We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel for a business trip to the Sunnyvale/Mountain View area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
446 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 813 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a business trip to the Sunnyvale/Mountain View area.”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Country Inn and Suites. Both times have been for business trips. For the second stay, I did look at other properties, but Country Inn provided the best rate and was also the most convenient location to where my business meetings were taking place.

This is a nice place; clean and well maintained. The king bed room that I had on the third floor was in good shape and well appointed. There was a microwave and small refrigerator in the room and a nice size flatscreen TV. I don’t watch much TV, but one night when I turned it on the cable was out (I just turned it off and didn’t worry about it for the rest of the night...like I said, I don’t watch much TV; I did call the next night and an “engineer” was dispatched and resolved the problem). Very comfortable and clean room. Free wifi in the room is a big plus. No issues connecting to the wifi/internet.

As for amenities that I did take advantage of, there is an exercise room, but it is only open from 6:00 AM to 10:00 PM. The first morning that I was there, I went down at 4:00 and the room was open, so I got in my normal time on the treadmill. The next morning, the door was locked so I asked at the front desk and was told that the reason for the 6:00 AM start time was that there are guest rooms around the exercise center and they do not want to disturb the guests. Makes sense. I hope I did not wake anyone up when I got in early!

There is also a free breakfast buffet starting at 6:00 AM. Not and extensive spread, but still a decent mix of hot and cold foods. They also serve lunch and dinner (I only ate breakfast at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food or service).

This trip I did notice more noise from the adjoining rooms and the hallway. Not enough to be a real disturbance, but noticeable. My room did have a door connecting with the next room, and that might have been part of the noise issue.

As for the location, it is convenient to the highway, but far enough away that the road noise is not an issue. I did hear the traffic a little when sitting at the desk by the window, but not from the bed. There are no restaurants very near the hotel (other than the small one in the hotel). But there are several areas with dining options not too far away. We went to historic Murphy Avenue in Sunnyvale two nights during the stay where there is a variety of options; also just a short drive to Mountain View where there are even more dining options and shops..

Overall, I had a good stay. For me the only issue was the hours on the fitness center, but that was not too big of a concern. I will certainly consider staying at the Country Inn during future travels to the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
We sincerely thank you for the wonderful feedback. It's comments such as yours that truly help us improve our service for you, our valued guest. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and you were able to explore beautiful Sunnyvale and visited the historic Murphy Avenue, our lively downtown strip with delicious restaurants and fun nightlife. Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon at the Country Inn & Suites Sunnyvale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    263
    74
    29
    7
See reviews for
185
99
43
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I've stayed at the Country Inns and Suites in Sunnyvale, CA at least 20 times and have had a very good stay almost every time. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and the included breakfast is pretty good. I would say the property is a little older but is well maintained. The pool is too small, but at least it's heated all year round. I certainly plan to stay there again. They have free WiFi and the business center, while small, is a convenient place to print a map or document.

I've stayed in this hotel both as a solo business traveler and with my family.

Room Tip: The suites are nice but generally have only one bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine V, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for all the kind words. We actually just finished phase one of our renovations/room refresh(guestrooms,lobby, bar and meeting space area) We look forward to see again soon on your future travel in the Silicon Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I chose Country Inns and Suites over several other hotels in the area and I am glad I did. The hotel was a small gem. The property is attractive and very clean looking. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were modern, clean and just very nice. The hotel was also close to the highway. The breakfast bar was great and the staff also accommodated our needs. I have no complaints, it you are in the area for business or pleasure, this should be your choice.

Room Tip: Based on reading the reviews of the other hotels in the area, I chose Country Inns and Suites. I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine V, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
We appreciate your great feedback and we thank you for choosing us over the competition! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is one of the best I have ever stayed. The front desk is efficient and friendly. And the whole hotel is smoke free, I am not worry about being assigned a smoking room. And the receptionist took the time to call me to check on the condition of the room.

Everything is clean and there is no smell at all.

The room is quiet too. There is no neighbor, freeway and road noise. The only noise is from the A/C.

The breakfast had a good selection and the staff were efficient, helping to clear your table clutter, offering orange juice and replenishing the food items.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oonkwee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
We thank you for your comments regarding our Staff! It is our utmost goal for all guests to travel home with a smile on their face and a great nights sleep. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Yes nice hotel - very surprised on the room size - was clean, quiet and comfortable. Great staff - on site bar / food was a plus - breakfast was great - I will stay at this property again. Wifi internet was super, but VPN support seems to be blocked. Flat screens are great - TV channels seem to be in analog or over air - quality seems a little poor on local channels.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with low numbers (like 102, 203, 302 etc) - their near the elevators and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine V, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
We thank you for your kind words. Great seeing our guests have a comfortable stay. We look forward having you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Went to this hotel first week of february, 2012.
The hotel is clean, has friendly staff, good room space and good breakfast.
It is really close to Baylands Park, if like trails.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Traveled as a family of 2 and 2 children. Greeted by smiles and pleasant staff, from maintenance, front desk, housekeeping, etc. Close to 101 and Great America. Clean, spacious room. Flat screen, microwave and refrigerator. Impressive decor! Excellent WiFi connection! Our corner unit faced freeway, which did not bother us, it was peacefully quiet. Queen size beds were plush and comfy, perfect night's sleep! Ample free parking. Woke up to a tasty breakfast buffet, which to our surprise, offered Passion Orange Juice!! THE BEST FREE BREAKFAST BUFFET EVERRRRR!! Unforturnately, we did not try the heated pool and bar/lounge in lobby was closed while we were there :( Hopefully we will the next time we are in town! No free weights in fitness center, basic but still achieved a good work out. Certain hotel rooms were being renovated, but that didnt disturb us. We highly recommend this to everyone! Housekeeping does an amazing job!!! The pride shows.. Thank you for making our Christmas/New Years vacation a memorable one!! See you in the near future!

Room Tip: Loved being on the 2nd floor since we didnt have to wait for the elevator all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpearl_vm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Wow! Your kind words have left us speechless! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your most recent stay. It is our utmost goal for all guests to have a comfortable and pleasant visit, I will be sure to pass your friendly remarks onto the rest of our Staff. We thank you again and we hope to see you once your travels bring you back to Sunnyvale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
5.6 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
6.3 km away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
6.5 km away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.3 km away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
6.1 km away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Address: 1300 Chesapeake Ter, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-1100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
#1 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale
Country Inns And Suites Sunnyvale
Country Inn Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing