We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Bakery”

Kohnen's Country Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Tehachapi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$12
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Kohnen's Country Bakery, located in historic downtown Tehachapi, California, is a delightful contemporary German bakery designed with Old World Charm. Honoring his German food traditions, baker Thomas Kohnen makes every batch from scratch - including some 20 varieties of artisan breads dense with whole grains, full flavors, and crisp crusts. Kohnen's offers fresh bread baked daily, including crusty rye, basil-barley garden, six-grain, sun dried tomato, delicate cinnamon raisin, and even pizza bread, not to mention pretzels, boiled-then-baked bagels, and Brotchen - traditional, crusty German breakfast rolls. We also offer refreshing German beer and freshly brewed iced tea. Desserts are gorgeous and irresistible, too. A few temptations are cinnamon crisps, apricot-walnut kolaches, and espresso chocolate chip cookies. The cafe also serves fresh-made soups and made-to-order sandwiches using Kohnen's breads for take-out, dining inside, or on the patio.
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We stopped in right after they opened to take some yummy treats with us on our way to Utah. We had packed a cooler to transport some of their eclairs. We also grabs some pastries, cookies and a peach pie. Everything was delicious. We are never disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NorCal-traveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 August 2017

Thanks for stopping by! Happy to hear you're such a fan. Hope to have you back again very soon!

Best,
Thomas & Colleen K., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We were in Tehachapi for the weekend. Heard about Kohnen's from a local. It is awesome! Great sandwiches, bakery items, imported beers. Super nice staff and welcoming atmosphere. A must stop in Tehachapi!! Definitely recommend it!

Thank Ceir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 August 2017

So glad that you stopped by, Ceir! Thanks for the review. Hope to have you back again very soon!

Best,
Thomas & Colleen K., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

My husband and I were in Tehachapi for one night and happened upon this quite bakery. The food is amazing! You must stop. The fresh fruit Danish is incredible... so fresh! We also purchased a loaf of the Sun-dried Tomato bread and it was excellent... the crust was crispy while the inside of the loaf was soft and flavorful. We also purchased sandwiches for our trip that day. (The only suggestion I have is if you purchase a sandwich and do not plan on eating it right way, ask them to wrap the pickle in a separate paper as it rests on the same paper as the sandwich and a small portion of the sandwich did get wet with the pickle juice.) We will definitely stop by here the next time we are even close... Highly worth the stop! Priced fairly and the food is outstanding.

Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 August 2017

Thanks for stopping by! Glad that you loved our place. We'll see you back again next time you're in the area!

Best,
Thomas & Colleen K., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Great breads, bagels, sandwiches, and pastries. Everything is super fresh. Sandwiches are pretty good size so you may want to share. My only complaint would be the bagels are heated in a panini press and it squashes what was a fluffy bagel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ninjanav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 August 2017

Thanks so much! Glad that you love our place. Hope to have you back again very soon!

Best,
Thomas & Colleen K., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This is the best bakery. The soup is fantastic, and the pastry is great. The sandwiches are truly wonderful. I would recommend anyone coming through or in town to stop in. The people are fantastic....new and residences.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 July 2017

Thanks so much, Jackie! So glad that you love our place. Hope to have you back again very soon!

Best,
Thomas & Colleen K., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kohnen's Country Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Kohnen's Country Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing