We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Best Anniversary Trip Ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Foxes Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Foxes Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Sutter Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bethelisland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The Best Anniversary Trip Ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Recently my husband and I spent a belated 37th anniversary at the Foxes Inn in Sutter Creek. Although I have stayed at the Foxes in the past, this was visit was the best yet!!
The facility, service, and staff were superb. Even though we have a cabin in the nearby mountains, we hope to visit the inn for "mini vacations" throughout the upcoming year.
Treat yourself to a stay at the Foxes Inn!!!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank marabethelisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
121
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at multiple B&Bs during this trip. The Foxes Inn was our overall favorite! The innkeeper and staff were very helpful and attentive. The breakfast on the patio was excellent with beautiful presentation. We also enjoyed a very large room, wifi availability, and very nice bathroom. The Inn is perfectly located on Sutter Creek's Main St. This is a great little town to walk around in and closely situated for lots of wine tasting in Amador County.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisad58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

My husband and I spent our 3rd year anniversary at The Foxes Inn. We had a wonderful four days! This is by far one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed at. The breakfast is delicious and there are so many choices. We took the wine tour which we highly recommend. We also did the picnic lunch at one of the local wineries. We had a wonderful stay and will definetely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

This was the first time staying at a bed and breakfast. We were given two nights at the Foxes Inn in Sutter Creek and we will be returning in the future. In fact, our experience where convinced us that we prefer the “B&B” accommodations rather than a hotel. The Inn is absolutely beautiful. The parlor is open during the day and guests are given a key for after hours. The parlor has freshly made cookies and coffee/tea service all day. There are seven rooms at the inn. We stayed in the Garden Room which was beautiful. The room was nicely furnished and had its own fireplace (which was a treat because it was cold and raining when we visited). The bathroom had a number of nice amenities including nice soap, shampoo, and conditioner, makeup removing towelettes and cotton balls and Q-tips. Each morning of your stay, you choose a cooked-to-order 3-course breakfast from the kitchen’s menu. The chilie rellano and French eggs were delicious (main dishes) and the fruit cups (course two) beautiful. Breakfast comes beautifully presented, in courses and with a silver coffee/tea service either in your room or in the garden. The food is great and the accommodations are beautiful and romantic (not to mention very private). The staff is warm, welcoming and friendly and the service is impeccable. This experience definitely changed our minds about whether to stay a hotel versus a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebertorello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

The dogwoods had just started to bloom and the grounds were beautiful. Lovely, quiet, clean, comfortable room. Excellent cooked-to-order breakfast in our room. If we are in the area again, we would definitely stay here. The innkeeper/hostess was cordial,helpful and upbeat. Everything was perfect. Parking is under the carriage house rooms off of a back alley. Loved the gas fireplace in the room. Price reasonable for the room and service.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceebee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elverta, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

This is a very nice b&b. It is centrally located within walking distance to restaurants and shops. Wonderful made to order breakfast is served in your room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timetogetaway24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Hard to find fault with this gem of a B & B. Lovely, cozy room w/ gas log fireplace, beautiful furnishings, gourmet breakfast served in the room by the fireplace. Sutter Creek is a charming little gold-rush town. Can't beat this inn for a quick getaway from the Sacramento Valley or Bay Area.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CapnHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutter Creek
0.2 km away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.5 km away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
13.4 km away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 km away
Grey Gables Inn
Grey Gables Inn
#2 of 6 in Sutter Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 km away
The Hanford House Inn
The Hanford House Inn
#3 of 6 in Sutter Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foxes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foxes Inn

Property: The Foxes Inn
Address: 77 Main St., Sutter Creek, CA 95685
Region: United States > California > Sutter Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sutter Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Foxes Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury AAA 4-diamond B&B specializing in fine service, the inn is surrounded by lovely, well manicured gardens. Seven guest rooms transition from the elegant to the cozy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your The Foxes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing