We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Hosted our Family Reunion”
Review of Granlibakken Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granlibakken Tahoe
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We had 80 cousins, aunts and uncles converge on Granlibakken this past July. We were scattered all over the place with my small family holed up in a townhouse. The rest stayed in a variety of lodges and dorms and from what I could tell, no one was unhappy. In fact, it was almost unanimous to return there in another two years.

In the morning we would converge on the Garden Deck for the tasty breakfast provided by the resort. Then we'd hang out at the Aspen/Alder Rooms for cards, other games and gossip. These rooms flank a very nice kitchen where each family would take turns making dinner and lunches were more informal, DIY cafeteria style. There were also drop-down video screens where some kids got to watch movies and it was almost like going to the theater. It worked out great!

The other main activity at the resort was the pool. It isn't very big but the kids liked it. The overall condition of the resort was OK. Our townhouse was a little dated with some of the cheap furniture missing it's plastic edge-banding. It didn't seem to bother us much - we weren't there to stay inside and inspect the furnishings. The beds were comfy, the people were nice, the breakfast was good, and the weather was perfect. I'm looking forward to our next reunion.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms seemed a little nicer than the townhouses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DustyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to review our resort. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on the amenities we offer and we are glad everyone in your family, young and old found a something fun to do while you stayed with us. We look forward to welcoming you all agin for your next family reunion. Be sure to visit our Treetop adventure park, you will have a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

We go to Tahoe every winter, usually over New Year's Eve. After trying a few other private cabins and large resorts, we've returned to Granlibakken the past three years. It's primarily a woodsy off-season conference center where I've attended (and enjoyed) a few conferences. For a family snow vacation it's a great choice. My family of children, parents and grandparents all find something to enjoy here. The main lodge is perfect for getting everywhere (restaurant, lounges, rooms) without having to go outdoors. There are two hills - one for skiing and one for sledding, and both hills have bunny slopes for the tiniest of skiers and sledders. There's also a cozy shack with good fire, fast Mexican food, equipment rentals, and reasonably priced lessons. Grandparents and kids like the all-you-can eat breakfast that is included with the room. I like family-friendly New Year's Eve buffet, champagne, and dj party! If the party gets loud, you can walk down the hall to watch a movie or read by the fire. Fun for everyone. The accommodations are outdated but adequate and convenient. We usually get the deluxe studio with attached bedroom - sleeps six comfortably and has two bathrooms.

Weather permitting, it's an easy walk to Tahoe City for restaurants, lake views/hikes, and shopping.

Room Tip: Main lodge is central to most ammenities and in same building as registration, lounge, and restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amcanrer95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. As we approach the New Year we look forward to welcoming you and your family again for a week of snow adventures and fun! We truly appreciate your loyalty, and the opportunity to share all the delights our property and Tahoe have to offer. Please stop by and say hello when you arrive to ring in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Online, Granlibakken looked nice. However, our stay was one of the worst ever in Tahoe! We got a townhouse which was completely rundown and outdated! The room was pretty dirty and all of the furniture was really old! We didn't want to be there, to stay there, or to cook there! There was hair in the shower when we arrived, and the counter int eh kitchen was coming off of the wall! The furniture and art in the house was all in the ugly 1970s style, complete with orange counter tops! The townhouse was NOT cheap, which is ridiculous for a dirty, unkempt, and ascetically unpleasing place. The included breakfast was pretty good, and the service was good enough. However, the rooms were so unpleasant that we will definitely not be going back! It was, frankly, a dump. We would have left if we hadn't already paid! We ended up staying an extra night in Tahoe, but we moved over to The Resort at Squaw Creek- much better!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We strive to exceed guest expectations and apologize for not meeting yours. We are continually improving resort quality and appreciate the feedback. We understand your frustration and we hope to have an opportunity to earn your business in the future. Please visit us again on your next trip to Tahoe so we can show you how we listen to your feedback and have made wonderful improvements to our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Although the altitude took a little getting used to, the Granlibakken Resort was a wonderful place to stay! The rooms were clean, the grounds well maintained, the pool area and tennis courts were great! I would reccommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jebvixxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you taking a moment to review our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We strive for total guest satisfaction and will pass along your compliments to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again and having you try our treetop adventure park. You won;t be disappointed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We rented a couple of townhouses. Because they are individually owned (Granlibakken is the management company) they vary in quality, however we were very happy with the two we rented. It's not luxury but it's comfortable and clean. The setting is very pretty, the price was reasonable, and we did not mind not being on the lake. Tahoe City traffic is heavy and activities are crowded but Granlibakken was a peaceful respite at the end of the day. We had a wedding on the Tahoe Gal (boat), which also gives tours, and both the captain and owner were very personable. We had a delicious dinner at Sunnyside resort. We also did the cable car ride at Squaw Valley which was fun but a little expensive. If you are looking for the more "rural" side of Lake Tahoe, Granlibakken is perfect. If you prefer the more commercial nightlife, casinos and familiar chain hotels, stay south.
The only complaint is my sons (army guys) would have liked a workout room.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice room/suite/townhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RILtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are thrilled that you were pleased with our property. We appreciate your explanation of the guest accommodations. We strive to make every guest feel comfortable and important. We look forward to welcoming you again and hope you will take a moment to relax in our beautiful Lighthouse Spa on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We had one of our best family trips to Lake Tahoe thanks to the Granlibakken staff and facilities. Although we live in the Bay Area and have visited Lake Tahoe numerous times this was our fist at Granlibakken...and we'll be back! A group we belong to had chosen Granlibakken as the site for our 5 day summer event and they couldn't have choosen a better venue. The setting is beautiful, our room was clean and well appointed with a view into the trees but we rate the staff and the food as exceptional (and as Bay Area residents our food critique can be tough to satisfy). The staff really raises the bar to 'exceptional' service...friendly, caring and always going that 'extra' little bit which is what we all really remember. Way to go Granlibakken! We'll see you again next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are thrilled to have been a part one of your best family trips to Lake Tahoe! We are very proud of our staff, food, and accommodations, and I will pass along your compliments. We look forward to your next visit and hope you will try our treetop adventure park for an exciting day for the whole family...you will not be disappointed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The food was amazing-- lots of vegetables and salads on the buffet. High quality.

Try and get a studio apartment -- it has a kitchen and better tv.

Gorgeous trails to walk and only one mile from town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reba1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate that you chose to spend your vacation with us. We are very proud of the food we offer, and the healthy, delicious this for our guests to enjoy. Since you enjoy the outdoors, be sure to try our Treetop adventure park on you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
7.2 km away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,915 reviews
8.1 km away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
632 reviews
1.9 km away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
28.9 km away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
912 reviews
2.5 km away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granlibakken Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granlibakken Tahoe

Address: 725 Granlibakken Rd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range: $188 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Granlibakken Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granlibakken's Tahoe's 74 acre, secluded valley is your very own cozy, alpine getaway. Perfect year-round for groups, weddings and families to connect in an Old Tahoe ambiance. Onsite activities include a treetop adventure park, historic ski & snowboard hill, groomed sled hill, hiking & biking trails, tennis courts and a year-round heated pool and a spa to relax in after all the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Granlibakken Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granlibakken Hotel Tahoe City
Granlibakken Resort Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing