We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
138
37
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
37
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poker room creek state park black lab lake tahoe comfortable place to stay family run gem great price and great location rustic style lots of hot water room was spotless super close full kitchen great trails north shore restaurants and shops cross country modern amenities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 189 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2008

Tamarack Lodge is located a mile or so east of Tahoe City, which is located on the North Shore of Lake Tahoe, California. As 2 couples, we were looking for a 'condo' with 2 bedrooms and decent kitchen facilities. The 2 bedroom/2 bath cabin fitted the bill perfectly and at around $150 a night for the 4 of us it represented good value. Each bedroom had its own bathroom which made it ideal for 2 couples. The cabin was clean and really cozy, but we had a fair few ants in the kitchen, not quite reaching invasion quantities but noticeable. For us it wasn't really a problem and we accepted that the cabin was located in the forest and this was their turf, also we weren't paying premium rates. There is a nice walk to the nearby lake front and Tahoe City is not too far, although after a days skiing we weren't up for walking there. Tahoe City is very small but really nice and worth giving up a few hours to spend a lazy afternoon by the lake shore. I can imagine that it is beautiful place for sailing in the summer. If you want to ski the resorts around the north shore then this is a great accommodation choice for those on a budget. Cook your own food, (a Safeway is in Tahoe City) and save a packet. I would definitely stay again providing the rates stay this good.

Date of stay: April 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank moo_mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

We arived at ths property and it looked cozy from the outside. The first thing i noticed when i walked into the room was the dead spider crushed in the picture frame. Thoughout the night my wife and I noticed 4 other live spiders before we went to sleep (within an hours span.) There were spider webs in every corner of the room. The bathroom walls and floor were also very dirty. The tamarack lodge has webs in every corner. The only good thing about this place is the price and location. i paid $75 here.
The next morning i mentioned these problems to the older front desk lady and she said "You are in the mountains, these spiders are inevitable." We checked and went to the America's Best Value Inn. There were no insects or spiders here and it was VERY clean. This place is only 0.5 miles down the street from the Tamarack Lodge.
If you like spiders crawling into your bed, stay at the Tamarack Lodge. My wife was disgusted at this place. We slept here, and took showers and the America Best Value Inn. We paid $98 at America's Best Value Inn. Well worth the difference!!!!!!!!
Don't bring your wife here!!!!!!

Date of stay: December 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
3  Thank highhrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 10, 2006

The Lodge is past the city, if you are coming from the North :)
The cabin was precious, with a king size bed and two twin beds, two bathrooms, a kitchenette and a salon. The kitchen with many amenities.

The location is perfect, very very pretty. At night aparently bears come out to visit :)

I would recomend this location for everybody, it's price is very good for its value.

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 10, 2006

Enjoyed my stay there. People were friendly and willing to make my ski trip arrangements. Would stay there again to get to the ski lifts on that side of town. Budget minded individuals only! Great for a couple.

Date of stay: January 2006
2  Thank tamic579
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 8, 2006

Tahoe City and Truckee are the most convenient locations for overnight lodging while skiing at Squaw or Alpine. The winter weekends at these locations tend to be very expensive ($130 and up for a 2*). However you can get a motel room at the Tamarack Lodge for around $70 to $80. It's located about a mile or two east of the main part of Tahoe City. You'll get a clean no-frills room with either 2 queen beds or 1 king bed, a TV, alarm clock, table/chairs, refrigerator, and that's about it. The heat works well. It's fairly quiet for a roadside motel since the motel is set back a good distance from the main road. We didn't hear much from the neighbors except for some whoopee one morning. There is a continental breakfast of pastries and coffee, tea, or hot cider. I do have a few nits to pick though. The gel dispenser in the shower was broken so we were left with one small bar of soap and no shampoo (although we had packed our own). The shower mechanism was somewhat awkward to control. The beds squeaked and were not very comfortable. My friend didn't care for the fluorescent lighting although I thought it was fine. The bottom line is that it's not a dump and it is an average 1* property. So if you want to save some money, stay here.

Date of stay: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank giantsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews