good speed. There is a small pond with ducks. It looks more like a resort than a hotel.

Breakfast is included in the price and i must say that it was the best breakfast at any Reidence Inn i have stayed (I have stayed at 4). They have evening snacks on 4 evenings (all of weekdays) and i think you won't need a dinner afetr that.

Caltrain station (Lawrence) is about 2 miles away. Overall, i think this hotel is great value for money but one must have a car.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kajain77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

I havent stayed at a Residence Inn in a while and what a pleasant surprise.
The room was clean and quiet and close to the lobby.
The kitchenette was very helpful to have.

I loved the FREE breakfast and the food was amazing.. and I am pretty picky. For example this morning the breakfast area had all the regular continental stuff, plus a ton of hot food ; 2 different kinds of scrambled eggs, french toast, eggs bennie, potatoes, etc..... they even had paper plates and cups so you can take stuff back to your room.


after 6 pm, they have free wine/beer and a buffet as well. so far this week, we had a mexican theme, indian theme, and tonight was a american theme.The manager was serving the drinks at dinner and was very personable and entertaining.

the free internet was pretty snappy and worked well for my voip/skype calls.

the only thing worth commenting on was that it was pretty tuff getting a parking spot and the dining area filled up pretty fast with limited seating.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Churchill_Fortunato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel for five nights; overall the stay was very good--the suite is very large and I liked the fact that it had a sofa, dining table, and full kitchen (although I did not cook). My room was next to the duck pond and they were not noisy at all. Parking was very easy and I could park next to my suite. The breakfast buffet exceeded my expectations as they had different hot breakfast items everyday and a good variety of other items. Only negative thing is that although there was a nice 37" LCD TV in my suite, it was standard definition cable service (not HDTV)--I have been spoiled from watching over-the-air broadcast HDTV since early 2009, so when I watch standard definition TV I was quite dissapointed. However, I am not sure if this is a hotel industry standard to only offer standard definition TV. The free WiFi was good (maybe only one time it was slow during the 7 PM hour).

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor suite if u have big luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSCOguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

After experiencing the non-servicing side of US hospitality over the past few trips, Residence Inn was a pleasant surprise. Based on the long-stay service apartment model, the service is equivalent to a full-service hotel. Asst Manager James and Mgr David have a great team supporting them to make every guest feel at home. Even the old rooms are quite comfy and the amenities great. They provided daily housekeeping and free breakfast, at the same cost as other places without this. Moreover, every employee was always smiling and ready to help -- even at 10PM in the night. The quacking of ducks at a nearby lake was a pleasant distraction. Loved my stay and would love to come back here anytime. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidooshak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

I like the Residence Inn mainly because when I am travelling I like to be able to cook my own meals. However I must say that the Residence Inns across the country need a serious update to the decor and ameneties. I mean how long have they been using this same style plates...as long as I can remember! Also I didn't even know they still made tube TVs. Time to get some flat-screens in with a decent entertainment system. In my particular room the heat/aircon was very loud and made it difficult to sleep...my noise cancelling headphones came in handy.

The staff here though are very nice and helpful, can't complain about that at all. The breakfast and happy hour are also nice.

So overall it's an okay place to stay if you like haivng some of the comforts of home...but it is severe need of an update to bring it into 2010.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mm14852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
0.8 km away
Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley II
0.4 km away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
5.2 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
1.9 km away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
1.3 km away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#6 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I

Property: Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I
Address: 750 Lakeway Drive, Sunnyvale, CA 94085-4011
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sunnyvale Silicon Valley i Hotel Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing