We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
138
37
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
37
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poker room creek state park black lab lake tahoe comfortable place to stay family run gem great price and great location rustic style lots of hot water room was spotless super close full kitchen great trails north shore restaurants and shops cross country modern amenities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 189 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2022

Cannot express how wonderful our stay at Tamarack Lodge was. My wife and I visited for a wedding in Tahoe City and really couldn't have asked for more. Gerard (the owner) was incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed in cabin 16 and it was cozy, warm, and very comfortable. All of the amenities were top notch, and it even had a sitting area / deck outside where we could eat breakfast each morning.
Can not recommend Tamarack Lodge strongly enough. Stop searching and book now! You'll be very happy you did.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charleskuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 15, 2022

Great price and great location near Tahoe City. Due to the Mosquito fire air quality and conditions weren't ideal, but because of cancellations we were upgraded from a Poker Room to the Sweet Cabin 16! It was such a cozy/cute little cabin with a modern kitchen and bath, and a private porch with a beautiful lacquered pine table. Once you enter the parking lot, the entire property is surrounded by trees and we saw a few adorable tiny ground squirrels! It was a bummer we were only there for one night because air conditions improved significantly in the afternoon after we checked out. It really just depends on which way the winds blow. I wish we'd been able to stay another night! By the time we left Emerald Bay around 2:30pm Monday the air was clear and we saw blue skies. There was even a drizzle of rain as we headed out. While it was disappointing that the fire was affecting the visibility and air quality, there was no imminent threat of evacuation, and all the roads in and out of Tahoe were open. Next time we're in Tahoe we will definitely stay at Tamarack Lodge again!

Room tip: Sweet Cabin 16 is standalone with it's own parking spot near the owners' home/office
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X4050NYvictorias
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 12, 2022 via mobile

What a gem. Walking distance to lake and Tahoe City (1 mile). Backs to State Park land. Full kitchen, dining table, outside patio, and super comfy bed! Superb staff! Will definitely stay here again. I stayed in cabin #17.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank samaarar2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 30, 2022

Spent a week in the Lodge Cabin in early August. Cabin was clean, well-equipped and nicely sized for 4 adults. Located across the street from the lake and the public boat launch which made getting on the lake with our jet skis very easy and convenient! The owner, Gerard, was extremely friendly and always accommodating to any of our needs. Highly recommended! Thank you Gerard, we will return!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelgirlMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 17, 2022 via mobile

You can't see the Tamarack Lodge from the street, only the sign. Which means you can't see the street from it. So, it's like being in the middle of the woods. Yet, within minutes from shops and restaurants. We stayed in one of the rooms in the motel-like part of the lodge. Decor was impeccably "cabin in the woods" style, from wood slab table and shelves to rustic lamps to the shower curtain. The room could use a few more or better situated power outlets and the pillows could use more fluff, but what little was lacking was more than compensated by wonderful, personal service. Gerard (I hope I spelled his name right) called us because we were arriving quite late and greeted us when we finally made it to show us the way. And then on our second night we bought soup, forgetting that we didn't have anything to warm it up in and eat from. I called him to ask if by any chance he happened to have any bowls, and he brought us two brand new bowls and even a kitchen towel. Thank you, Gerard!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Wanitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews